We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time at Villa Dubrovnik”
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic time at Villa Dubrovnik”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Dubrovnik and its surrounds has all the beauty and grandeur of the French Riviera. The Croatian people are warm and gracious, and the Villa Dubrovnik brings a Mediterranean sensibility to the Adriatic.

The Villa is truly beautiful and elegant. You enter through an elevator on the street level, which takes you down to a modern courtyard and glassed hotel entry. Perfect seclusion for "celebrity" guests. The staff is excellent and gracious; very service minded. As a small hotel, they really get to know each guest and their preferences. The Guest Relations manager, Matina Durovic, is a standout. Charming, thoroughly capable and totally plugged into the community she goes above and beyond to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of her guests. She arranged the best tables for us at all of the restaurants we visited. And, by the way, the food in Dubrovnik is superb (fresh seafood and produce beautifully prepared) and it was great fun learning the wines of Croatia. The Villa has a small but first class spa, and Inez is an incredible masseuse. She kindly rearranged her schedule so we could see her for a second time during our trip. The rooms are contemporary and well appointed with beautiful views and fantastically comfortable beds. The Villa Dubrovnik has beautiful al fresco dining options, and the Proscuitto and Wine Bar located on the roof is the perfect place to have a pre-dinner cocktail and watch the sun set over the Old City.

The location of the Villa Dubrovnik is ideal, being a 15 minute walk or boat ride or 5 minute drive from the Old City, which is a UNESCO World Heritage site for good reason. During the day, however, the Old City can be a bit much: hot and crowded with cruise ship tourists; so it was lovely to be able to relax at the Villa's private "beach," which is actually an outcropping of rock with access to the sea via a few steps. The view from the beach is extraordinary: Lokrum Island right across the way; the Old City in the near distance; and the brilliantly blue crystal clear water of the Adriatic all around.

We gave a couple of notes to Matina to make the Villa more of a 5 star experience, many of which she told us were in their winter plan: complimentary bottles of water by the bed each night; more handrails leading down to the beach; adding some heavier weights and a vectra system to the gym, etc. And, as other reviewers noted, the wifi is spotty.

We loved Dubrovnik and our stay at the Villa Dubrovnik. In addition to discovering the Old City in the late afternoon and evenings (walking the city walls is a must do), we chartered a day boat to visit the Elafiti Islands, and also went to the town of Cavtat (beautiful small resort area with a port, close to the airport) for lunch. My in-laws also enjoyed exploring nearby Montenegro with a hired car and driver; and took the cable car ride up to the hill overlooking Dubrovnik to visit the War Museum there. We can't recommend Dubrovnik and the Villa Dubrovnik highly enough and are planning a return visit in the not too distant future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DCL1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear DCL1050

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind words following your recent stay at Villa Dubrovnik. I am so pleased that you had the opportunity to share Villa experience with your family and that we were able to create some wonderful memories for them.
Providing the highest standards of service is something we all take great pride in here at Villa Dubrovnik and we endeavour to make every guest feel truly special. I am glad you took the most advantage of our location.
Thank you also for highlighting the Proscuitto and Wine Bar ambience, as the best place to enjoy the sun set over the Old City.
Thank you for also taking the time to mention Matina and Ines, I look forward to sharing your comments with them along with the rest of our team.
I appreciate your recommendations and note for the improvements which we will definitely put into the winter plan and implement it for the next season.

Sending you warm regards to you and your family and looking forward to your next visit.

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    112
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
111
475
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A beautiful ultramodern hotel on a cliff opposite the ancient city. Typical clientele second marriage businessmen. Vaporetto water taxi service to city a big plus although mysteriously it doesn't run at peak hours when you want it (9am, lunchtime, 8pm). Staff pleasant and with a refreshingly individual (noncorporate) attitude. Unfortunately several straightforward concierge requests met with 'that's not something we can do' (equivalent of the Gallic Shrug in found in other parts of Europe). Food good but not 5-star. Be aware (1) not all rooms have city view (2) in high season enormous cruise liners tend to anchor overnight opposite the main terrace. A very good hotel but not quite 5 star (yet?).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artyemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear artyemm,

Thank you for sharing your experience on the Trip Advisor site following your recent stay at Villa Dubrovnik. Providing the highest standards of service is something we all take great pride in here at Villa and we endeavour to make every guest feel truly special. .

I was deeply concerned to read that you did not experience it at the best.
Please rest assured that the matter has been addressed to the mentioned departments.

Your experience is not representative of our usual standard of service and I do hope that you will reconsider and return to our Villa as I am sure that we will fulfil all your needs.

Kindest regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Upon arriving at the airport, Villa Dubrovnik had their own driver meet us and take our luggage to the air conditioned car. It was 95 degrees F, so that was nice. A short 30 minute drive to the hotel and you are there. The hotel is located on the Adriatic Sea and it has been finished just three years ago, spectacular may not be enough of a description for the fantastic stetting. You are on the water, the rooms are all facing the seas and islands, and when you want to go into the old city, your launch is located at the hotel dock. Our room was sensational, the food incredible, we dined both breakfast and lunch there and the staff was superb I highly recommend Villa Dubrovnik

Room Tip: The second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homerun183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear homerun183,

I genuinely appreciate your comments about the level of service experienced at Villa Dubrovnik. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed Villa Dubrovnik experience and that we were able to create some wonderful memories. The Perfect Arrival is one of the ways we make our guests feel truly special. My team is dedicated to providing exceptional levels of service and it will give me great pride to share your wonderful feedback with them.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Villa Dubrovnik is a luxury 5 star hotel that is priced on the high side but its location, design, level of service, and proximity to Old Town can't be beat! From the moment you arrive, you feel as if you are in for a treat! You access the hotel (which is below street level) via an elevator or stone staircase. The views from every room are spectacular. Food was amazing as was service throughout the hotel. The beach area is really different. It is set on rocks with lounge chairs scattered about. It, too, has a service attendant who will help you with anything you might need. You can even order food and drinks and not move from your chair.
Two things that the hotel can work on: WiFi service was terrible and the pillows were horrible!
Overall, this is an amazing spot and if you can afford the room rates, it should not be missed!

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms that are closest to the hotels pool. Not as secluded as the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferntos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear ferntos

Thank you for the extensive and wonderful feedback after your recent stay at our Villa Dubrovnik.
I am pleased to hear our staff provided you with outstanding service as we pride ourselves in exceptional service.
I am glad that you have recognized our service on the beach as outstanding one. Our aim is to provide the best the best everywhere.

I appreciate your feedback for WiFI and pillows , which we will take into consideration for improvements and to be even better.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Villa Dubrovnik is in a beautiful setting and feels luxurious and well kept from the moment you arrive. Staff are fantastic, always friendly and about to help.

The view over the water and looking towards the old town is stunning and worth a trip/drink up on level 5.

We had a Deluxe room which was clean and tidy. Two things probably let the room down. Firstly, our king bed was two beds pushed together, not ideal. Secondly, the tv is on a fixed stand in the middle of the room at the end of the bed. An eyesore if you arent there to watch tv (we weren't). Amenities were good and well stocked. Agree with the nescafe coffee comments in other reviews, you're paying a fair price to stay here so expect over and above standard.

The food is expensive but in the restaurant we had a fabulous meal. Beautifully presented, great service and one of our best wines from the holiday.

An area that I thought let the hotel down was the beach area. Paying an extra 25 euros to have a sunbed close to the edge is ridiculous. In a private hotel setting you shouldn't have to pay extra for the use when you've already splashed out on the stay there. Even if you are willing to pay, I think the perception this sends to guests isnt positive. The chairs are also tired and I watched some guests struggle with the sun shade covers.

Overall a good stay at Villa Dubrovnik. Made special by the view and food. What I dont think they deliver on is a special/memorable stay. We've had experiences at hotels where extra touches are given - fresh fruit or water by the pool, complimentary drink on arrival etc and its the extra mile that makes you want to recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planningatrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear planningatrip1234,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to our Villa Dubrovnik. I was delighted to read that enjoyed our location, setting and hotel's amenities.

I appreciate your insight on the hotel facilities and service and I can assure you that I will follow up on your comment with the rest of the team. I can understand your point of view regarding the charge for sun beds but the reason of doing this is not additional income. This is just a way to give someone the benefit of using the exclusivity of the first row. Everyone wants to be at the first row, and we firstly started to apply the concept of first comes, first use, but unfortunately some guests would just occupied those beds early in the morning with their things and would use it occasionally during the day. The others would complain on such behaviour and right to use. In order to resolve such issue, we applied the concept of exclusive use of the first row which is chargeable but includes special refreshment treatment.
I hope you understand our point, which is not about the additional income rather providing exclusive use and benefits of such place and service.
Since we have received several comments regarding the charge for sun beds this year, we will definitely review them all and find the best possible solution.
In meantime, I remain at your disposal for any details.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Dubrovnik in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let's start with the positives:
The views are great from the rooms, the bathroom has a glass wall which allows you to enjoy the view from the shower, which is a nice touch. The bath products are Bulgari.
There’s a complimentary hotel ferry (a little speedboat) which takes hotel guests to the old town and back. You can also rent this privately for a little tour.
The hotel itself looks quite new, and the spa is very good.

Negatives:
There are a few things which are essential to a luxury hotel, especially one that is part of the prestigious small luxury hotels of the world group. It's a shame as well because hotels like this tarnish the slh brand. The first major issue is that service here is really lacking. When we first arrived by car, there was no one to greet us – no valet, no one at the hotel door. Then even though I had emailed prior to our stay that we’d arrive early, they said it would take three hours for our room to be cleaned, which seems excessively long. We were fine to wait, but then no one took our bags and showed us around or advised us as to what we could do while we were waiting, so we had to ask for them to hold our bags and wander around to figure out where to go ourselves, which would be fair enough in a three star hotel but not in a hotel where you pay 500 euro a night. The guest experience really should be seamless and this unfortunately was not the case. It seems as though their staff does not get adequate training.

The second major issue is the poor quality of food – there were a few items that were good such as the croissants, and the caprese salad, but the rest of the food was really hit or miss and mostly quite forgettable. We actually were looking forward to going home to not have to deal with poor service people and to eat British food which is certainly not known to be good but which is better than what we had here.

Third is the lack of soundproofing. This was supposed to be a relaxing long weekend getaway and instead it turned into a stressful nightmare. On our last day there was banging coming from the room above us non-stop from 7am for the entire morning. I called the reception several times to complain and they acted like I was bothering them. They told me that they asked the other guests to be quiet but that they had kids, and they can’t do anything else, which again is not an acceptable answer considering the price we were paying. I finally spoke to the manager after all this and explained to her how top luxury hotels treat their customers, and so in the end we received a complimentary spa treatment which helped the situation but the entire trip it felt like we had to beg them for basic service and decent food, so staying here was not worth the hassle or the money. You definitely get less than what you pay for. It’s unfortunate because this place has great potential (both the hotel and Dubrovnik itself). Ten years ago when I visited Croatia it was amazing and unfortunately now it has become so touristy – perhaps the service industry here just takes it for granted that people will visit regardless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank thegypsyjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear thegypsyjetsetter,

Thank you for sending your report.

I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay as majority of our guests do.
In regards to this, I would like to make a comment on couple of points:

As per valet service and not showing you around I am disappointed with such fact since it is a part of our welcome service which each guest receive on their arrival. With such service we want to greet each guest and provide them with all information regarding our facilities and service. If we really missed that, please accept my apology for such service.

Regarding the noise from the upper room, my reception team has immediately reacted upon your call.

Concerning the early check in and late checkout, I have to say and emphasize that we never promise such thing since it is a subject to availability. During the high season we have many arrivals and departures at the same day, and we cannot promise something which we cannot deliver. We organize a housekeeping team to do their room cleaning according to the time list of arrival and departure in order to accommodate guests even out of set time. Our aim is to provide a service which exceeds guest’s expectation at any moment. I truly regret that we were not able to achieve that with you.

In regards to the noise from the upper room which woke you up early on your departure day, I offered you the special Spa treatment in order to relax before your leave.

Please accept my apology one more time for not experiencing our Villa Dubrovnik at the best as our most guests do. Due to such service we have more and more loyal guests each year.
We believe that you will give us one more chance and proudly become a member of our Villa Loyal Club.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent one week at Vila Dubrovnik. The view from the balcony and from the private beach was just amazing. Nice small rooms with air conditioning, small bathroom. Only a bathtub no shower and the bathroom was separated from the room by a glass which may be kind of a problem when you're a couple .. I kind of like my privacy ! The food at the restaurant was disappointing (the dessert was the worst!) and there isn't a wide range of things: If you're staying for one week you get easily bored .. The breakfast and the bar menu, however, are good.
The upside is the location and the modern atmosphere, the private boat to the old town and the nice staff- the downside is the food and the price. I was also a bit shocked when I heard that you have to pay an extra 50 euros if you want a front spot at the beach - when one night costs 300 euros per person you should be able to choose where you want to sit ! But great vacation !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bibi78switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear bibi78switzerland

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to our Villa Dubrovnik.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience and will be pleased to share your review with the team and discuss necessary improvements.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Property: Villa Dubrovnik
Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, MrandMrsSmith, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing