We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Lublin
Level Contributor
215 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is well located, close to the sentre of dubrovnik, with the view to the bay. The staff was friendly rooms were well equipped and clean. Brekafast was good. Hotel KOmodor is a good choice in Dubrovnik for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuuschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    141
    51
    15
    21
See reviews for
36
148
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the hotel Komodor Lapad on the 27th April 2014 for Five days the hotel is in a great location it's a ten minute bus journey from the city of dubrovnick the local bus stop is just around the corner and the local bus runs every fifteen min and are on time it's the number 4 bus The hotel is very comfortable spotlessly clean The two men behind reception were so friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome which is so nice to see on your arrival the hotel is a basic hotel the rooms are small but again spotlessly clean Their was plenty of choice for breakfast a hot and cold buffet style the only thing I could fault is their hot breakfast was cold every morning if it had been hotter it would have been much nicer the hotel will book any of your trips for you and organise taxis for you we took two trips one to Montenegro and the other to Bosnai Hercegovina both well worth a visit Dubrovnick city itself is beautiful loads to see and do plenty of Island trips and a must is to walk the walls of Dubrovnick the view at the top is beautiful Their are plenty of resturants so no problem food wise Lapad which is ten minutes outside is also lovely theirs a beautiful walk along the sea stunning veiws and plenty of resturants all in all I would definitely go back to Dubrovnick and stay in lapad in the Hotel Komodor so thank you for a lovely stay and I'm looking forward to returning

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We will be happy to see you again in our hotel. For your next visit we will try to organize the same room as you already had.
The problems you indicated in your review we will solve immediately.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the Komodor for two weeks in October (6-20th) The staff were friendly and helpful and the location for Dubrovnik ideal.BUT not alot to keep ones attention for two weeks, suggest definately go, but one week is enough. Managed to get an organised trip to Montenegro but at that time of year the weather could have been kinder. We were told the previous week was a "scorcher". The trip we purchased was from LEE travel around the corner from the hotel our tour guide and also driver on a seperate tour was called Ratko a very funny helpful and knowledgeable man, glad we met him. Thomson trips didn't go so far into Montenegro and were far more expensive. Will recommend the hotel as clean tidy and food very good but the restaurant could certainly do with an update, some of the worst pictures added to the decor. Midweek during w/c 14/10/13 the swimming pool was emptied, whilst the weather was very wet it did improve the very next day. !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard18948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
We are really sorry that the weather was poor during your stay.
Our hotel staff always strives to provide the guests with the best possible service, and it makes us very happy that you recognized their efforts.
Unfortunately, we had some technical problems with our pool which we couldn’t eliminate in particular time limit, so we needed to clear it out earlier than planned. We are sorry about that.
Hotel Komodor reception, as well as other hotel receptions in Hotel Group Maestral, is connected on the daily basis with our partners who organize all kinds of excursions.
You could have asked our reception staff about any kind of excursion and everything would be organized and ready for your trip.
We would be happy if you plan to visit us again and if you do, we truly hope for the best possible weather conditions.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel first week in oct 2013 although a little dated found it very friendly but make sure you upgrade to a room with a balcony otherwise you will look out the back of the hotel which isn't to nice,evening meals where good but breakfast was repetitive,staff where also very helpful,rooms cleaned every day and no problems with sleep,hotel is in an excellent position and I would stay again but ive seen dubrovnic well worth a visit and do the trips also,but once ive seen somewhere ive seen it,other than a little accident when a beach umbrella was picked up by a gust of wind and landed near my eye which needed stiches I really enjoyed my stay here.would also like to thank the hospital for excellent treatment in and out with in an hour.

Room Tip: try for high room with sea view before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that everything went well with the beach umbrella incident.
We do hope to host you again in our hotel.
Best regards from Dubrovnik,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

On arrival we were shown to our room no.102 it smelt of damp and was dark and dreary. The bathroom was a cupboard you had to squeeze past sink to get to the shower and toilet After complaining we paid extra for what we should have had in the first place. Breakfast was the same every day ,and the evening meals did not inspire me either. The swimming pool was in shade until approx. midday and was not clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry we didn’t exceed your expectations.
In the future we are planning to work on business enhancement in terms of quality accommodation.
Also we are also intending to enrich our gastronomic offer.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of October and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to pay a little less for a hotel in the Dubrovnik area. Although the hotel is only a 3 star the rooms are more than adequate, and kept very clean. The breakfast is well stocked and the staff are excellent and available 24 hours a day. The hotel is very well located in the Lapad area, with shops, bars, restaurants ;and the beach all within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are very pleased we exceeded your expectations.
We would be happy to host you again.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 3 stayed here 23rd September for one week, age range 46 to 56. Both of our rooms 1 double and 1 single, if honest were both a little on the small size, that said very adequate and clean. Although due to the location it didn't really matter. The beach is less than two minutes walk, the bus stop is just around the corner, the resort centre is less than 5 minutes stroll.
Apart from the above it should also be added, that the 3 gentleman who run the reception during the day are all a total credit to the Hotel, nothing is to much trouble for them, you can ask them for any kind of advice and it doesn't matter how busy they are you not made to feel a nuisance, the same can be said for the housekeeping and hospitality staff, but avoid the night receptionist, clearly he is dealing with his own issues!
Lapad, is a beautiful resort where the locals are all very friendly and appear to speak most languages without hesitation, although be prepared to have your change put down on the counter and not in your hand, this is cultural and not personal
In the evening we tended to get a taxi into Pile Gate most nights (80 Kuna approx) as the walls are alive with live music. Initially we got the bus ( 12 Kuna each) but nobody queues like a Brit and when the bus arrived it was a total scrum, too rude!!!
To sum up our first visit to Croatia and the treatment we received from the Hotel Komodor and the people of Croatia, we will definitely be going back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to get such a positive feedback from our guests.
Your compliments are a great acknowledgement to our staff.
In the future we will strive to be even better.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#58 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#31 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Dubrovnik Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#36 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Property: Hotel Komodor
Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing