We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No help or explanation from staff on being moved”
Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No help or explanation from staff on being moved”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked Hotel Komodor for three reasons, it was close to the beach, had a swimming pool and had good trip advisor reviews. Unfortunately we arrived after getting a taxi from the old town, went to check in, only to be told that we had been moved to a different hotel. I asked why, and was given a shrug of the shoulders and told it was an upgrade. We were given directions to Hotel Splendid and told that it was only 200m away, but it was a little further than this, uphill and 30degrees outside, we were not given any assistance to move our bags and arrived at our new hotel hot, sweaty and annoyed. I cannot fault the staff at Hotel Splendid who instantly helped us with our bags, the hotel is very nice, great staff, gardens etc, but it has no pool and is further away from the beach. We should have been informed prior to our arrival of being moved, especially as I had personally contacted the hotel the previous week to ask a question, if I had known I would have cancelled and booked elsewhere with a pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnOwl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very sorry that you didn't stay in hotel Komodor.

Unfortunately, we needed to make changes at the last moment because of the unpredictable situations that happened. This was the reason why we offered an upgrade in hotel Splendid.

We hope that you will receive our apologies and that you will come back next year.

Once again, our sincere apologies.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    150
    54
    18
    21
See reviews for
41
159
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a great week in Dubrovnic, The hotel was pleasantly situated and in general very clean. Starting with our arrival we were disappointed that we were given a Double room when we had booked a twin room due to my medical condition. The receptionist was not helpful at the time in re-arranging this. The room was comfortable, however one danger was the STEP up into the shower room/toilet in poor light this was dangerous and I nearly fell into the toilet when I did not raise my foot high enough during the night. One other problem was that if you were in the bathroom and room 204 were talking or also in their bathroom you could hear every word or sound that they made, this could be very embarrassing. The good points are that the room was very clean room 203 and the lady cleaning the rooms was always cheerful and polite.
The food in the hotel was superb cannot fault it at all, I would however suggest that they change the sweets available in the evenings and give more variety over the week, i.e ice cream/jelly/custard ect.. The idea of a buffet Dinner is great with plenty of choices.
A nice touch was the bottle of water on our table each evening, the staff were excellent and always happy to please. One major disadvantage was not having a lager seated bar area or lounge, although we sat outside on the terrace some evenings which was great, when the evenings became chilly you wanted to go inside but their was no where to sit in comfort, so we made a hasty retreat to our rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a better view but the second floor is nice. However I would not suggest room 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review.

We are truly sorry that we didn't meet your expectations all the way.

Your comments and suggestions are appreciated and will help us to improve in the future.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great hotel friendly staff very helpful house maid Barbara a real star smiling and so cheerful,everyone is.The food and choices for breakfast and the evening meal fantanstic.The walks and scenery were wonderful cant wait to return so many sites to see and the history.really relaxed and chilled loved it.

Room Tip: Book rooms with balcony or terrace Double rooms have larger shower /bathroom than Twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvcyprus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr.,

thank you for writing this review, it means a lot for us and it is our guidance for improvement.

We believe that your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Rooms No. 117 & 118 are so damp that wet clothes never get dry there. If you suffer from asthma, you'd better not take them. Bathrooms require refurbishment. Staff is polite and helpful. Management is experienced and professional. However, they were not flexible at all to refund at least a part of the room rate when we decided to leave one day early because of the damp air in the rooms.
The beach is close. The old town is easily accessible from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 117 & 118, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sándor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very sorry that your stay in our hotel didn't meet your expectations.

We are planning hotel renovation in the near future, including these rooms you mentioned.

As far as you shorter stay, your agency (BOOKING.COM) didn't approve your request so we handled the matter the way your travel agency wanted.

We hope that you will visit us again and that you will be satisfied with your next vacation here.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great weeks stay here in late july and i must say i was impressed!
bed was comfy, there was a tv (which in reality was surplus to requirements) fresh towels every day, free beach towels at the pool side bar, toileteries black out curtains, shutters and blankets just incase you get cold!

food was good and plentiful, beer was a little overpriced however there was a supermarket literally 3 minutes walk away where you could buy it for 90p

bus stop was right next to the hotel where you could get shuttled direct to the old town (24 kuna return - well cheaper than glasgow) plety of places to eat and drink all the while you felt very safe.

location was spot on and i can see what people say about the rooms requiring a freshen up however they were clean and had a neutral decor and lets be honest you dont go on holiday to sit in the hotel room!

if there could be one down side to this hotel it had to be the strange veal concoction every night at dinner. the rest of the food was great!

Room Tip: rooms 112 to 115 are located pool side perfect if you come back and just wanna jump straight in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

Your feedback is motivating us and serves us as a motivation in the future because guest satisfaction is very important to us.

Thank you again and we hope that we will have a chance to be at your services in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Komodor hotel is not situated that close to the old town of Dubrovnik ( ou need to take a 15 minute bus ride into town), but the amenities it has makes it worthwhile to stay.
A lovely outside pool and sunbathing area,and a 5 minute walk to the "beach/coast".
Buffet breakfasts are fine...and we stayed for the buffet dinners too, as worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if possible, for a better view out the balconied windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your stay was satisfied and we do hope that you will visit us again.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recently had a week's stay at this hotel - very friendly and helpful staff. I was on the first floor and Barbara looked after all the rooms - such a kind and helpful person, I am a single traveller and she made me feel very welcome - as did all the others I have to say. Loved the terrace for eating meals, all very relaxed. Wi-Fi worked a treat in the foyer/reception area but is not available throughout the rest of the hotel - not an issue for me. TV does need updating but I did not watch much - just a bit of news. Gt bus service into Dubrovnik - lots to see. Lapad area is very nice with lots going on, restaurants/bars, beaches (rocky and pebbly) and places to walk. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: One with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for your review.

It is always good to receive a feedback from our guests which is a great motivator for our staff and constantly work to get even better.

Thank you again and we hope that your next stay will be as enjoyable as this one was.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#59 of 68 in Dubrovnik
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Property: Hotel Komodor
Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing