We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor family accommodation lets this stunning hotel down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Fens
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor family accommodation lets this stunning hotel down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location is perfect for visiting the old town, especially when the magical boat is operating.
The views back to the old town are perfect from the breakfast terrace.
The food is wonderful at dinner and pretty good at breakfast. Room service and lunch are average.
The shaded pool is wonderful.
The 'family' rooms were not suitable at all. The only rooms that you had to climb stairs to get to -not easy with a buggy. The internal layout was poor; very steep stairs with glass and no handlebars, pokey and dark rooms with no view. A verranda overlooking the toilet ( no blind!) bizzarely only 2 coffee cups provided for 6 guests. Loved the wendyhouse in the garden though.
These rooms are not worth the premium and should not be sold to families with small children.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    109
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
109
456
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The first glimpse of the hotel from street level is the futuristic cube housing the lift which gives but a taste of what awaits below: a highly modern, recently refurbished, luxury hotel. The lift doors open onto a dazzlingly white courtyard overlooked by stone walls, inset with the hotel logo (which suspiciously resembles Versace’s) and the glass-walled reception area manned by smiling, efficient staff. After check-in, another glass fronted lift whisks most guests to their various floors, into which soothing music and freezing air-conditioning is continually piped.

All rooms come with sea views, though the swimming pool/reception wing rooms don't have a view over Dubrovnik. Our deluxe room was spacious, modern and well laid out, with wood floors and fine linen. The bathrooms have a glass partition, so you can watch the sea (and the numerous cruise ships at anchor) while shaving or having a bath and come with either a walk-in shower or bath, a bidet, one or two sinks and Bulgari bath products. The flatscreen TV stands at the end of the bed and can be rotated 360° (not that we were here to watch TV) and room lighting is discrete with good beside lights for reading. There’s also an in-room safe, wifi (you need to apply for the password) and a coffee/tea maker. Additional touches were the sweets left on the pillow each night and the slippers/dressing gowns we could have made use of (but didn’t, it being 30°C).

The airy rooftop bar is a superb place from which to watch the sun set over Dubrovnik’s old walls. By contrast (and if you opt for the bed and breakfast option) breakfast is taken on the ground floor under shady, old pine trees with a choice of outside or inside tables. The rugged coast surrounding the hotel has been levelled out with individual platforms and provided with sun beds and parasols and the sea is crystal clear. The swimming pool is disappointingly housed inside on the ground floor and it isn’t big, though I suppose it is perfect for off-season stays. There are a couple of other beaches (with sand, sun beds and kayak rentals) a short walk from the hotel.

Villa Dubrovnik lies to the South of the old town, along a shady, narrow, walled street (which contrary to appearances isn’t one way), but a Venetian vaporetto and various hotel cars/minibuses ensure a safe and speedy transfer into town (75 Kuna return, at least for the boat if I remember well) although the castle walls (which are visible from the hotel) are in any case but a short 10 minute walk away.

There were a couple of niggles, namely that the beside light switch was located too far from the bed, the air conditioning had to be reset if the door was left open (which necessitated a call to reception), the wood floor could have been better cleaned, the bath was deep and required an athletic step out (OK for us but not for anyone older or with disabilities) and the service at breakfast was slow (getting coffee or tea both originally and as refills was almost impossible, clearing away the tables was laborious and the fresh fruit went fast and wasn’t always replenished).

The atmosphere here (at least during our stay) was refined, relaxed and soothing. Sleep quality was excellent and the staff were polite, smiley and eager to please. We would recommend Villa Dubrovnik unconditionally and would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in April this year in a room overlooking the sea.The view is really quite spectacular allowing a view of the old town and the surrounding sea and adjoining island. We had a degustation dinner at Pjerin restaurant and it was all it promised to be. The meal itself was of a very high quality and the staff were, at all levels, both helpful and courteous.
The room is definitely 5 star quality with every facility one could wish for. The al fresco breakfast was of a very high quality and, as it was Easter, we were able to sample Dalmatian Easter food.
The hotel provided free boat travel between the old town and the hotel in a Venice built and laminated timber finished boat.
I am really reluctant to crtiicise anything at this hotel. However, the ownership/management was apparently quite new when we stayed there and on the evening of our degustation dinner, the owner held a birthday party which was very noisy with children running through the cocktail bar (beautiful views of the old town again) and restaurant. Unfortunately, the ambience of the evening was quite spoilt by children running through the restaurant and because we needed to keep our balcony door shut on our return in an attempt to keep out the noise. We ate elsewhere with our Secret Dalmatia (highly recommended) guide on the other evening. Hotels of this quality should be able to ensure that their guests are first priority as our dinner was definitely adversely affected by the uncontrolled children.
Having said that, I guess that this was just a "one-off" and it would not stop us from staying at the hotel again should we return to Dubrovnik.
We had taken a Seabourn Cruise on Seabourn Odyssey from Istanbul to Athens prior to going to Dalmatia and, to our surprise, the ship actually anchored virtually right outside our hotel room. The whole scene was quite spectacular.
Despite one inconvenience, it was a great stay at a great hotel.
We made no complaint about the noise etc and nor have I adjusted our ratings for this hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Villa Dubrovnik. After looking at reviews & websites of most 5 star hotels in the area, settled for this as I prefer smaller hotels & the review & pictures were great. Did my reservation via email, was quite straight forward, got sent an email to confirm the dates I requested & price, got comp breakfast which was a lovely touch.
Arrived hours earlier than the normal check in time, it was not a problem, sat for drinks at the bar for about 20mins and were then showed to our room, 4th floor (same as the reception) with a good sized balcony & breathtaking sea view. it was the Deluxe room, which was smartly spaced, very comfortable bed and a nice shower. Spent most of our days at the pool or by the sea, very lazy days & loved it!
The first couple of evenings we ate at the hotel restaurant. Now, this was a bit of a let down as the setting was beautiful, very cosy & the staff were lovely & helpful, but the food just lacked a little something. I expected more as the cost is like going to a top restaurant in london. The portions are not generous & it was quite bland. A must try is the "Chocolate harmony" desert, if you have a sweet tooth.
They did offer a complimentary boat shuttle which takes the hotel guests to the old city, tried a few good restaurants there. The boat adds a romantic touch. The last few days of our stay the boat was cancelled & we were given no reason or explanation, a let down again!
The spa is great. We had a few treatments, great facials & massages. Steam room & sauna is as you'd expect in a top hotel. The spa therapist where relaxed, easy & quite helpful in deciding what treatments suits.
All in all, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelmaequi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our stay here. We stayed on the third floor, 317 with a view of the old city and the sea. It was gorgeous! We arrived late because of airplane issues and was greeted by a pleasant staff. We went to dinner when we arrived at the hotel restaurant, Pjerin, famished after traveling for many hours but was pretty disappointed with the outcome. The staff was very friendly but the food was a bit lacking. We enjoyed the breakfast delivered to our room each day which we set up on our balcony and watched children swimming in the crystal clear sea. Swimming in the sea was so refreshing and trips by venetian boat to the old city was so romantic and quite a nice touch. This is a service provided free for hotel guests. We are looking forward to our return to the beautiful city of Dubrovnik and this amazing hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights in late July on a trip down the Croatian coast. The hotel is outstanding on every level: service, rooms, location, food.
We stayed in a standard room which had a fantastic view over the sea and to the old town. The room is simple, but well thought-out with a nice bathroom, big balcony, comfortable bed. For anyone who likes diving into the sea from rocks, the hotel 'beach' will be a big plus, and it has been designed to be comfortable also for anyone who likes a more gentle entry into the sea. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - both were of the standard you would expect in this kind of hotel. The boat service to the old town was also a real bonus.
One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in (on par with Vigiluis in the Alps), will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreidaBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We went here for a long weekend over May bank holiday.Beautiful hotel in stunning location.The weather was not very good,it rained quite alot but the service at the hotel was fantastic.They always had a car avaliable to us whenever we needed it.We walked a few times into the town takes about 20 mins gentle stroll.
Dubrovnik is beautiful we had been before on a day trip & walked the wall then,it is worth doing for the view.
This time we went out on a boat trip around the coast,interesting guide who was involved in the civil war & was very informative.Was quite choppy on the way back as the weather turned quite bad so was a little scary at the time!!
We had breakfast at the hotel,lunch one day & dinner one evening.Everything was great but at dinner it was very quiet so not much atmosphere,Im sure in high season it would be better.
The swimming pool was fantastic,I had it to myself on the couple of occasions & gorgeous views fro the terrace.Also had a full massage at the spa which was very good,recommended.
Our room was beautiful,apart from I was not too keen on how the shower was positioned,but a very minor niggle.
All in all great hotel fantastic staff & amazing location.Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.3 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Property: Villa Dubrovnik
Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing