We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful setting, great terrace, charming garden, clean sea.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great terrace, charming garden, clean sea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location overlooking the sea with its bay. Pine forests all around, beautiful walking paths, restaurants and little tourist shops, bus stop close by. Wonderful personell, very respectful and tactful. Nice breakfast in July in an open terrace with the sea view. Sunlit, full of fresh sea air - mmmmmmm! To go to the sea you have to walk through a charming garden.We did not mind having a tiny platform to swim from, but strangely enough there were quite many families with little children too. A-la carte restaurant on top is worth a visit - beautiful setting, great service, delicious food. HB dinner buffet was lower than average quality. Tidy rooms. Quiet place for a relaxing holiday. Mostly suitable for couples. Dubrovnik UNESCO world heritage spot - a must. Lovely! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Earth_is_Beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for being our guest.

we truly appreciate all the positive comments you made about our hotel.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    134
    78
    19
    8
See reviews for
36
184
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located on the peninsula of Lapad outside the center. Parking is easy,safe and free.
The rooms faced to the sea, are clean and cosy. To swim you have a nice hotelspot with a small beach. To go to the old center of dubrovnik use the local bus , the busstation is near the hotel; take a "Dubrovnik Card" including bus and some entrees like the walk on the walls at the hotelreception - it,s cheaper.
A nice place to stay longer and to discover the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kater46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Hotel Splendid lives up to its name.It is small and friendly, the staff are lovely and the food delicious.It does not have a pool but it is near the sea and you can swim from the rocks if you want.I was impressed by the free wifi which many hotels in England do not have and we will be returning.Dubrovnik is beautiful. Next time we will have a sea view because our room was lovely the view over the staff quarters detracted from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for staying in our hotel.

We are very glad to see all the positive comments you wrote about our hotel.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Quite a basic 3 Star hotel on the outskirts of Dubrovnik , mostly catering for touring groups.
Despite the above, and that their house wine is almost undrinkable ( antifreeze springs to mind..... but ask for next category up and it's fine!!) we got rather fond of the place and it's friendly staff! No lifts and our room on 3 Rd floor but with view to die for !!!!!! Food which for us was included was so- so but would I stay again? Yes, unless I preferred to be in central Dubrovnik itself with it's fab restaurants...
In a nutshell , the Splendid is a good 3 star hotel - just use the local bus to transport you to the atmospheric Old Town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The two of us stayed only 1night , but what a wonderful place clean , awesome location for beach and the people at check in couldn't be any nicer ,Great service ,can't wait to go back .Dubrovnik Croatia blessed are you that live there !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 586lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have just returned from this hotel and i have nothing but praise for all of the staff they are really friendly and can't do enough for you.The food is fantastic for a 3 star and the price you pay for holiday and lot's of people on here moaning about the cat's at the hotel well for me that was the best bit all the tiny kittens playing around you on the terrace.A good value holiday would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairebear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. Located next to the sea with a great view and beach and large swimming area. The room was in need of thorough cleaning. The aircondition worked and was quiet. The breakfast buffet is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#33 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#56 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#28 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing