We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good but would try somewhere else next time”
Review of Neptun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Neptun Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fairly good but would try somewhere else next time”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Neptun Hotel and to be fair it did rain all the time so I couldn't experience the beach aspect of the resort. The hotel isn't within walking distance of the old town but the bus stop is about 50m away and the buses are pretty frequent. The room was modern and the bathroom especially was very nice. I had a balcony overlooking the sea. Dining options are pretty limited as the only restaurants in the area are at resorts and they seem to be frequently booked out for wedding and other events. Breakfast was really bad - a wide variety but greasy, poor quality food, filthy tablecloths and poor service. This hotel is good if you're ok with a group, package type holiday but if you're looking for something else there's far better options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    321
    74
    16
    4
See reviews for
174
468
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A mate and myself stayed 4 nights at Hotel Neptun in the Babin Kuk region and have never felt so welcome in a hotel. Reception staff are great, the beach bar is a must (we kept Ivan and Becky busy) and were fortunate enough to become good friends with the manager/owner Tom, a great bloke who was always happy to help out where possible.

Our room had a fantastic view of the Adriatic sea that no number of photos could capture (great swimming and kayaking too), with a very decent sized room and bathroom bigger than most we experienced on our adventures. Coming from Perth in Western Australia (arguably the most expensive place in the world at the moment), the food, drink and accommodation prices were all a huge relief on the hip pocket. Hotel Neptun is a must when you visit Dubrovnik. Enjoy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights from the 24th October in Hotel Neptun and loved the experience. We got an upgrade to a very comfortable room without asking with a fantastic view - it was heavenly. Bathroom facilities, room cleaning excellent standard. Breakfast in a brilliant setting was very good - a very small criticism the coffee was a bit weak! There was a great choice. It is situated outside Dubrovnik but there is a No.6 bus just outside the hotel which runs every 15 minutes and that gets you into town in about fifteen minutes up to l a.m. You can buy your tickets at the hotel for approx. one euro 20. The swimming pool was great and also the beach area. A very picturesque location. The staff were very nice and efficient.

We travel quite a bit and this was definitely one of our most enjoyable experiences. We will definitely return.

Phil and Brian Conyngham, Drogheda, Ireland

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 777Drogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Neptun for one week commencing October 26 and it proved to be a very enjoyable experience. The room had a sea view, was very comfortable, cleaned every day and measured up to its 4 Star status.

The staff were both helpful and courteous and looked after our needs when required.

The Hotel was located in the Babin Kuk area and was served by the No 6 Bus. The final stop was a mere three minutes from the Hotel and generally departed for Pile every fifteen minutes.

Breakfast in the morning prepared us for the rest of the day. A small complaint - the food should be maintained in a warmer state. Porridge was available at the beginning but was then taken off. There was sufficient choice to cater for all tastes and needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spotless, well-appointed hotel in a superb location, stunning views, friendly staff and good food.

Room was of good quality, and very comfortable, with a great bathroom. Free safe, and a minibar, though I didnt use it.

Breakfast more than adequate, large choice and good quality. The buffet dinner was also good, although the last night had a "everything is made from leftovers" tinge to it, with many varieties of minced up meat products. Great salad bar, very fresh and well-presented.

I bought a 3-day Dubrovnik card, which included 10 bus trips, and admission onto the walls plus 8 other attractions. The walls were good, but I thought that the museums were pretty terrible, and I wished that I had paid seperately for the bus/walls tickets only, it would have been cheaper.

Sadly, the weather was dire, so the pool areas and sun loungers were redundant, but on a sunny day they would be good.

I doubt I'll return to Durovnik, having done it to death and loved it, but if I did I would look no further than this hotel, it was a gem.

Room Tip: Sea view well worh the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As a group of 8 seasoned travellers we have just returned from this hotel and would all rate it very highly.Perfect location,amazing views from all our rooms and very efficient and friendly reception staff. The breakfast provided everything including sparkling white wine which was handy for a toast as it was my birthday. They also noticed from my passport that it was my birthday and put some nice cake in the room. Rooms were spotless with very comfy beds. It was lovely to sleep with the patio door open and hear the crashing waves on the rocks.It is out of town but that is a bonus and very easy to get into town by local bus costing about £1.20. Good places to eat close by(try Komin).Taj Mahal in town is excellent(not Indian but Bosnian food).This hotel deserves the business and is very reasonably priced on hotels.com. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for panoramic sea view room and ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Dubrovnic and received incredible service and upgrade. We traveled with another couple and the hotel put us in adjoining suites with an incredible view. There concierge service also helped us arrange and schedule our ferry trips to two islands. Reservations for dinner were also promptly attended to. Not that you wouldn't expect that from such a service but the calls made and information provided exceeded our expectations. We traveled to Croatia for 12 days determining our next nights stay "on the fly" . They provided great information and assistance. We left the ladies at pool side and 45 minutes later had our dinner reservations, ferry arrangements and hotel for the following night booked. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptun Hotel

Property: Neptun Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded seaside hotel surrounded by nature with panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands. Only a short ride to the majestic Old Town of Dubrovnik. All restaurants and beach bar have open air terraces only a few meters from the coast line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Neptun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Neptun Hotel
Hotel Neptun Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing