We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in good, seaside location”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in good, seaside location”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Hotel Splendid, and were very impressed. Very friendly staff, pleasant sea view room (bearing in mind 3 star status) with modest balcony and superb views over Lapad bay. Good food, better than we had expected. Good sea and beach access from the hotel's waterside area. The only downside to the hotel was the fickle showers! Good access to Dubrovnik old town via the local bus service at the top of the hotel road. Good mix of local restaurants within strolling distance.
Croatia itself also far exceeded our expectations. Superb scenery and coastline...lots of historic (UNESCO listed) World Heritage sites...good weather...no grafitti...no litter and friendly locals who are keen to test their English.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    148
    82
    22
    9
See reviews for
43
194
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for a week in June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We chose Lapad to allow us to relax by the coast and still be able to pop into Dubrovnik city at regular intervals but avoid the day time cruise crowds and it worked out very well. There is a regular bus service which stops at the bus stop just across the road and it was easy to get a seat as its only the 2nd stop on the route I think. Hotel Splendid is set in a beautiful location gazing out on to the Adriatic and the communal areas are very nicely laid out with stunning views and perfectly manicured lush gardens. Breakfast is enjoyed al fresco gazing out onto the sea and we were lucky enough to have 7 days of sunshine. The rooms are fine,nothing fancy but perfectly adequate and functioning air con which is important. I think all rooms have balconies but the design of the building is such that most of them dont ever get hit by the sun. The pool area is really just a concrete section with some sunbeds and you can dive into the sea.Having to pay for the sunbeds is certainly an annoyance but seems to be the norm in Lapad. We found all staff very friendly, smiley and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Dubrovnik itself is an amazingly beautiful city with a mediterranean ambience and a host of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevertoolate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Did I enjoy my stay? Yes. Would I stay there again? No.
This is the perfect place for people who want a moderately priced, quiet getaway marked by early bedtimes and a beautiful view with your breakfast. Just be clear there is minimal/no nightlife in or around this hotel. Although the bus mentioned by other guests really is quite convenient, after a long day of touring, having to take the bus back into Old Town for a nightcap or a bite can feel like a hassle.
Hotel Splendid is a sleepy, 1960s style hotel tucked under the pines, overlooking the ocean. The decor could be described as “typical hotel” with a slight, unintentional retro kick. Everything seemed very clean, recently updated and well-kept. We were checked in by a clerk named "Bozo", which somehow felt perfect.
Breakfast is served on the terrace with views out to the sea – this is definitely a highlight and a great way to start your day. It’s your typical buffet spread, average quality but with a good range of hot and cold options. Hotel rooms are large and clean with doors opening to views of the garden (ground floor) or sea. We did not eat at the restaurant, but did try out the hotel nightlife one evening instead of trekking back into town. Not much to report – there were just two other guests, the hotel cats, and our kindly moustached bartender.
We were really looking forward to the “private beach” – and while it was amazing to be able to pop down for a dip in the morning, there are certainly better options if you want to spend the day at the beach. A few words of warning 1) it is much smaller than it looks in the pictures 2) it is more of a terrace with a splash of sand 3) guests still have to pay for beach chairs and 4) it is not actually private – there were loads of locals crammed into the “free” non-beach-chair side of the beach. Note there is a public beach just down the street – if I were to stay in Lapad again I might consider saving a few bucks on a hotel and using that beach instead.
As budget travellers, we debated long and hard whether to spend the extra 50 per night and book a beach hotel in Dubrovnik. And although we had a perfectly nice stay at Hotel Splendid, it just felt a little average. If we go back to Dubrovnik we’ll probably stick with low budget lodging in a livelier part of town, or else go all-out on a REAL upgrade to one of the nicer hotels on the strip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank punkatilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We've just returned from an enjoyable 2 week stay in the Hotel Splendid, where the staff were friendly and attentive. We don't agree with some of the other reviews about the food. We were on half board and for the price, the choice and amount of food was good; so our plan to eat out for the occasional evening meal didn't happen.

There is easy access to a small rocky beach but this does get very busy and it is not really suitable for families or those with mobility issues. The hotel is well situated in Lapad for a quieter holiday. It has a good view of the bay so its worth paying extra for a sea view. There are some pleasant walks and it is fairly close to the local shops etc.

There is a good bus service into Dubrovnik from the Hotel and suggest that visitors consider buying a Dubrovnik Card; which provides a set number of bus rides plus entry into certain attractions and restaurants at a discount. Parts of Dubrovnik Old Town can be busy especially if there are cruise ships in the harbour but this creates a buzz on an evening out. We also went on several trips: City tour, the Elaphiti Islands, Montenegro and Mostar which were worth doing. We would use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room as it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rfourhudsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Clean and serviceable hotel. Service friendly and efficient, with a little concrete platform outside that you can climb into the ocean from. Water is clean and warm. Location is a little far from Dubrovnik restaurants etc but the old town is easy to access by bus which stops right outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ng7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just returned from a week staying at this very enjoyable hotel.We had a great room with a magnificient veiw over Lapad bay ,and the room was both well decorated and clean, as was the hotel generally.We found all the staff very helpfull and cheerfull while we were there and had no complaints on their efficiency at all.Whilst the food in the hotel was a bit basic, the breakfasts perhaps being a bit better than dinner,we found it to be very acceptablle, and on par with most other 3 star hotels we have stayed in,also a great bonus was the beautifull position of the dining terrace where the meals were taken.again overlooking the bay.The hotel is about 3 to 4 kilometers outside Dudrovnic old town but this is no proplem as the local bus which runs every 15 mins stops outside the hotel,and tickets are purchasable in the hotel at 10 kuna(about £1) ,it takes about 15 mins to get to the town.On the whole we would recommend the hotel and the area generally,with perhaps the only proviso being that we found the costs of drinks and snacks etc in restaraunts and bars around Dubrovnic quite expensive,.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmaddison5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel is located by the sea and has a own beach where you could easily spend a day or two. The bus to the old city center leaves every fifteen minutes. Our room was very spacious and clean and had a great sea view. Breakfast is served on a sunny terrace and was ok; we did not have dinner at the hotel. There was no internet connection in our room (mentioned in the room amenities when we booked it). I would certainly recommend this hotel; very suitable also for families with children as the beach is clean and shallow. A bit expensive however.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMaria2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#59 of 68 in Dubrovnik
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#31 of 68 in Dubrovnik
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: Masarykov put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing