We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Recently enjoyed a very relaxing 4 days at Hotel Lapad. The hotel is in a quiet location by the harbour approx. 3 km from the old town. An easy 15 minute bus ride gets you to the old town and the return bus journey stops right outside the hotel. The hotel provides friendly service and high quality accommodation. There is a good size swimming pool and plenty of space to relax in the sun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Phoenix27,

We are so flattered to read your comments about the hotel that provides friendly service and high quality accommodation.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for another relaxing and enjoyable stay.

With kind regards

Katica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Lapad for a week on a half board package deal, which is very unlike us. Our first impressions were that the hotel looked beautiful, but the staff at the check-in desk were unfriendly - we weren't made to feel particularly welcome. Our room was modern, clean and spacious with a small balcony with a side view of the sea. However, although we requested a double room, we were given a twin. We asked at reception, who said that they didn't have any doubles available but they could make the bed differently so that it was like a double. The pool area was great, however unless you got up early, it was quite difficult to get a sunbed. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice. The evening buffet was ok, although the drinks were expensive. After eating out elsewhere a couple of times and being shocked at the awful quality and elevated prices, we were relieved to have the half board option at the hotel. We had a lovely week overall and really relaxed. The buses were easy to use into the old town although very busy getting back and extremely hot. We really enjoyed walking along the harbour outside the hotel and into lapad, where there are lots of lovely bars and live music. If you continue around the coastal path, past all of the restaurants, you will eventually come to the Hotel More with a cave bar which is a must. Also the cinema in Lapad was great...the films are shown in their original language with subtitles, the air conditioning was a welcome relief and the tickets were much cheaper than at home. We also really enjoyed walking around the coastal path from the hotel (turn left out of the hotel, then take a right hand turn by the petrol station) all the way to Babin Kuk...it was lovely and quiet and stunning views of the Adriatic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 7 nights. We had such a fab time! It was our first time to Croatia and we are so pleased we chose this hotel. It was lovely being by the harbour and being outside Dubrovnik Old Town was really nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Mario who always had a smile on his face and the the food was delicious! We loved having our dinner a few nights outside by the pool area. The tables had candles on and you had either a lovely view of the harbour or of the hotel. Our room was very modern and clean. We had a very romantic and relaxing stay. We enjoyed walking round the harbour either in the morning or night as it was just a bit cooler to do so. We had a fab stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My overall memory of this hotel will be one of total relaxation, peace and calm! This was just what we were looking for having had a very busy few months at work. We booked a package hol, which we have never done, as usually prefer to book independently into villa etc, but we fancied a hotel , just to totally switch off, and would certainly do it again, as it was just so stress free! The costs were competitive too, however I digress, back to the hotel! Spotlessly clean, efficient, polite staff, ( we read that some thought staff stand offish etc, but I think one needs to consider culture here.You are not somewhere like the US with ott customer service! ). We went B and B and cannot fault the breakfast , you really would have to be an exceptionally fussy eater not to find something to tuck into. It really did set us up for the whole day. I have read some terrible reviews re food for lunch and dinner, but we would never book half or full board, how could you deprive yourself of all the other lovely places to eat!. We had room service once due to a giant thunder storm which we watched from our balcony, and it was not great!!!!! (The food, not the storm which was most dramatic!) The hotels location is fantastic, take a left out of the hotel along the coastal path and walk 20 mins to the cute copacabana beach, or take a right to walk round the gruz harbour, or catch a very fully packed number 6 bus to the old town, 10 mins and 15kuna each. The hotels bar is most pleasant, and a nice way to start your evening, or to have a drink during the day. Sun loungers a bit thin on the ground so if you want a day by the pool I reckon you'd have to be an early bird and stake your claim with a towel! We rarely return to the same spot but we are seriously thinking about it for next year. We are 40 and 49 years old, so too old for clubbing but not ready for saga hols just yet! , but there were a range of ages staying at the hotel, so build whatever hol suits you best! We took off to the old town 4 days, to walk the walls, but also do see it at night, it's magical.

Room Tip: We had side sea.harbour view room in new bit, got the sun all morning and lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meeky12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel Lapad is a beautiful hotel and definitely one of the best looking hotels we've stayed in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were worried when booking as our travel operator only allowed us to book a twin room. I emailed the hotel at the time of the booking and then again three weeks prior to our arrival to see if this could be changed, and was advised that this would be possible if there were any double rooms avaliable. All I can say is that I am extremely glad I did this, as the room we were given was AMAZING!
The pool area is lovely and the little garden terrace is a peaceful area where you can chill out after an exhausting day around the Dubrovnik area. The bar area was lovely and the staff were always extremely professional, attentive and very friendly!
At the hotel you can book a variety of excursions, but I would recommend shopping around as we got an even better deal on the Elaphite Island trip than what the hotel quoted in their leaflets/ the welcome pack we were given by the operator. We did book a sunset sea kayaking tour through the hotel, but were misled about who we needed to go to when in Pile which meant we nearly missed our tour! So this was a bit of a let down.
We stayed at the hotel on a half-board basis, which I would not do again. Whilst the breakfast buffet was very good, the evening meals did not live up to our expectations and as a result we ended up eating out three nights, which added to the expense of our trip.
In all Hotel Lapad is a great hotel to stay at, in an ideal location with a frequent bus service running to the Old Town.

Room Tip: If your tour operator or booking website limits the room option to Twin room then make sure you emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HevTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel itself was great. The rooms were very clean and pretty spacious, the food was decent, and it was in a good central location if you want to get to beaches or to the Old Town. The pool was quite nice, but it was literally impossible to get seats as the hotel only has about 60 chairs by the pool. If you're lucky enough to get one in the morning, watch out for people stealing your seats if you (heaven forbid) get up to grab a coffee.

The major complaint that I have with this hotel is the service. This is something I rarely take issue with (as you can see from my other reviews, I'm not a difficult person to please in this department), so I hope the hotel takes this seriously. Now in order to get drinks, usually we had to go up to the bar and ask ourselves; this wasn't a huge deal at first, but we were treated with disdain pretty much every time we asked for something. The servers working at the pool bar not only ignored our requests most of the time, but were flat out rude. On one occasion we had gone outside of the hotel for dinner, and having been dis-satisfied with our meal, returned to the hotel to eat at about 10pm. I asked one of the gentlemen at the bar if it was possible to order food at that time (the menu said the kitchen was open until 12), and he let out an exaggerated sigh, rolled his eyes, and said "I guess". That was totally uncalled for, especially considering I was ordering soup. We just felt that the servers treated us like they were doing us a favour. One night a friend of mine asked what was in the house salad - the waiter (once again rolling his eyes) said that he "told her that the other day" in a really frustrated voice. It was ridiculous! After the first day, we also stopped getting receipts for our meals or drinks, even after asking for them. We were at the hotel for 8 nights, and would have liked to cross check with our own receipts upon checkout, since we had such a hefty bill.

All in all, the hotel would be great if they did something about the service. Even the desk staff was relatively cold and standoffish; upon checkout, the gentleman at the front desk didn't thank us for our stay, wish us safe travels, or even say goodbye. I would highly recommend some kind of service consulting for the entire staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear DanielaNic,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review about your stay at the Hotel Lapad.

All your comments are appreciated, positive and negative ones.

We are pleased you consider Hotel Lapad a great hotel with pretty and spacious rooms in a good central location.
We are also very dissapointed you were let down by the service.
Please be assured that this is not how we usually operate and I would like offer my sincere apologies on behalf of the Hotel for any inconvenience caused. 
Your feedback is important to us as our aim is to maintain high service standards with our guests. 

We hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel Lapad in the future.

With kind regards,

Katica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love the waiters. Its like the place is run by mature butlers who have been in service for their entire lives, brought from English stately homes and parachuted into the Hotel Lapad. Zlatan is a man in his prime who is a professional, charming, helpful and totally in tune with his guests. I have never been so impressed with waiters before, I wish that I had told him so when I was there.
The hotel has the personal touch, the reception is run by a charming young man with a voice straight from 'Compare the Meerkat' , sorry none UK readers, but this observation does not translate well.
The place is spotless, you could eat your food off the floor, it is so clean!!!

The thing that you will thank me for the most, is the next piece of advice. Go back and give me a helful vote if you agree. Walk out of the hotel, turn left, walk for one minute and you will see an narrow illuminated alleyway on the left that slopes gently up to the area which comes to life at night, dozens of little restaurants and nice bars. It is the area of lapad beach where you can book boat trips and have reasonably priced meals of all descriptions.

Its car free and makes a place to go for a nice evening promenade.

I love Croatia, its like Spain was in 1970 , France in 1965 and Turkey in 1985!!!!

Don't like the glass doors on the bathroom though; somethings need to be done without an audience.

Room Tip: Choosed a room closest to reception, the hotel is on a hillside, we had to use three lifts!!! We t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rawson-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $105 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing