We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to have a meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Kopun

Restaurant Kopun
Ranked #56 of 366 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great place to have a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose to eat at Kopun because of its location in a beautiful square a little away from the lunchtime bustle in the centre of Dubrovnik. As we were only in Dubrovnik for one day (being part of a cruise adding to the madness in the town!) we wanted to try some Croatian food. The menu contained a good choice of starters, mains and desserts . The starter of Croation sausages, cheeses and bread was a meal in itself and we were pleased that we shared one dish between us. For our main courses, we chose the signature capon dish and a beef casserole. Both were excellent and we actually swapped plates half way through so as to enjoy both dishes. Our only regret was we couldn't manage desserts. Service was attentve and professional. The whole meal represented excellent vaue for money

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TF1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    310
    104
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chocolate souffle...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by here for dessert friday night, great chocolate souffle, chocolate oozes out of it!!! We booked in for dinner the following night and it was lovely, topped off by more chocolate souffle!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsgift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food but service not so good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to this restaurant as it was so highly recommended on TA, the setting is very romantic - tucked away in a square away from the main touristy strip, the food was also very good - I had the Tuna which was cooked very well and my partner had the spaghetti which was also very tasty. The only thing that let the meal down was the service - when I asked what the Tuna was served with the waiter said 'I don't know it changes' - surely he could've gone and asked? And then when the bill came there was a cover charge for the table - which wasn't mentioned anywhere so came as a bit of a surprise and the waiter just said "it's for the bread and entrees" I would like to have been given the choice so declined to leave a tip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I tried the capon soup that wasn't worth all they hype. It was mostly broth with a couple shreddes of meat and noodles. The flavor was a little bland.

I ordered the scallop appetizer with needle macaroni with truffle sauce. The sauce was great and portion was good for an entree. The scallops were cooked nicely though there was a little salt in them.

My husband ordered the seabass with the traditional chard/potatoes side. The fish was really greasy (swimming in olive oil) and the side had zero taste. Even a lot of salt didn't help.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank SDpugmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice during a recent holiday, having first enjoyed a leisurely lunch there we decided not to risk elsewhere & returned for dinner several days later.The beauty of this establishment is the peaceful, away from the hordes location, Dubrovnik is at times heaving & eating in some restaurants resembles 'feeding time at the zoo', not appealing or relaxing.
The food was great, the best tuna steak eaten anywhere, delicious risotto & the much mentioned chocolate souffle ( more a pudding really ) were well worth a second visit.Service generally very attentive, slightly better at lunchtime than the evening, but it was busy with a large party.Definitely worth seeking out & the steps up to the square, one not to miss.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kopun also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Kopun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing