We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Rooms are small, wifi connection very bad, breakfast average, need refurbishment, friendly staff.
food is good, beach is awesome.... The building though in need of modernization keeps its assets hidden

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. Your suggestions and observations will be taken into the consideration. We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    141
    79
    21
    9
See reviews for
39
189
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

beautiful hotel, right beside the sea, staff wonderful, very efficient, very clean, very helpful, we stayed during one of the worst storms ever to have hit Dubrovnik in may 2014, but were more than comfortable, more than welcome at this fabulous hotel, nothing too much trouble for the staff, and plenty to see and do even when the weather gods did their worst. thanks for helping to make our return to your wonderful county after 27 years so pleasant and so nice, know the weather was not your fault but you helped make it so more, thank you,

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea, beautiful sun rises and beautiful sun sets, any room would benefit all, such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us.
We are pleased you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We will be espacially glad if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This old hotel with outdated rooms may have its best years behind itself, but it still has a certain charm to it. The location being its biggest asset, with beautiful sunsets over the bay. Maybe not the best hotel for sunbathers due to the small and crowded beach area, but there is a bigger beach nearby with no shortage of sun-beds. The breakfast and dinner buffet are not that tasty, so I skipped it some days. You don't have to wait long at the bus stop to take the number 4 bus to the old town and the trip takes about 10 minutes, which is great. Overall a decent hotel with kind and helping staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. Thank you for your suggestions and observations; we will take them into the consideration. We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

"Splendid indeed"

Don't be fooled by the old fashioned look of the hotel as you arrive. The building though in need of modernisation keeps its assets hidden at the back of the building. With it's pretty garden and breathtaking sea view you will forgive the hot stairwells and the fact there is no lift! Despite the hotel having no pool it does offer a path which leads to an area where you can swim in the sea surrounded by pretty scenery. Though I was annoyed at having to pay 70kuna to rent sun beds and parasols as these should have been provided free of charge by Splendid it's well worth it and payment for these things seems to be the norm in croatia! The hotel staff were so friendly and even helped us make restaurant reservations elsewhere! Breakfast was pleasant enough though not very exciting! If you don't like cats beware as they hang around your table poised for scraps! The hotel was a perfect base offering us as a couple many options. If you like walking take the coastal walk around the edges of lapad. If you need to get into town you can buy bus tickets at reception. 24kuna will give you a return ticket. The number 4 bus picks you up at the top of the steps across the road! Wifi is only available in the reception/ lower terrace area
and can be hit and miss but at least they have it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. Thank you for your suggestions and observations, we will take them into the consideration. We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel was chosen as we did not want to be in the city. To get into the city was very easy with the bus stop just at the top of the steps, just a 15 minute ride. Purchasing bus tokens at the hotel made this easy. Croatian food was served which we thought was good. The staff were very helpful the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels. The view from our balcony was superb being on the second floor. Although the beach was very handy, this was NOT exclusive for hotel use, we understood that the public could use it, this made it rather crowded and noisy at times..

Room Tip: A disabled person should choose a ground floor room , as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us.
We are pleased you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
As for the beach, we want all our guests to be satisfied.
Therefore, we hired an extra security guard who is there to protect guest's property so they could feel good and safe. We will be glad if you choose to visit us again.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Staying in the Spendid is a step back in time in premises which are in need of refurbishment. Having said that I would support most of the positive comments regarding this hotel. It offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a lovely location with a good buffet breakfast and helpful staff. However there are 2 negatives of which potential guests should be aware.
Firstly our Jet2 transfer driver left us at the top of a very steep driveway saying it was not permitted to bring the bus down to the hotel door which meant trailing heavy cases down a difficult incline. We paid a porter to bring them up on our departure! No lift and a lot of steps down to the seafront would make it a difficult hotel for the elderly to navigate.
Secondly, and for us more serious was the unsatisfactory sun bathing. I had read some descriptions of the hotel before booking and some describe it as having private beach access, but it is NOT private. We rented 2 sunbeds plus parasol for 70 kuna per day and expected a peaceful time, but it can get very crowded and after 2pm the area was invaded by local teenage schoolchildren who take over. If I had known about this I would not have booked this hotel as it spoiled our 'rest' days between trips. For us this was the most disappointing aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastedmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. All your suggestions and observations we will take into the consideration.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is nothing more than average 3 star accommodation lacking in atmosphere. They charge you 35 Kuna for hiring a sun lounger if you want to sit by the sea, with the patio overlooking the sea often busy with school kids after 2pm. The staff could learn a tip from the English when it comes to customer service as some come across as slightly abrupt. Saying that this appears to be the Croatian way when speaking to tourists generally! Not the cheapest hotel, but most appear to offer similar facilities for around the same price. The bed was big but the mattress uncomfortable to sleep on. Breakfast OK but nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichLLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. Your observations and suggestions we will take into the consideration.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#57 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing