We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island of Lokrum

Island of Lokrum
Book In Advance
$116.45*
and up
Private Excursion: Dubrovnik Half Day Panorama
Ranked #3 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a lovely place to visit. Only a short boat trip from Dubrovnik harbour (boats are very regular). There are a few cafes which do lovely food. It is nice just to wander around the Island through the Monastery and the Botanical Gardens. The Dead Sea is gorgeous - and worth a swim. It is lovely to find the nice swimming spots around the Island. In the afternoon prior to catching the boat back we had cocktails at the cafe near the dock, and listened to a live guitarist. Lovely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,543
    1,218
    338
    53
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Day Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I would recommend this island as it is close to Dubrovnik port and only about 15mins away with very regular boats so you can hop on or off as you please and does not take up an entire day if you dont want it to.

There is a nice restaurant on the island which means you dont need to pack and take food with you.

There are various natural pools which are great to sunbathe by and dip into...i would suggest taking a hard sun bathing mat to lie on as it is very rocky and a towel is uncomfortable. I would also suggest taking hand gel as toilets are few and far between and often a queue to get into.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabnam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An amazing island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been to Croatia in august 2012. Lokrum is an amazing beautiful island just a few meters away from Dubrovnik. The price of a return ticket was 7.5 euros. We were delighted with this island! I could have stayed there for a long time and didn’t want to come back! I wrote a few posts about croatia on my travel blog. There is also a video, where you can see wonderful landscapes of Lokrum . Check it out if you are interested: http://www.alyonatravels.com/top-5-must-do-things-in-dubrovnik/

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Alyonatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent little trip by boat, great for a swim and a little cocktail or even a bit of wine and picnic!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeefOfYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A beautiful un-spoilt island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The island was small, shaded in parts and had peacocks walking around. Our friends got married there and the setting was truly stunning. The waters surrounding the island are crystal clear and perfect for a spot of fishing. The island allows no smoking so that was a plus for the non-smokers. Also an entrance fee I believe has to be covered.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island of Lokrum also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Island of Lokrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing