We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafront location and good personal service”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed in some 5-star club level places which lack the service of the Vis, a mere 3 star! Great location, nice food, although the dinner buffet reminds you that this is 3 star. Only wifi is in the lobby or bar, would be nice in rooms. Housekeeping very thorough and front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 619 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for a week half board at the Hotel Vis from 14 - 21 October 2012. When we arrived we were given room A2 which is a triple room with 3 single bed with a balcony and sea view overlooking the lovely bay of Lapad. Rooms were very pleasant and bathroom was clean. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. There was a gorgeous view from our balcony over the bay. Just below our room was the restaurant rooftop and beyond that the little pebble beach. As the beach curves around in a semi circle the water is not rough for swimming although the pebbles are rough underfoot but cheap footware can be purchased locally to protect your feet while swimming.

There are gorgeous sunsets over the bay in the evening and a very pleasant stroll can be had along the beachfront where there are little cafes and restaurants to have a drink while you watch the sunset.

Accross the road from our hotel there is a gym and beauty clinic in the hotel Vis' sister hotel. Also accross from the hotel is the bus stop to Dubrovnik's old town which is just 15 to 20 mins. Discounted bus tickets are available from hotel reception.

Food in the hotel is you average buffet style where everthing is laid out and you pick and choose what ever you want yourself. Food is average with a varied selection of different meat fish and vegetable dishes along with salads and a limited choice of desserts each evening.

Overall the hotel is pleasant and clean and we found the staff pleasant in our dealings with them. There is a bar which closes around midnight each evening where you can sit out overlooking the bay while having a quiet drink. There are three level to this hotel with a lot of steps leading down to the main entrance way from the road. Also there is no lift but a porter did bring our bags to our room for us when we arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank easy_livingDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here in oct 12 , our sea view was blocked by a palm tree , but we didn't spend much time in the room . The room was nice and clean , the bed was squeaky but so very comfortable. The reception staff were nice , friendly and helpful , thank you , our room would have benefitted by having a fridge and tea /coffee making facilities in the room which would be a must in the high season , but we had a fantastic time . The bus stop outside the hotel to the old own every 15 minutes was as a bonus and the travel desk at the hotel was the best Lea's Travel to Lokram , 3 island trip and Montenegro were the BEST. The hotel was well situated to visit Lapad to see the visiting cruise ships and watching the world go by from the lovely port ,the old town a must to visit and the cable car and war museum well worth a visit . So much to see and do , a wonderful holiday . Can't wait to go back . Beautiful country and lovely people

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank nornimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

good hotel first impression .only fair.staff perfect .hotel opposite bus stop can get tickets in lobby from reception.so very handy.food in beach bar was very tastey.and so was good breakfast wasok .hotel was cleaned well every day.only fault with hotel was paying for chairs on beach and no elevator .other than that very good good ac too in rooms

Room Tip: beach view lowwer level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank munstermanTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was quite worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews but the hotel was perfectly fine and I would stay there again.

The room, which was an okay size, was newly decorated and did not look as if it had done a full season yet. The beds were comfortable and the AC was fairly quiet and very efficient, we did not have to pay extra for AC despite what one reviewer said. We had a park view which meant that we had the sun all day but the view wasn't wonderful, I would definitely go for a sea view next time.

The rooms were serviced daily and the whole place was immaculately kept, my one gripe would be that room cleaning started before breakfast ended and the time our room was done varied. This meant that some days it was done while we were having breakfast and other days it was done afterwards, on two occasions the maid was still in the room when we returned.

Breakfast itself consisted of a wide variety of hot and cold items, including cereal, yoghurt fruit, bread pastries, biscuits, cold meats, cheese, fish, scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. Some items were the same every day while others varied. We had lunch in the hotel twice and it was okay but a pit pricey, we did not eat in the hotel in the evening.

The beach in front of the hotel is okay but I would recommend walking around to the central beach where the sun loungers were much more comfortable and the sea has a sandy bottom giving a much pleasanter all round experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a sea view balcony with a fantastic view of the Bay of Lapad. It was truly beautiful. Room large and very soundproof. A little dated, but very good value. The hotel staff were very helpful and always smiling. Hotel is in a lovely location, handy for bus to Dubrovenik and lots of local restaurants were only a five minute walk. Also has a outdoor terrace overlooking the sea. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at hotel Vis during October 2-7, attending a conference in another hotel near by. Since the reviews are contradicting, I wasn't sure on what to expect, but everything was really good.

The first thing you have to bare in mind is that this is a 3 star hotel, so you cannot expect or demand amenities that you would find in 4-5 star hotels. Moreover, since this is a highly touristic area, you have to book early in order to get good room prices (or prices reflecting 3 star hotel).

The hotel itself is located in a bay, offering fantastic view and a semi-private pebbled beach. There is a pedestrian street near-by, with a variety of good restaurants and coffee shops.

The rooms are quite basic, with renovated bathrooms. They look a bit tired, but they were spotlessly clean (which I value more than a flat-screen tv), as the cleaning ladies did an excellent job all the days of my stay. The only thing I regretted, was that I booked a room with garden view (actually it was overseeing the parking lot), assuming it would be more quiet. Well it was, but the view from the sea-view rooms is breathtaking and, in addition, the sun was on my room for the whole day, forcing constant use of the AC. Go for a sea-view room!!!

As for the food, starting with breakfast, it was tasty but pretty basic and I really missed some baked cakes, but for a 3 star hotel it was more than enough. For lunch I went a couple of times at the bar above the beach, which I found a bit pricey for what it had to offer. But both the beach bar and the hotel bar offer amazing view at the bay in front of the hotel. Dinner was a pleasant surprise, since there was an open buffet, with a great variety of soups, salads, meat, seafood, pastry and fruit. Don't expect a fine dinning experience, but everything I tried was really well-cooked, tasty and fresh.

The staff was quite helpful and professional. Starting from the front desk, which were really helpful on a problem with my debit card, moving to the waiters at the restaurant that were attentative and discreet, to conclude to the servers at the hotel bar, who struggled to serve large groups of people every night.

Overall, it was a good experience, with respect to the price I got and the fact that this is a 3 star hotel. I would definitely return to hotel Vis when back in Dubrovnik...

Room Tip: Pick a room with sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#39 of 68 in Dubrovnik
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#46 of 68 in Dubrovnik
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $53 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing