We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic style”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel, the bar staff were very pleasant, the restaurant staff could not do anymore for you and the receptionists were very efficient. All the staff always had a smile on their faces. We arrived at around 10.00 in the morning and by 10.30 our room was ready. The rooms were very clean and comfortable slightly smaller than expected but not too small. The buffet breakfasts and evening meals were great with plenty of choice at every mealtime. The hotel is in a good location with buses every 10 minutes to Dubrovnic old town, the buses are at times very crowded so pick your travelling times carefully

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,225)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lapad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our first visit and won't be our last. The hotel is a lovely little friendly hotel, quite grand in parts. It over looks Gruz harbour where the huge cruise liners moor for Dubrovnik old town, an awesome sight when lounging by the pool.
The rooms are modern and the dining room is light airy and first class.
We upgraded to a harbour view, well worth the money.
The location is on the quite side of Lapad which suited us fine, the busier bars and restaurants are only 5 mins walk away. Dubrovnik old town is a 5 minute bus ride away up the hill with the bus stop outside the hotel, as well as the little water taxi stop.
For those who wonder if Croatia is expensive then it really is not. A good bottle of red wine and 2 sandwiches in the super market came to under a fiver!
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a harbour view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just back from a week spent on a half board basis at the Lapad hotel. I received excellent customer service, the room was very clean and modern and was a 35 minutes pleasant walk to Dubrovnik Old Town.The food provided was of excellent quality and the buffet selection was very wide. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the Lapad for a week in July, travelling with Thomson - although preferring to book independently, their half board option was by far cheaper. On the whole, the Lapad was very likeable with lots of plus points, including:
- spotlessly clean bedroom and public rooms
- comfortable bedroom with efficient air conditioning and 'mood' lighting
- very friendly and helpful staff at reception and in the bar and restaurants
- good location, quiet and easy to get into town on the convenient number 6 bus which stops outside and runs until 2am
- clean, if small, swimming pool, with a beautiful adjacent flower filled courtyard for sunbathing
- plentiful breakfast buffet

There are a few things the Lapad could improve on:
- sunbeds and particularly umbrellas were in short supply - there are only 60 beds in total, so you need to be up early to be sure of one. The sunbeds have no mattresses and I developed a very sore hip from lying on such a hard surface!
- the evening buffet was a bit 'school dinner' ish with metal trays and uninspiring selections. We ate there three times, mainly for convenience after returning late from a trip. It was ok but I found the restaurant a bit soulless and the tables were quite close together
- the balconies on some rooms are only large enough for one person at a time

On the whole though, a very nice hotel. The Thomson trips, delivered by Gulliver Travel, are highly recommended, with very knowledgeable guides and are good value for money. We visited the island of Korcula, with stops at Ston and for wine tasting, and Mostar in Bosnia which was fascinating and a poignant reminder of its recent turbulent history.
Dubrovnik itself is magnificent but crazily busy at all times of day, especially when a cruise ship, which you can watch from the Lapad, has docked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosalind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Lapad for 5 nights from 5th to 10th July. The hotel is right on the edge of Gruz harbour approx' 1.5 miles from the old town. Far enough away to be out of town but close enough to get the number 6 bus into town (approx' 7-8 minute journey and 12 Kuna if you buy the ticket before boarding the bus, 15 Kuna on the bus). the main part of the hotel is in the old building and very well presented. most of the rooms are in the newer part of the building which is attached to the old building and built into the hillside. we stayed in room 610 and were very pleased with our accommodation (2 adults). the pool was very enjoyable and clean. breakfast was plentiful and of very good quality. we only eat at the hotel on one evening. we chose the buffet, again plentiful and of good quality for buffet food. there are a couple of restaurants close by and other bars and restaurants within a 15 minute walk if you do not want to venture into town. we were very pleased with the quality and location of this hotel and would stay there if we were to visit Dubrovnik again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pjml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and and liked the location. It wasn't near the walls but they were so packed full of tourists we preferred it. The hotel sits directly across from the marina and it's lovely to hang out at the pool or even walk to the beach. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance but the breakfast at the hotel is very substantial and there is plenty to make everyone happy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riverforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $100 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing