We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice restaurant”
Review of Gusta Me

Gusta Me
Ranked #83 of 402 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant in February. All we can say is that everything started from the service to the dessert was just excellent. We had calamari filled with cheese and ham and duck with vegetables, both very tasty. For dessert we had chocolate souffle with vanilla ice cream, just yummy :). Staff are very kind... And of course the view from the terrace very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella_C4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for Your visit and this review. Glad to be of service, and hope to welcome You again when You visit Dubrovnik in the future.

Sincerely yours, Team "Gusta me"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    150
    46
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sadly, we found this restaurant on our last evening in Dubrovnik. Visiting in February 2013 was certainly 'out of season' and many of the other restaurants in town were closed. Those that were open within the walls used some hard-sell tactics to get us inside. Many were disappointing. Gusta Me was not like this. No attempts to get us off the street and inside.
Once inside the staff were friendly and attentive. The food was absolutely fantastic. Each course is freshly cooked and very well presented. The desert 'semifredo with caramel sauce and nuts' was the best dessert I have ever tasted. Not being a fan of anything too sweet, this was perfect. I intend to make it at home as soon as I get back! After a fabulous last evening meal, we went back for lunch the next day just before our flight home! Despite what some reviewers are posting about the price, we found it very reasonable and certainly less that half the price of a meal we had at the Hotel Excelsior. Just wish we found it earlier. You must eat here!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank You for taking Your time to write this review. Hope to welcome You again in our restaurant.


Sincerely yours, Team 'Gusta me'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Excellent all round meal”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great evening meal here. Good value and, once again, leaving the old city walls paid dividends. Extremely good value soup, the duck dish was very tasty, the steak was good, and the lava cake pudding very nice as well. The service has helpful and attentive. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are grateful for Your visit and this review. Glad to be of service, and hope to welcome You once more if You decide to visit Dubrovnik in the future. Perhaps during summer days, when it's warmer and you could enjoy the view from our terrace. :)

Sincerely yours, Team "Gusta me"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If only I had found you earlier........”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have recently returned from Dubrovnic after a short break between Christmas and New Year. We stayed in the Hilton Imperial. We found Gusto Me in a local Dubrovnic food magazine, we asked at reception, and they gave us a smile and some directions. Through the old city! Through the gate! Left at the sea and up the hill, you can't miss it. We arrived no problem at all. We were the only people in the place, so service was great. We had Saffron Risotto and breaded Camembert with JAM! It was wonderful, if not a little odd on the senses. For our main course my partner had a beautiful steak and I went for "steak in a wok" which is a house "speciality" I can't rate it enough, it was delicious. For dessert my partner had pancakes (3 off them arrived) and I had caramel semi fredo which was great. A bottle of red and 2 or 3 beers and the bill was 420kuna (£42 sterling). The food here is amazing and the value for money is even better. If I'm ever back in Dbv again, it will be the first place I go back to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulc209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you very much for Your visit and this review. Glad to be of service, and hope to welcome You again if You decide to visit Dubrovnik in the future.

Sincerely yours, Team "Gusta me"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Strange”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Dubrovnik. I choose it because it had a small menu and the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Once inside you could tell it was all locals, good sign. But we were handed a different menu to everyone else. At first I thought it was just because it was the menu in english but I noticed that the items coming out of the kitchen for the other guests were not available on our menu (lovely spinach pastries, big salads and better vegetables). First we ordered the meat and cheese platter for two. It was odd because although it states for two, everything came as threes. For the main course we both ordered the beef in wine sauce with mixed vegetables. What we got was a nice steak in a yummy red wine sauce but the vegetables were very overcooked, oily and mixed with Asian noodles and soy sauce. It was a very strange combination, too strange. I also agree that the restaurant was overpriced; again, I do not think the locals pay that much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsHachJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. penny77,
we are sorry that you got the impression of being treated different then the 'locals'. These guests were served different meals that weren't on the menu because they pre-ordered these menus several days in advance. This option is available to all our guests, but like I said you have to order in advance. We treat all our guests the same, 'local' or tourists.
Regarding your food comments. We didn't think adding, an extra peace on the meat and cheese platter for two, would give us a negative response? And I don't think that is something we should regret.
Hope to welcome You once more if You visit Dubrovnik again, and perhaps do something special for You.

Sincerely yours Team 'Gusta me'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusta Me also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Gusta Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing