We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Komodor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Komodor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel first week in oct 2013 although a little dated found it very friendly but make sure you upgrade to a room with a balcony otherwise you will look out the back of the hotel which isn't to nice,evening meals where good but breakfast was repetitive,staff where also very helpful,rooms cleaned every day and no problems with sleep,hotel is in an excellent position and I would stay again but ive seen dubrovnic well worth a visit and do the trips also,but once ive seen somewhere ive seen it,other than a little accident when a beach umbrella was picked up by a gust of wind and landed near my eye which needed stiches I really enjoyed my stay here.would also like to thank the hospital for excellent treatment in and out with in an hour.

Room Tip: try for high room with sea view before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that everything went well with the beach umbrella incident.
We do hope to host you again in our hotel.
Best regards from Dubrovnik,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    141
    51
    15
    21
See reviews for
36
148
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

On arrival we were shown to our room no.102 it smelt of damp and was dark and dreary. The bathroom was a cupboard you had to squeeze past sink to get to the shower and toilet After complaining we paid extra for what we should have had in the first place. Breakfast was the same every day ,and the evening meals did not inspire me either. The swimming pool was in shade until approx. midday and was not clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry we didn’t exceed your expectations.
In the future we are planning to work on business enhancement in terms of quality accommodation.
Also we are also intending to enrich our gastronomic offer.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of October and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to pay a little less for a hotel in the Dubrovnik area. Although the hotel is only a 3 star the rooms are more than adequate, and kept very clean. The breakfast is well stocked and the staff are excellent and available 24 hours a day. The hotel is very well located in the Lapad area, with shops, bars, restaurants ;and the beach all within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are very pleased we exceeded your expectations.
We would be happy to host you again.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 3 stayed here 23rd September for one week, age range 46 to 56. Both of our rooms 1 double and 1 single, if honest were both a little on the small size, that said very adequate and clean. Although due to the location it didn't really matter. The beach is less than two minutes walk, the bus stop is just around the corner, the resort centre is less than 5 minutes stroll.
Apart from the above it should also be added, that the 3 gentleman who run the reception during the day are all a total credit to the Hotel, nothing is to much trouble for them, you can ask them for any kind of advice and it doesn't matter how busy they are you not made to feel a nuisance, the same can be said for the housekeeping and hospitality staff, but avoid the night receptionist, clearly he is dealing with his own issues!
Lapad, is a beautiful resort where the locals are all very friendly and appear to speak most languages without hesitation, although be prepared to have your change put down on the counter and not in your hand, this is cultural and not personal
In the evening we tended to get a taxi into Pile Gate most nights (80 Kuna approx) as the walls are alive with live music. Initially we got the bus ( 12 Kuna each) but nobody queues like a Brit and when the bus arrived it was a total scrum, too rude!!!
To sum up our first visit to Croatia and the treatment we received from the Hotel Komodor and the people of Croatia, we will definitely be going back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to get such a positive feedback from our guests.
Your compliments are a great acknowledgement to our staff.
In the future we will strive to be even better.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Mullen, Dorset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for your hospitality, only 3 star, so don't expect 5 star facilities. We enjoyed our stay, no negative thoughts so enjoy.
If you can book a balcony room, then do so as the bar area is not large, buy your tipple from the nearby supermarket so you can relax on your balcony and watch the sun go down.
We met a room maid Barbara and what a fantastic friendly person, she was not our room maid, but, however all staff were friendly.
All meals were plentiful and enjoyable (3 star), . If ever we come to Croatia again, we would stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zavilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

it was our pleasure to host you in our hotel.

Your satisfaction is a great motivation in our future work.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked Hotel Komodor for three reasons, it was close to the beach, had a swimming pool and had good trip advisor reviews. Unfortunately we arrived after getting a taxi from the old town, went to check in, only to be told that we had been moved to a different hotel. I asked why, and was given a shrug of the shoulders and told it was an upgrade. We were given directions to Hotel Splendid and told that it was only 200m away, but it was a little further than this, uphill and 30degrees outside, we were not given any assistance to move our bags and arrived at our new hotel hot, sweaty and annoyed. I cannot fault the staff at Hotel Splendid who instantly helped us with our bags, the hotel is very nice, great staff, gardens etc, but it has no pool and is further away from the beach. We should have been informed prior to our arrival of being moved, especially as I had personally contacted the hotel the previous week to ask a question, if I had known I would have cancelled and booked elsewhere with a pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnOwl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very sorry that you didn't stay in hotel Komodor.

Unfortunately, we needed to make changes at the last moment because of the unpredictable situations that happened. This was the reason why we offered an upgrade in hotel Splendid.

We hope that you will receive our apologies and that you will come back next year.

Once again, our sincere apologies.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a great week in Dubrovnic, The hotel was pleasantly situated and in general very clean. Starting with our arrival we were disappointed that we were given a Double room when we had booked a twin room due to my medical condition. The receptionist was not helpful at the time in re-arranging this. The room was comfortable, however one danger was the STEP up into the shower room/toilet in poor light this was dangerous and I nearly fell into the toilet when I did not raise my foot high enough during the night. One other problem was that if you were in the bathroom and room 204 were talking or also in their bathroom you could hear every word or sound that they made, this could be very embarrassing. The good points are that the room was very clean room 203 and the lady cleaning the rooms was always cheerful and polite.
The food in the hotel was superb cannot fault it at all, I would however suggest that they change the sweets available in the evenings and give more variety over the week, i.e ice cream/jelly/custard ect.. The idea of a buffet Dinner is great with plenty of choices.
A nice touch was the bottle of water on our table each evening, the staff were excellent and always happy to please. One major disadvantage was not having a lager seated bar area or lounge, although we sat outside on the terrace some evenings which was great, when the evenings became chilly you wanted to go inside but their was no where to sit in comfort, so we made a hasty retreat to our rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a better view but the second floor is nice. However I would not suggest room 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review.

We are truly sorry that we didn't meet your expectations all the way.

Your comments and suggestions are appreciated and will help us to improve in the future.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#58 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#31 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Dubrovnik Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#36 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Property: Hotel Komodor
Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing