We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tour if you want to taste something unique and meet locals”

Dubrovnik Food Story
Ranked #12 of 26 Food & Drink in Dubrovnik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dubrovnik Food Story offers tours&trips garnished with delicious and local specialties. Join us on our eat&walk tours in the Old Town, cooking classes in the countryside, food&wine gourmet trips. All tours are private and tailored for individuals or small groups.
Kusel, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best tour if you want to taste something unique and meet locals”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was for sure one of the best memories of our vacation in Dubrovnik! We met Marija at our hotel and she took us with the limousine to Konavle and the country villa to do our actual cooking lesson. We' ve got an intimate look at the life of local people, cooked with the family, and eat the best food ever prepared on fireplace using such an old recipes. The best part was when we all sat down together eating everything that we cooked and drinking wine, we really felt as true locals. Marija was happy to share with us her passion for food, but she was also very knowledgeable in culture and history of the area. We've heard some interesting stories that we couldn't find them in our guidebook and that was really something extraordinary. It was such a personable tour and we can only regret that we didn't have more time to take one of wine tours that also looks amazing. Thank you Marija for every moment of our day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maria is the best”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was with group of my friends and we wanted to lear more about Croatian vineyards and wines so we found Dubrovnik story on Tripadvisor and booked a private tour. Marija our guide was very funny and knowable guide. She explained us everything about wine production, traditional food and croatian traditiones. It was a pleasure to meet here and spend a day with her. In case you have time in Dubrovnik I would definetly recommend Marija as your guide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik on a Plate Tasty Way to Launch our Trip”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent a lovely evening with Marija on our first day in Dubrovnik as she introduced us to the food and wine of Croatia as well as Dubrovnik's backstreets floodlight by night. Marija not only introduced us to wonderful octopus salad and fish, but also to Dubrovnik's food history. As we came towards the end of the season we were lucky enough to do the tour in the evening rather than the afternoon which made for a great dinner option. We returned later to one of the restaurant's Kopun (even though it was up a long staircase by the Jesuit church). Great addition though one warm starter might have made it even better! We'd love to do a wine tour some time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik on a Plate - Delicious!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When traveling I always attempt to schedule a food tour early in my visit. Not only is it a great way to get familiarized with a new city but there's no better way to frame a culture and its people than learning about what the locals eat and drink. Dubrovnik was no different and we were fortunate enough to schedule a tour with Marija on our first day. After meeting us outside our flat we enjoyed an amazing afternoon/early evening sampling the best of what Dubrovnik had to offer. Octopus, sardines, cheeses and meats are just a few of the many things you may sample during your tour. Unlike many similar tours I especially appreciated getting to sit down and take my time eating as opposed to the 'eat and run' style of other tours. Marija is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about food and wine and I only wish we had more time to spend with her.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1foot_out_the_door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik Story walking tour was fantastic”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Marija at Dubrovnik Story is a outstanding guide. My three friends and I had a private "taste of Dubrovnik" walking tour with her that I highly recommend. We walked for four hours through the tiny Old City, stopping for food and wine tastings at five or six of her favorite, hand-picked, authentic, local restaurants. She told us about food and wine history and culture as well as history of Dubrovnik and Croatia from many centuries ago and more recent. She was gracious and graceful, full of details, and let us know her city and it's culture in a very personal way. And the food and wine were outstanding! Octopus salad, local cheese, local cured meats, beautiful tomatoes, lovely fresh tuna and swordfish were all presented in tasting-size small plates, along with local wine. We ended with local traditional cakes. Marija knew the places to go that are authentic and had pre-arranged every detail, and also kept us away from the crowds. Worth every penny and I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_in_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubrovnik Food Story also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Dubrovnik Food Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing