We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Museum Worth a Visit”
Review of Rector's Palace

Rector's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.08*
and up
Private Walking Tour of Dubrovnik Old Town
Ranked #30 of 160 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum Worth a Visit”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We enjoyed visiting the Rector's Palace in Dubrovnik. The rooms, the art, artifacts and the building itself provided an interesting backdrop and historical orientation to the city. I enjoyed the earthquake simulation which showed the town as it was in 1667 on the day of the massive earthquake...as well as the rebuilding. We enjoyed seeing the bell tower strikers, the old "treasure" chests, and the large "hand" holding the stair rail. There was more to see than we thought and came away glad we had gone. Worth the cost of admission and worth the time spent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HistoryNutCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    252
    136
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
267 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very nice buiiding and with big history.The most important to me is that the Rector was elected for one month term and was't alound to exit his office exept of city siege or special religious celebrations.ONE MONTH.Thats Democracy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you've visited a number of palaces in other cities you may be a little disappointed by this one. I'm not sure if some of the rooms were closed, but I didn't feel like there was much to see. I went through this quite quickly (around 25 minutes) and didn't feel it was that impressive. It's probably worth seeing to view how royalty lived but don't expect much as it's just ok.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doc111872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
757 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik - Rector's Palace - Great architecture.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We only paid a fleeting visit to the palace accessing briefly from the Ul Pred Dvorom. This place is beautifully designed and has a simple but fantastic façade. Inside too the design is wonderful. It is clear why this is a palace and for me was one of the most attractive buildings in the Old Town. Most people will see the front façade as this is easy to find once you have walked down the Stradun from the Pile Gate and turned the corner. Just spend some time to look at how it fits into the overall landscape of the town and the intricacy of some of the carvings and the detailing. If you love buildings this relatively small palace will be a treat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJacksonnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went in about 45 minutes before it closed and it was relatively quiet. Lots of historical items to look at including the original Bell Tower strikers, a cell, lots of artifacts. Some beautiful rooms upstairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rector's Palace also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Rector's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing