We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Kintore, Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel beside Gruz Harbour. We did arrive at 1130, and had barely arrived when we were told "we were too early"! We booked a hotel transfer through the hotel, so never thought this would be a problem! Suitcase left in a secure room, and found a nice cafe for coffee.
Our room was on the 8th floor, with side sea view, stunning views. Only disappointment was that the balcony only had room for 1 chair, but not really an issue. Room was spotless, very modern and really couldn't be faulted. Yes, it was a bit of a hike with getting stairs and a couple of lifts, but as a couple on their own, again, no problem. Stunning views from the windows in the staircase! There is a privacy screen/door that can be closed when using the bathroom with glass walls.
Finding a table at breakfast was easy, plenty of variety in the buffet, but we did find the hot food could have been a bit hotter. We noticed the staff were a bit "older" which was nice, helpful and attentitive. It was good to sit beside the pool at night having a few drinks. We had entertainment 1 out of our 4 nights. The hotel was very quiet even though full and having an English stag party staying on our last night.
We really didn't find n awful lot to do in Lapad, but beautiful coastline, great for strolling about, stopping now and again for cold drinks. The harbour is nice with all the boats, and the trips leave daily at 10am. If you go beyond the pedestrianised road towards the coast, we came across the More Hotel, that had the cave bar. It was too hot to sit outside, so sat right beside waters edge for a drink. If you turn right, outside the hotel, that's the way into Dubrovinik Town. We walked in, took us about 35 minutes, and again, stunning views along the way. Trip up the cable car about £10 each, and worth it for the views and the Panorama Cafe on top. Dubrovinik is great place for wandering about, found good ice cream parlour in one of the side streets. Checked out tripadvisor regarding the 2 "hole in the wall bars" . They are a must. Stumbled across no. 1 bar, plastic seats and glasses, stunning views. Plenty do shade from the hot sun, and great music. We liked it better thn no. 2 bar, no music, less shade.
We dined in the Mozart restaurant beside hotel, bland meal, and quite overpriced. The restaurant next door was far better, sitting on the outside terrace, tasty meal, better value. Our best meal was at the yacht club down to the left of the hotel. We went on a Thursday night about 7pm with no booking. Landed lucky getting a table right beside the waters edge. Only ordered a main, but got complimentary starter and bread etc included. Felt like you were being pampered, and really enjoyed it. By time we left, people were waiting to get in, maybe it might be best to book for that time. Would def recommend yacht club for special meal, and funnily enough, the bill was cheaper than the Mozart!
We stayed just for 4 night and was a great little break. Would highly recommend, as well as the hotel.

Room Tip: High floors with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mhh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    774
    161
    36
    13
See reviews for
228
1,253
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our comfortable stay. We had a room in the old part overlooking the sea and it was great to watch all the cruise ships come and go.
The evening buffet meal is excellent with a wide range of choices. The buffet breakfast was equally good.
The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated and furnished. The only down side, was the pool was so cold (in June) and I didn't brave the water!
Excellent location for exploring the area and easy to get into the Old Town of Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea/harbour have wonderful views but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear weston11,

We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your comfortable stay in the room in the old part.
It's great Hotel Lapad lived up to your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is nicely located on the Adriatic although the vast majority of rooms do not have a view. It is an old villa which has been added on to. For anything above the third floor, one has to take an elevator to the first floor, go through a bit of a maze and then take another elevator to get further up. Wifi is free, but we found it highly unreliable on the fourth floor although connections were good in the lobby area. Bathroom was separated from the sleeping room by a partially frosted glass wall which did not provide a lot of privacy.
The pool area is very nice and overlooks the sea. Water quite cold in early June. Pleasant pool service area for drinks, and very nice breakfast buffet .
Staff pleasant and helpful.
Easy access to Old a Town by bus, direct route.

Room Tip: Unless you want the inconvenience of two elevators, stay on 3 rd floor or below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 837SherryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor pages.
You might have already read before that hotel consists of two buildings, the traditional 3 floor front building and the new wing from the 1980. They are interconnected with the corridor where you take the lift to go to the upper floors.
It's disappointing to hear you were let down by frosted glass in the bathroom, but the hotel represents the old charm of the traditional architecture and contemporary modern design.
Anyway we are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived here for the 2nd leg of a two-centre hotel, and we found it an excellent choice. While not being bowled over by the area of Lapad, it does offer a convenient location for getting about both into Dubrovnik, and other areas, in fact it is perfectly reasonable to walk into Dubrovnik if you don't mind hills. The staff could not have been better, and special mention should go to the dining room staff who were both courteous, cheerful and helpful. Our room on the 7th floor afforded a side view of the port, which was quite interesting to watch the huge cruise ships come in and out, from the balcony. I agree with a previous reviewer with regards to the clear glass door to the bathroom, but that would be our only negative point. The room was spacious, clean, with comfortable beds, and a good size fridge to put your own drinks into, and lots of drawer space.
We were on a half board basis, and whereas normally we generally eat outside of the hotel for a couple of evening meals, but didn't this time, as the food was delicious, so much choice, all kept perfectly hot, and although dinner is buffet style, it was never dried up, and was replenished constantly. The same could be said for breakfast, and again, the same vast array of choice, including a good choice of fresh fruit. There is very little to do in this area after dinner unless you are happy to stay around the bar area, but several evenings we caught the bus back into Dubrovnik for a nightcap and coffee. It has to be seen at night!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshirecat046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review following your holiday in Hotel Lapad.
It's wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay thoroughly and had almost perfect holiday.
We appreciate your lovely compliments but we are truly sorry you were disappointed with modern glass door design in the bathroom.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

my hubby and i spent a week at hotel lapad dubrovnik and it was great. this is a lovely hotel at gruz harbour. hotel very clean food good but could have been a bit warmer.staff were welcoming which is always a plus.i would stay at this hotel again so if you are thinking off going to dubrovnik please give this hotel a try. you will not be sorry,

Room Tip: any room you choose will be good.we had a standart double and it was well kitted out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifulbooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about lovely hotel with welcoming staff.
We appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor pages and we do hope to welcome you back for another sunshine break.

With best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel at the end of a 10 day vacation trip moving gradually from Zagreb to Dubrovnik. I booked all my hotel rooms online. I knew it would be a bit more fancy than the other hotels I had booked but due to difficulties to find something I ended up booking the end of my trip at this hotel. The place was beautiful. Included breakfast was great, more like a buffet. So you might wonder why I feel this was not for me. Well I travel a lot for work and for me a too fancy hotel reminds me of work therefore I tend to go for 3* max. In general the places are more authentic and the staff is nicer. When I arrived at the Hotel Lapad I did not find the staff very welcoming. I was given a room with a partial view on the ocean... Partial was the right word. I could see some water across the street but buildings and mountain after the water. It was more seeing the water than seeing the ocean even though it was the actual ocean. Also the last night I was there I wanted to go bed early since I had a very early flight to catch. Others was some sort of party in the hotel. I could not sleep. Finally the place is at about 40 minute walk from the Old Town. The staff did not even bother telling me that there was a city bus that I could have taken when I asked for indications about the Old City.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with small numbers since they are on the second floor facing activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lapetitemusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor pages.
It is disappointing for us to read you found our hotel fancy and impersonal.
We appreciate positive and negative comments as they help us to improve our service.
According to many reviews we have already received the majority of the guests consider Hotel Lapad as a welcoming hotel with a special charm so we regret you were let down by our service and staff.
Regarding the comments of the partial sea view room it is true that you see from the balcony the Adriatic sea, Gruž harbour and surrounding residential area.
Our staff is always at you
We are really sorry Hotel Lapad didn't meet your expectations.
On the other hand we hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again in the future.

With kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyork
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel had a good location. Quite easy to get to the old town by bus. Rooms were new but a pain to get to ( via several lifts and corridors). The rooms were meant to be modern but were designed poorly. Clear glass doors to the bathroom. Not enough hanging space or vanity space. Complicated system to operate lights etc. Keys would stop working often. Breakfast was nice. The staff could definitely have been nicer. They were courteous but not friendly. Very rare to get a smile out of them. Did not make you feel too welcome. The staff at the lobby bar still made an effort to be more approachable and warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhanjhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments regarding our pleasant hotel in a good location.
We are truly sorry you were let down by our design, gadgets and staff.
They all work hard and do their best to ensure memorable and enjoyable stay to all our guest.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and we hope you will get different impression.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing