We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good! Average standard”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Stadsbygd
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location good! Average standard”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel has a great location on the pebble beach - and that's great! The staff was positive and serviceminded. But the hotel is old and worn and there is no doubt that this hotel is from the old east european Yugoslavia. We were there in July and it was, in our opinion, too much music and noise on the beach. Both in the daytime and in the night. Unfortunately, this actually made our holiday a lot less relaxing that it could have been...

Room Tip: Seaview is great - but in the high season - it might be more quiet on The back....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with hotel location and hotel staff.

Beach in front of the hotel is public beach and we can't control the noise coming from it during the day, and in the night the noise is coming from the other hotel across the bay which is not a part of our hotel group.

We will do our best to improve hotel standards till the next time you come and visit us.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    222
    179
    77
    69
See reviews for
76
306
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have just arrived back from a fantastic stay in Lapad. Very pleased with the hotel. On arrival to a clean, spacious reception area, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff(who had left us a nice wee bottle of wine in our room for our honeymoon). Our room was extremely clean and well maintained with excellent air condtioning. A few steps out of the back door of the hotel and we were blown away! The pebble beach and views of Lapad Bay greeted us every morning as we sat out eating breakfast(best to sit inside however if you do not like sharing your food with wasps!) The bar area was an excellent place to watch the sunset every night. By far the best views of the bay(and we walked around it A LOT so we know!) The hotel is located well for a nice walk around the bay both day and night taking in the scenery or popping in for a drink/lunch to one of the many bars. Very safe and very clean. The bus to the old town stops right outside the hotel also! Breakfast had a brilliant choice of fresh fruit, bread and pastries and the hotel also offer an evening buffet which is a good way of sampling some local treats! After reading some negative reviews after we booked (which I really don't understand! Some people are so fussy!) we were more than pleasantly surprised and will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends and family!

Room Tip: You can pay an extra £100 for a sea view, however you only have to go down a few steps out the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very proud that we contributed in wonderful honeymoon with our services.

Thank you for all the positive comments you made about hotel location, cleanliness, room comfort, food, etc.

Wasps are no longer a problem, we eliminated that problem from the hotel terrace.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that your friends and family will come to our hotel also.

Till some next time.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, with one of the best locations. Down the steps right onto the beach (Pebbles) Hotel is clean and bright. Staff very friendly and courteous. B'fasts - Plenty to choose from. We ate only 2 x evenings in the hotel restaurant - Very good. Rooms have Air-con, tv, en-suite shower over bath, and balcony. No fridge though which is a small minus point.
If I was to visit Dubrovnic again I would stay at the hotel Vis again. No swimming pool available nor any entertainment of any sort within the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffTile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for choosing our hotel and our city for your enjoyable holiday.

We are truly glad to see that you were satisfied with hotel location and thank you very much for all the positive comments you made about hotel staff, food quality and hotel cleanliness.

We will make an effort to install small fridges in hotel rooms.

Thank you for your trust and we hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The best things about this hotel is the location and the staff! The staff is very friendly and helpfull, they try to help you in every way they can, and sometimes more than that! Breakfast is better than we had before around the medetiranian and the Adriatic Sea, but you should try to get there in time, the seem to stop stocking up the last hour. The rooms are nice, basic and clean, they are what you expect of a three star hotel. Don't miss the bar, quite, cosy and overlooking the sundown over the bay. The bus to old town goes right outside the hotel and takes about 15min, it's a 45min walk, nice and easy but hot! We got the Dubrovnik card, which is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are truly happy to see all the positive comments you made about our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied in our hotel.

Thank you for all the great things you wrote about hotel location, hotel staff and breakfast service. We will do our best to improve buffet offer at all times.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Hotel staff and Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The first impression of the hotel isn't great, however, once you settle in and the staff begin to know who you are they are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are basic but very clean with a tv and balcony. Bathrooms are very clean and showers are good. The terrace where you eat breafast and dinner has lovely views over the bay. Breakfast has a wide selection of croissants and bread as well as meat and cheese. Dinner is buffet style with a strange but tasty variety of foods. Even if you go half board you still have to pay for drinks at dinner which is a pain. Also even though a 'private' beach is advertised anyone can use it and you still have to pay for loungers (not expensive 70 kuna for 2). The location is prime with just a 45 min walk into the centre of Dubrovnik and a 2 min walk to a variety of ice cream places, bars and restaurants. I loved my holiday and would definately return!

Room Tip: when we arrived they gave us a double room even though we booked a twin room, however the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for an awesome review. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay in hotel Vis.

We hope that you will choose our hotel again next time when you come to Dubrovnik.

Kindest regards,

Niko
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köping, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a typical 3 star hotel in Croatia. It has a standard that is what you can expect from an " Ex eastern Europe" country. The hotel has the best location on Lapad beach, nice and typical Croation pebble beach. On the down side is that, as a hotell guest, you have to pay for the sunbeds... The breakfast was better than expected. If you choose seawiew you will overlook the bay. I recommend that.

Room Tip: Third floor has best seawiew, but no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Kindest regards,

Niko,hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stays in room with view to rear of hotel, found the staff to be fine and mostly helpful and easy to deal with. Would have been good to have a small fridge just to keep sites cool, but had great bed, 5 ft, 6 inches wide, and very pleased with cleaning of room. Breakfast was spot on, mega better than place in Turkey went to two years ago. Evening meal was enjoyed on one occasion and really good selection.

Room Tip: Pity the daily bus ticket can't be used beyond one hour. Get tickets before boarding bus saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for returning to visit us after a long time. It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed in evening meal and clean room.
As far as daily buts ticket, we offer you Dubrovnik city card which includes bus rides and tickets for the museums and city walls. This card is available for 1 day, 3days and 7 days.

Best regards
Niko,hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#47 of 68 in Dubrovnik
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing