We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just spent a week at Hotel Lapad. The location of the hotel is perfect for keeping an eye on the cruise ships that visit almost daily, some days two at a time. It is well placed for good restaurants and small bars and if you enjoy walking there are pleasant walks around Lapad. We spent time at Lapad beach which we preferred to Copacabana beach as there are better and more facilities at Lapad.
The hotel itself is immaculate both inside and out. Our room was on the seventh floor in the rearmost block which involves a short trek and two lifts which sounds a pain but in practice is no problem at all, particularly as the rooms are superbly appointed, particularly the modern bathrooms with bath and shower.
We were B&B so cannot comment on the dinner but the breakfasts are first rate with a vast selection of food on offer which should satisfy any taste.
Bar prices are reasonable for a four star hotel and all staff are pleasant and helpful. The evening entertainment is good most nights with live performers, the only downside being the in-between nights when a man sits at the poolside playing an obscure selection of records for most of the evening - very strange!!
All in all an excellent place to stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank justroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear justroving,

It's our great pleasure to read your lovely comments.

We are happy our pleasant staff and nice hotel in excellent location ensured you enjoyable stay.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated.

With best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    785
    162
    37
    13
See reviews for
237
1,283
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Hotel Lapad at the start of August. It was faultless, the room was beautiful, the staff were helpful and friendly. When we were there, there was a good mix of people from young couples, to families and older couples. One of the best times in Dubrovnik was having dinner beside the pool while the three piece band played. It was the type of hotel that you could stay in and not venture out if you didn't want to and still have an amazing time. The harbour is literally on your doorstep, the beach is about 15 minutes walk away and the Old town is easy to get to. If you didn't want to venture far for dinner and wanted a change from the hotel, there's a pizzeria on the right hand side as you come out of the hotel. If we could recommend things to do, the boat day trip to the islands leaves just outside the hotel and it's a great day to go to different beaches and relax. The kayaking was the highlight to me, we sea kayaked around the walls of Old town and one of the islands, including swimming and snorkeling. We booked it in the hotel. The walk of the city walls was beautiful, in August it was very hot. I would advise picking your time for trips and s,ight seeing as different times of the day are busier with tours from cruises and the heat. The only thing that I could fault is people taking sun loungers early, so you weren't always guaranteed a sun lounger. We didn't stay by the pool for the week, so it didn't effect us as much as it would others. All in all the hotel was beautiful, clean, the staff couldn't do enough to make sure you were happy with your stay and we would go back there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Amanda W,

What a lovely review! We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have ben there in august-at the begining-7 nights.Nice Hotel, in Lapad-Dubrovnik! You must go there and try it! ;) nice pool and good breakfast. Nice live music in every evening at the poolbar.We loved it! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear roandrea,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback following your recent visit.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great hotel, close to the cruise liner harbour in te north of the city. Although a traditional facade the rooms are modern and comfortable. Only 15 minutes by bus to the old town. An oasis after a long drive across Albania and Montenegro. Pool was a bit cool bur refreshing!

Room Tip: Front overlooks the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear clemobluegrass,

We hope you will visit our oasis again in the near future for another longer stay.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed as a family at hotel lapad as the start of our Croatian / Italy holiday. It was the perfect place to start off. The rooms are nice, we had interconnecting rooms as we have youngish children this worked well though the kids got the better room as there's had a terrace - ours a small window which made the room a lot darker so go for a balcony if at all possible, would have given the kids this room but it had twin beds! The bar and lunch menu are good, not massive choice but enough, we didn't try dinner but breakfast had a great choice too. Location is good as it is set in a beautiful harbour that the pool over looks and easy to get into town if you really need to. Reception staff were in general helpful, Lea in particular was very helpful in helping us plan our trip onwards. We visited the Elephite island as a day trip which was great, good snorkelling!

Room Tip: Get a balcony, there is music from the bar and pool area until about 11 ish so if you have young chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Annabel L,

It's wonderful to read Hotel Lapad was perfect place to start off your holiday.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments with other travelers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 10 days at Hotel Lapad this August, 2 Adults and 4 Children 15 to 16. Hotel Lapad is a quiet hotel, with good rooms and a nice pool. The hotel is set right on the harbour front in the Lapad district of Dubrovnik.

Getting to the old town is via a bus or taxi. The bus can be very busy and although it stops right outside the hotel the road is a one way street so the quickest way to get into the old town is to walk upto where the bus comes back. In busy times you may have to wait for a few buses to go by and you will, unless very lucky, be standing, although the journey is only 15 to 20 min - price is 12 kuna each way and you can buy your bus tickets from the hotel reception.

The hotel reception were very friendly and can organise trips, the hotel offered a better exchange rate than most other places and offered a much better rate than we got in the UK. Cash is King in Dubrovnik and some places would only take Kuna.

The Hotel restaurant offered a wide variety of choices each day for breakfast and dinner which was great, especially for the children. The prices for wine, beer and soft drinks were a bit high and no tap water was provided so a bottle of wine and some soft drinks would normally come to just under 300 kuna (£40) for the 6 of us. Drinks in general in Dubrovnik are not cheap. We had lunch a couple of days instead of dinner which meant we could try out some of the lovely restaurants in Lapad and the old town. In the evening the hotel also offers al a carte around the pool area, although we did not try this it looked very good.

Staff throughout the hotel were really friendly with the exception of two waiters who were incredibly rude, but we did not take this personally as it appeared they were rude in general.

The rooms were a good size, we had three rooms and one was a junior suite which was incredibly good value given its size. Nice size bedroom with separate lounge area, two wardrobe areas to separate wc, two balconies, two Tvs, really good aircon. excellent housekeeping.

The pool was very nice, we always got a few sunbeds but you do need to reserve one by no later than 9am. There is a lovely courtyard adjoining the pool area which was covered in some grape vines which provided some natural cover from the sun, really beautiful.

Some evening entertainment is provided at the hotel, all very low key. There was some local music and a basic DJ. The area around the hotel is really quiet at night with no nightlife to speak of. There is a paved road up the hill about 10 - 15min walk with bars and restaurants, most of these close by midnight and are fairly quiet. It has a nice family atmosphere but would not be suitable if you like lively music, football bars karaoke etc. The real nightlife appeared to be in Dubrovnik old town with bars in the narrow lanes.

Great Hotel in a Beautiful City

Room Tip: Quiet area so all roomes were quiet. Suite was brilliant value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve_rem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem on a hotel. The room I had overlooked the poll and port. It was clean and comfortable.

The pool is stunning if not a little chilly (very refreshing). And the pool bar exceptional. The drink prices here are what you pay everywhere in Dubrovnik. Not the inflated prices you generally get at hotels.

The buffet breakfast is the perfect feast to get you through the days adventures in the town.

The staff friendly, helpful and cheerful.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear NJDaniel,


Thank you for such a lovely comments.

It's wonderful to read it is a gem on a hotel.

We can't wait to welcome you back.


Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing