We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lero, Dubrovnik”
Review of Hotel Lero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lero
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Key es
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Lero, Dubrovnik”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, with air conditioning throughout. The service is excellent and the staff very friendly. The food is great - buffet style breakfast and evening meal. Waiting staff are very attentive. The rooms are clean and maid comes in each day to ensure that it is kept that way. The Spa is great and we benefited from massages, manicure and pedicure. Very reasonably priced too. The bar is very inviting and benefits from evening music provided by the adjoining Bosnian restaurant. Hotel Lero is vey convenient for the old town - just a 20 minute walk. It is also a 20 minute walk from Port Gruz, You can take boat trips from both Port Gruz and the small port in the old town. The hotel is spotless and we really enjoyed our stay there. only one small downside - I'd you like sifting by the pool there aren't many sunbeds. Highly recommend hotel,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50AnnaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    524
    134
    15
    13
See reviews for
166
464
52
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

20-30 minutes drive away from Dubrovnik airport and situated about 20-25 minute walk from the old town but can get a bus for about 15 kunas. We didn't really bother with the bus because it was a really nice scenic walk and very safe walking home late at night. The hotel was better than I expected.. as the photos displayed do not do the hotel justice. My friend and I were put in a double bedroom rather than a twin but was easily fixed by staff. It was also a very nice touch having cocktails on arrival! The room was very clean - the cleaning staff were fantastic! Room was spotless after breakfast. The air conditioning and wifi worked very well. We went for bed and breakfast and it was a shame breakfast ended at 10 am .. early start for us! Breakfast was ok! The pool was brilliant and there is a nice beach a 5 minute walk from the hotel. My only issues was the reception staff were unhelpful when asked questions and not particularly pleasant. Alongside the hotel advertising for adults and not children! There happened to be a lot of wild children by the pool when we were trying to relax. The hotel also sent you elsewhere for food and didn't tell us you could get food at the bar - bazaar. I would definitely recommend a trip to lokrum island which cost 60 kunas and was about a 10 minute boat journey from the port in the Old town! As well as a trip to Mostar organized by the company within the hotel! Cost about 360 kunas with our bargaining skills of getting 10% off! We were told we didn't need to convert our money because the locals accepted kunas.. really wish we had due to a salad costing 220 kunas because they can charge whatever they want if it isn't their currency. If you are looking for good nights out I would suggest the pub crawl that can be found in the visitors centre. A really quirky bar called the Art Cafe which is on the way to the Old town, bath tubs as seats! The exit bar skybar and the club revelin were busy every night. The food in the old town is fantastic quality and usually spending about 120 kunas per dinner. There is many drinks offers you just need to look out for free entry and leaflets. Dubrovnik is seriously a gorgeous place! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Lero is a typical 3* hotel in a good position in Dubrovnik but the range of food on offer for the half-board evening meal is appalling. On our first night there, we were faced with food which was not only banal and tasteless but was almost cold. After explaining our problem to the waitress, the offending plate of food was removed but nothing more was said. No apology, no replacement - it was as if we hadn't even complained. We cancelled the remaining evening meals and luckily found an amazing restaurant just down the hill and across the road. Magellan's Restaurant offers amazing food, great service and a lovely outlook for the same price as the half-board rubbish on offer at the Lero.

By all means stay at the hotel but please don't book half board!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Air-conditioning leaves a lot to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmDram_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dubrovnik is very expensive unless you stay in private accommodations. Since we were a group of 13 we needed a hotel and wanted to be close to old town. Hotel Lero is 20-30 minutes walk from town but you can take a bus just outside its door. Any hotel closer will cost 2-3 times as much money. The rooms are large, decorated in a business oriented style. Air condition worked great. Free wi-fi worked. Lots of large groups stay here so the breakfast room isn't cozy but it has a very large selection. Some of the items weren't as fresh as at other hotels. Choices included fruit, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bread, cake, pudding cheese, meat, cereal et. Rooms had mini-bar, desk and shower. The sea view rooms also have noise from the street and the bar but with the window closed and ac going, it wasn't a problem. Other rooms have view of the pool which also can be noisy at times. I would stay here again. Staff was friendly but didn't always have the correct answer when asked about downtown Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here at the end of a six day island hopping tour. The room was clean and large enough and the staff very friendly. The outdoor pool area was not large, but there were not too many people using it, so that was fine. With a 20 minute walk to the old city, it is a good way to start the day. When you want to return to the hotel, a local bus is easy to catch back up the hill. The hotel will sell you the appropriate tickets. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel Lero is a fantastic hotel. The staff were all friendly. The food was lovely. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We have just spent a fantastic week at the hotel Lero and would defiantly recommend it for a fantastic stay in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Visit hotel Lero, I don't think you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Generally my stay at the Hotel Lero was quite pleasant, although it started badly. I had reserved a room on booking.com for a "double room with large bed and desk". When I entered my room, it had two single beds pushed together and a stale smell of cigarettes. I went straight back down to reception and asked for the room I had booked ie. one with a double bed. I was told I would have to wait 30 mins, at which point I said I would check out 30 mins late on my final day to make up for my wasted time, and within seconds the key to my correct room was produced. From that point there were few issues - the room was comfortable and quiet, the air-con worked well. The bed was very comfortable indeed. Wifi did not work so well in the room. Here is yet another hotel that has invested plenty of money in big flat screen TVs showing 500 channels of incomprehensible drivel. A good in-room wifi network would have been a far better use of the money. The lobby wifi was very good so it is possible. Breakfast was very good and the pool was nice and quiet in the afternoon, although by 5pm it was packed. 20 mins to the old town is a possibility if you wish to break into a slow jog and arrive dripping in sweat - 30 mins is perhaps more realistic. I have paid less money for better hotels but Dubrovnik is expensive in the summer, I hear. Overall, its OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
1.7 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Property: Hotel Lero
Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lero 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing