We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth your while”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muratti

Muratti
Ranked #225 of 367 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth your while”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We sought out this restaurant at the advice of a friend. The narrow alleys of Dubrovnik don't make it easy, but with a little time and tenacity, we found it. And it was worth every cobblestone we passed. It is owned by two sisters who lived in the building before it was bombed by Serbia and Montenegro. They recently returned to their childhood home and have turned it into something very special. We ate a home cooked meal of fresh fish and other Croatian specialties. We basically left the menu selection up to them and they did not disappoint. It was a very special evening with a very special meal in a very special city. Make the effort to find it. It is close to the center of town so you are never far away from your room. The Muratti Art Gallery is actually better marked than the restaurant. They are one in the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Croatian Gem”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A wonderful find in a town full of very average 'touristy' restaurants. This is a new small and family-owned business which specialises in genuine and delicious Croatian home-cooked food, a rarity in Dubrovnik. The two sisters Marija and Sonja are working hard to establish themselves in the face of the more aggressively marketed neighbouring business. There is a variety of genuine Croatian specialities on the menu and the sisters are welcoming and only too happy to explain and advise.

Our meal began with a delicious, complimentary local liqueur and a tasty bruschetta The Balkan specialties include both meat and fish. great local 'cheese in oil'. All our dishes had delicious flavours and texture and the Baklava was the most delicious we tasted in Dubrovnik.

Do not allow yourself to be press-ganged into the confusingly named adjoining restaurant but look out for Marija and Sonja at MURATTI, just around the corner from the Muratti Art Gallery on a little street just off the Ulica OD PUCA.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Trying very hard!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The two sisters were trying very hard and their service, customer focus was great- maybe a bit OTT! But their food was average, chips underscored etc and quite hard to see how they can't 'learn' from being next to a a place like very excellent Taj Mahal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great dining in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are many restaurants in the old city so it is a good idea to go there with an eating destination in mind. Muratti is a new,small, family-owned and operated place that serves authentic Croatian food. The appearance is attractive with white tables/chairs and light blue linens. Each meal begins with a complimentary brandy and bruschetta. The pear brandy was absolutely the best ever. We started w anchovies, cheese in oil, and tomatoes & greens. These are not the salty , oily anchovies you might be used to but tender with a delicious flavor and texture. Same with the cheese. I had braised beef with plums and gnocchi. The portion was just right, the meat tender and the plum sauce a nice compliment. Not sweet. Dessert was baklava.....again....the best ever with a honey/lemon sauce. We also had ice cream w forest berries...a nice, light ending to a lovely meal. Ah....the local white wine is not to be missed. In a city with many eating places, It will be well worth your while to dine at Muratti. I've visited Dubrovnik many times and this restaurant is already a favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“What a wonderful find!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Dubrovnik is full of OK restaurants - I visit every year - but... this one is a distinct cut above AND it is in the same price league as the regular ones. Firstly, the place has 'curb appeal': the tables and chairs are simple and elegant with chic, nicely colored table clothes. Meals are served with a delicious, complimentary local liqueur and a tasty bruschetta. The menu includes a variety of Balkan specialties, both meat and fish. We had the best anchovies (not too salty), great local 'cheese in oil', followed by delicious braised beef with gnocchi and “chevapchichi”, the local must-have for grilled meat lovers. What a find!
P.S. My personal trick for finding the place: walk the main street towards the clock tower; turn right on Ulica Miha Pracata street; it's on the near, right-hand corner a few streets down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnDee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muratti also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Muratti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing