We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Splendid in May 2014. The hotel is located in Lapad beach area, outside of the old town Dubrovnik. It was perhaps 15 minutes away via the public bus 4 (and the stop is literally outside the front door). The hotel is older and does not have the most modern decor, but the room was incredibly clean and the balcony views were stunning. There is not a pool, but there is some nice beach area and it is beach front so you can't ask for more. Our rate included both breakfast and dinner, which was a great deal. The breakfast was good, dinner was so-so but it was really awesome that it was included. The bed was not the most comfortable, but it was minor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For the price, it is an outstanding deal. I would recommend this hotel based on the location and the price!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank _steph91986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.

Best regards.
Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Splendid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 350 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is expensive for what you get - travelling in high season, you expect high prices but the service and decor just do not match up, even for a 3 star. The location is good for the beach, but in a sleepy suburb and a bus-ride away from the historic centre of Dubrovnik where you will find all the interesting sights, restaurants and bars. This hotel seems to be geared towards large groups, so probably best to avoid if you are travelling alone or in a couple, although some of the staff are friendly enough, the overall impression is pretty soulless. The buffet breakfast is varied and plentiful but the options for dining in the evening are limited. The single rooms are on the small side.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us and for all the observations you indicated in your review; we will take them into the consideration.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Welcoming friendly staff , comfortable rooms the hotel splendid offers a peaceful and relaxing holiday.if you want discos this is not for you. It's not a location is ideal for all amenities of dubrovnik. The food is good but self service and things do run out, but if you ask
The staff will do what they can to help.it made for a fantastic weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 201 to 301 not ground floor because it is a job to see the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We are glad you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.

Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me,
Hotel Manager
Jerko Caleta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We prefer smaller hotels so discounted lots of the hotels in the area. Based in part on Tripadvisor reviews, we booked this hotel for a one week break in June. Tonight is our last night. The staff have all been terrific. The amenities are perfectly acceptable - several bars, one just above the beach/promenade. The room is much as you'd expect from a 3 star hotel. We were in 119, at the furthest point from the main hotel building and I found the wifi signal was weak in the room, but fine in the lobby and one of the bars. But the double bed was huge, the balcony was welcome and we never used the aircon, so I can't comment.
The hotel is a 2 min walk down to its own beach/promenade. 15 mins walk to the main beach and bars. The No 4 bus stops right outside the door and the buses run every 15 mins. 12 Ku single into the main town. Tickets available at the hotel reception.
The only weakspot is the food. It's all self service buffet style and some of the main course evening meals were a bit mediocre. But there is ample choice and quantity, so that's fine. When you consider the price, I have no hesitation in recommending the Splendid. It does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrieluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your suggestions and observations; we will take them into the consideration.
We would be happy if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Don't go here if you have any difficulties with steps and stairs there's no lift and there must be 100 steps from our room to the beach. Breakfast is pass able although the same every day. The chef will freshly poach eggs for you on request __we had also booked an evening meal but ate out after the first night. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were mostly of a certain age! No pool and a rocky beach make it a poor choice for young children. The bus into Dubrovnik is just outside and there are some pretty walks nearby.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a separate sitting room and all have stunning views
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetingpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We always give rooms on the ground or on the first floor to the guests who have difficulties walking up and down the stairs.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.

Kind regards from the entire hotel staff and me,
Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from 7 day break, and loved every minute of it.Hotel situated overlooking the bay,all rooms have sea view, a 5-10 minute walk down to the main area of bars and restaurants.The rooms are spacious and and comfortable with a fully stocked mini bar, cleaned every day.The breakfasts and evening meals were very good with plenty of choice.Friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel.There was 2 scenic walks to do which showed off the beauty of the area. Bus stop right outside hotel took us into Dubrovnik Old Town.All in all we had a fantastic time and would go back there, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so any room is good
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are glad you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.

Best regards,
Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had stayed happily at Hotel Splendid several years ago and although it was much as we had remembered the views were better in that the pine trees between it and the very pretty inlet had grown and we could see much more of the Lapad peninsula . For a 3 star hotel ( presumably a penalty for not having a lift) we found it very good and the atmosphere was one of people wanting to be helpful . Most had been there for very many years and although they may appear slightly reserved , we found them always very keen to help. The rooms all face the sea and have pleasant balconies . The food is not particularly imaginative but always plenty of availability i.e. regularly replenished. Beachside restaurants are available at Lapad Park - a 10 minute downhill walk where there are also many bars in attractive settings. Breakfasts are quite good but toast can be an issue as there is only one machine (new) with capacity for handling 3 slices BUT rather slow and only does side at a time. The availability of having breakfast on the large outside terrace is a real plus.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and small balconies so are much the same .
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entallyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.

Jerko Caleta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $63 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing