We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Day Trip”
Review of Island of Lokrum

Island of Lokrum
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.57*
and up
Kayaking Dubrovnik to Lokrum Island
Ranked #3 of 160 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Day Trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I would recommend this island as it is close to Dubrovnik port and only about 15mins away with very regular boats so you can hop on or off as you please and does not take up an entire day if you dont want it to.

There is a nice restaurant on the island which means you dont need to pack and take food with you.

There are various natural pools which are great to sunbathe by and dip into...i would suggest taking a hard sun bathing mat to lie on as it is very rocky and a towel is uncomfortable. I would also suggest taking hand gel as toilets are few and far between and often a queue to get into.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabnam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,732
    1,293
    366
    55
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An amazing island!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been to Croatia in august 2012. Lokrum is an amazing beautiful island just a few meters away from Dubrovnik. The price of a return ticket was 7.5 euros. We were delighted with this island! I could have stayed there for a long time and didn’t want to come back! I wrote a few posts about croatia on my travel blog. There is also a video, where you can see wonderful landscapes of Lokrum . Check it out if you are interested: http://www.alyonatravels.com/top-5-must-do-things-in-dubrovnik/

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Alyonatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent little trip by boat, great for a swim and a little cocktail or even a bit of wine and picnic!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeefOfYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A beautiful un-spoilt island”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The island was small, shaded in parts and had peacocks walking around. Our friends got married there and the setting was truly stunning. The waters surrounding the island are crystal clear and perfect for a spot of fishing. The island allows no smoking so that was a plus for the non-smokers. Also an entrance fee I believe has to be covered.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth going if your resort has private beach”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took a boat from the Old Town Harbor to the Island of Lokrum after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. The boat ride did provide some beautiful scenary, but we were a little disappointed in the island itself. I can understand the appeal to those who stay in hotels that are not on the sea, or are located in Old Town, but our hotel had a private beach and those views far surpassed those of Lokrum.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island of Lokrum also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Island of Lokrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing