We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good basic base”
Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you are interested in visiting Dubrovnik this hotel is a good basic hotel to be based in. Dont expect 3*. But saying that the hotel is not as dire as some reviewers make out. Rooms are kept very clean and the food is nothing special, but then again quite edible. The service is ok nobody bends over to be helpful but if there is any problems they do help. The cleaner Barbra is the only member of staff who will go out of her way to help. The rooms are basic but ok. This hotel makes a good base to explore Dubrovnik as the local bus stop is just around the corner and the bus ride about 20 minutes to the city. In the 2 weeks we explored every nook and cranny. We travelled with Thomson and they only use the 1st floor for their clients. Because the British were all on the same floor and the doors opened out onto the swimming pool terrace with tables and chairs for each room we soon all made friends. In fact most people agreed it was the most friendly hotel they had ever visited. We have previously visited 2 other areas of Croatia and for the same price the hotels were of a much higher standard. I suppose because of the location, being so close to Dubrovnik you should expect to pay more. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and our holiday the last week in september and the first week in October 2012. One more thing to mention the mosqiitoes were very hungry so beware if you visit in early autumn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyrosie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is situated in the beautiful city of Dubrovnik in the bautiful area of Lapad. Directly across the road was a park that lead to the beach where we had some great time, including water sports and snorkelling. Also in the park on the waterfront was a very nice restaraunt with superb views of the bay. Lapad has a number of very nice places to eat, many with amazing views. the weather was very hot during our entire visit.
The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous and the restaraunt had a very good choice, particularly in the evenings at the buffet.
We had two rooms, one for us and one for our three teenage boys. Our room was functional, clean allbeit a bit small. The boys room was much bigger and had a balcony. The hotel pool was small and ther wasn't a great deal of sun bathing area.
We took trips to Bosnia (Mostar) and Monteneggro, both of which were great full days out. I'd advise travellers to book at the small agency a few doors up the road as we paid half the price of people booking through their travel companies.
Also available was a fantastic fun event, Segway riding from the hotel at the end of the road. We took the Dubrovnik Bays tour and saw some great places with super views whilst having agreat deal of fun at a good price.
Dubrovnik is a marvellous city, the walled city was a real treat although very hot during the day; an evening visit of the very frequent and reasonable bus that stops right near the hotel is a must. The scenery here is magically with strong Italian influences. The local people do tend to have 'an unfortunate way' about them, appearing stand offish, rude and willing to push in any queue they come across! I will reiterrate at this point this does not apply to the hotel staff.
The Komodore is a great place in one of my favourite places in the world and I certainly would go back to both, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony pool side for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YJJTT1131230529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My friend and I booked a room with a balcony. When we got to the hotel we were given a room that had NO BALCONY. Not only that the ceiling was very high and there were two small windows up so high that we couldn't see look out. The curtains were ludicrous. They were dark and hung from ceiling to floor and this made the entire room dark. Someone else also booked a room with a balcony and did not get one. He complained and they did find a balcony room for him, but said they didn't have any more available. We are in our 80's and would like to have rested in the room sometimes, but it was so unpleasant we had to go out all the time. When we were in the room, the only entertainment was a small, black TV, probably about 30 yrs old and there was nothing we could watch because we didn't speak the language. We won't stay at this hotel again and wanted to warn other travelers they may not get what they book.

Room Tip: Before you go, double check that your room type will be what you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunJup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just got back from the Komodor Hotel, stayed for one week Sept 9th-16th and were a party of four.

We had room 105 and 106, both had big balconies and were very clean. Yes the rooms are a little dated but does it really matter as long as long you have somewhere to hang your clothes and a comfy bed to sleep in ( our bed was a king size ) and the water was always hot.

The food ( we stayed half board ) was always good with a lot of choice and what could be better than being able to sit outside on a warm evening and enjoy a relaxing dinner.

The one thing that stands out with this hotel is the staff, they really care for your comfort and nothing is too much trouble.

A special mention for our maid Barbara who was so nice to us and looked after us so well even giving us clean towels every day.

To find a Hotel that gives service like this is like going back twenty years when you were a person and not a room number.

Thanks Komodor for making our visit to Dubrovnik outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyderbyshire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed in this small hotel for a short break 1st to 4th September 2012. Rooms fairly basic but had all the essentials. We were a group of 4 and 2 were lucky enough to be given a room with a balcony. Very friendly staff and very good service. The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location. It's just a few minutes walk to the bay which has a lovely uncrowded beach and a good selection of restaurants. The hotel is located in the district/resort of Lapud - about a 10 minute journey by local bus to the old town. The bus stop is just round the corner from the hotel and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a bus. Buy the tickets from the hotel and just push your ticket into the machine as you get onto the bus. It couldn't be easier. Breakfast in the hotel was all self service but there was plenty of choice.

A MUST is the 3 islands boat trip - a real 'island hopping experience'. Plenty of time to explore each island and swim in the sea. Lunch is cooked on a barbecue on board - fish or chicken. Opt for the fish as the chicken was overlooked. Book with the lovely lady nearest to the hotel. Turn right out of the hotel, cross the road and the desk is on the right. Meet at 9.30 back at 6.00 pm - a very relaxing day and all for 220 kunars (about £22) including lunch and all drinks!

The only disadvantage is that the hotel is close to the road which cn be noisy if you're eating outside. But you can't have it all and it wasn't too intrusive. I think most rooms are on the back anyway.

All in all a great short break at low cost.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RitaLawzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I were there for 2 nights and found nothing wrong with the hotel. It is the oldest hotel in Dubrovnik so keep that in mind; a little vintage feel. The staff were very kind and friendly and the complimentary breakfast was sufficient. It is right across the street from the Lapad beach ad the bus stop is right around the corner so you can take the bus to the old town. The front desk will sell you the tickets, but if you like to walk and explore you can get there in under an hour. We decided to walk back and it was absolutely lovely! The beach has a walkway that takes you to a lt of restaurants and vendors and you can walk all the way up the cliff for a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beenaroundtheworld40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My partner and I have for the last four years booked with Thomsons staying in small and friendly hotels and have always been satisfied. We were under the impression, that the days of reputable travel agents booking inadequate accommodation had passed, alas this was not the case.

Initially my partner and I had booked a 2 week stay at the Hotel Komodor but transferred to the Hotel Spendid. We had booked a balcony but found ourselves booked into ROOM 101 (to be avoided at all costs). On entering the room it was so dark all of the lights had to be switched on, it was like a prison cell. We opened our patio doors to find they opened out onto a terrace with sunbeds directly outside of our room, therefore no privacy at anytime during the day so subsequently at no time could we open the shutters on the doors to let any light in. The only comment I can make about the bathroom is that I have seen bigger bathrooms in a caravan!!

After 2 days of constant traffic outside of our room and darkness, we requested a move to an upper floor and was told that this was impossible as balconies were not up to Thomsons health and safety standards. The attitude of the Thomsons Representative was "well you only sleep there". If she was saying this to a twenty something who had booked into a hostel I could understand but not to two fifty four year old people that value their privacy. The rep after more complaints agreed to move us to the side of the hotel but not until the end of the week.

Every morning at 5.30 am we were woken by a rowdy group of guests returning from a night club who decided to carry on their drinking and chatter on the terrace directly outside of our patio doors, regardless of the other guests within the hotel. The hotel staff staff were aware of this and yet did nothing to defuse the situation.

The brochure uses the wording "plush carpets" to describe the furnishings within the hotel. Our room had a cheap cord carpet that was in places BALD!! Wardrobe door handles were broken and light bulbs did not work. The sanitary ware was wiped over every day although the floor remained untouched for a week both in the bathroom and the bedroom.

The reception area had a definite smell of Tom Cat urine, whist the bar was like a doctors waiting room. The hotel is devoid of any atmosphere or ambiance. The terrace where meals are eaten is directly onto a main road, therefore traffic is constantly whizzing past you. As for the piped music, to be bombarded with pop music at every meal did nothing for my digestive system. The food could be described as adequate, though never served piping hot. A response from bar staff when requesting ice in glass one day was "you can have it this time, but next time we will charge you". I only wanted to add the ice to a glass of water I was drinking - UNBELIEVABLE.

The hotel had a swimming pool and for the first 4 days nobody swam in it,not even the children as the water was so unbelievably cold despite a heat wave. No explanation from the hotel staff was given. On the fifth day the temperature of the water had risen.

After a week, Independently we visited all of the sister hotels of the same star rating and found out that they had empty rooms. Both hotel management had no objection to us transferring, the only people who tried to block this move was the Thompson Representative and her Manager. After a heated "discussion" we did eventually move to the Hotel Splendid. The Manager of the Hotel Komodor not only took us and our luggage to the new hotel, he commented that the Hotel Spendid was by far a better hotel. In later discussions with the Thomsons Rep she agreed that the 3 star rating on the Hotel Komodor was incorrect and informed us that she felt it would not appear in next years brochure.

The Hotel Spendid was a different world. Lovely light rooms, clean airy bathrooms, a shaded private balcony with magnificent views. Shady terraces and gardens and attentive, pleasant staff who could not do enough for you. Although the hotel did not have a swimming pool its grounds led directly onto a pebbly beach.

I feel that weI have been cheated out of a weeks holiday as the first week was so stressful and a lot of money was spent on trips and actually avoiding the hotel for as long as possible. We will be seeking a refund from Thomsons.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 101 and 102. If you have booked with Thomsons you will have no choice and will be alloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ONEILL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#39 of 68 in Dubrovnik
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $56 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing