We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ladad Hotel, Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ladad Hotel, Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have had an excellent week at the above hotel, it is very difficult to find fault in any part of the stay. We had a double bedroom at the front of the hotel which was very good - rooms in the newer part of the hotel tend to be much smaller and could be a little claustrophobic. Dinner was either a self selection type 150 kuna's or there was an Al a Carte menu which was very much to our requirement and not a lot more expensive.The staff all speak English and are extremely friendly and helpful, they fall over backwards to help without being in any way imposing. The hotel will arrange a taxi from the airport, 300 kuna charged to your bill but for some strange reason the trip back is payable to the taxi driver at 250kuna's. The bus to the old city stops right outside the hotel and costs 12k each way if bought from the hotel but on the bus it is 15k worth while using it as the walk up hill is some 3 kilometers.
A wonderful holiday but check the weather forecast every day and do not rely on what you see overhead - said with feeling - caught in a very heavy hail storm in the afternoon having had glorious weather earlier in the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambert058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    776
    162
    37
    13
See reviews for
230
1,262
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This time last year we had a fabulous stay at the Hotel David in Florence. Really good accommodation, a brisk (30 mins) walk from the city centre and numerous sites of historical/cultural significance (oh yes, and a hill to climb up if you felt the unnatural urge for additional exercise).
So come on Hotel Lapad, what have you got to offer? Well quite a lot actually:-
Comfortable accommodation - nice quiet room with wifi.
Generally happy, amiable staff (particularly the Maitre & his best friend in the restaurant),
Solid food offering - walk past the fish at your peril!
A healthy 35 min walk (including gentle(!) incline) to the old town.
Fantastic waking tours (Old Town & City Walls 0 inc, 750 steps) & a whole lot of culture.
Closer to home a lovely scenic quiet walk around the Lapad/Babin Kuk peninsula taking you past some lovely beaches and a notable cave bar (Hotel More).
Our first experience of Croatia was very positive - the people are lovely - great example being our taxi driver on the return to the airport - "you, really don't need to tip me, have a great flight home" - "no, you're quite right, but we'd like to" and there is so much history, so many beautiful views and so much good food!
So what's the down side - tough one really - the only thing I can come up with is the cruise boats and their very special brand of expresso tourism "so, which country is this resort in?" they can make the old town a bit busy - the best remedy was offered by our walking tour guide who had a great mindset - "let's all enjoy our national sport of tourist slalom" - it wasn't that bad really.
Would we come back? Absolutely and to this hotel - Dubrovnik is now on our "must see again before too long" list.
.....and a post script - this is a very clean hotel - the lifts smell of lemon and barely a day went by without the corridors receiving a stern hoovering- the cleaners evidently enjoy their work - they were always smiling & laughing - sums the place up perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear DavidandKatie3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review regarding our perfect hotel.
I am so pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and that our amiable staff, services and facilities met your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dubrovnik!

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you have not been to croatia before this is a good place to start. The hotel staff are very friendly and speak fluent english. The hotel is along the harbour and built a few hundred years ago I believe but has been modernised inside to a very good standard. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a balcony and small garden area really private if you did not want to spend time around the pool area. The food was excellent with a huge choice at breakfast time there was something for everyone including the fussiest of people. There was always plenty and they regularly topped up and this was the same for the evening meal. There was only one downside for us we are only tea drinkers and they seriously need to scource a better tea bag! Be aware of the buses they are easy to use but just like Italy the locals do not queue!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new extension are quieter with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel
The staff are very helpful and responsive, breakfasts are very generous and rooms are modern and clean
Good location as you can get the bus for 15kn into the city in 15 mins and its good to be away from the crowds with beaches within walking distance of the hotel
We stayed in the new part of the hotel which requires taking two lifts and would have preferred the old part if we could have had a choice but it was no problem
The glass door to the bathroom and sliding glass door between hall and bedroom seem a bit unnecessary - I would have designed it differently myself as you don't have much privacy in the bathroom as it's wall is all glass- perhaps some strange .
Croatian fetish !

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

From when we steppedthrough the door an amazing experience started. The staff from reception to dining to bar to cleaners can only be applauded for their attention & help. The breakfast was exceptional with a wide choice & as much as you like! The hotel was top notch, the only downside being no tea making facilities in room. Wife loves her early cup of tea! Location & access to area couldn't be better. Short walk to plenty of eating places & bus stops outside hotel for the old town and a short walk to other bus stop for further afield, cavtat. Hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear ajstrip,


Thank you so much for taking the time to post fantastic review about your amazing experience.

I was so pleased to read about our attentive staff, exceptional breakfast and location.

We are sorry to hear you you didn't contact reception regarding tea making facilities. We could provide it any time with a small charge.

I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hotel Lapad in the near future.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were in Dubrovnik, last week, and we hit the jackpot, and we chose to stay at the lapad hotel. What a beautiful place, with excellent service, and extremelly clean. Very tastefull breakfast, with a good variety of food. It could easily be a 5star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear xuanita,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review on Tripadvisor.
I highly appreciate your very positive feedback regarding our excellent service, extremely clean hotel and very tasteful breakfast with a good variety of food.
I am very much looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Lapad for two nights. When we arrived, we immediately were upgraded to a sea view room. The room is decently sized and had a small balcony overlooking the port, which was very nice to sit in the early evenings.

We happened to be staying during my birthday, which the staff must have seen from my passport, and they brought up a lovely plate of fruit in the late morning. It was a nice extra touch, that really verified the quality of staff there.

There is parking right outside the hotel - not a lot, but we had a space, and it was free, unlike what I read online, which said parking was 8 euro a day. The pool looked nice, but we never went since the one day we thought about it, it was later in the afternoon and all the loungers were occupied.

The breakfast was good and had a plentiful selection. There are also some very nice restaurants nearby (we went to Otto Taverna, which was excellent).

Its about a 20-30 minute walk to the old town, or the bus stops right outside the hotel, and a taxi is about 6-12 euro, depending on which side of the old town you are coming from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing