We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,240)
Filter reviews
1,240 results
Traveler rating
341
507
263
94
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
341
507
263
94
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team meal times maro club kids disco the bus family friendly hotel pool area water aerobics old town table tennis copacabana beach other hotels family room sea view three star restaurant staff turn right
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 1,240 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We have used Valamar Club Dubrovnik for the last six years staying for between two and three weeks on each occasion. We are a family of 5 our children are now 11, 9, and 7.

The hotel, and in particular the staff and the way it is run are the reason we return year after year. Our children talk about this hotel and returning to it on a fairly regular basis all year round.

We visit many hotels every year as we travel the whole Croatian coast to get to and from Dubrovnik but we have not found anywhere quite like this.

From the well kept gardens to the fantastic children's facilities and well positioned swimming pool everything is kept clean and tidy. The staff are genuinely friendly and work really hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay.

The animation team also work really hard. There is always a varied mix of activities during the day and our children have always been well entertained and cared for by the Maro Club staff. Our children have also all taken the optional swimming lessons offered here.

The variety and particularly the quality of the evening shows is fantastic. We have watched many production including We will Rock You, Cabaret, Grease, Cats and many more. Every show has been professionally choreographed, produced and staged.

This year is no exception, we have had another great holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sasa V, General Manager at Club Dubrovnik Sunny Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Dear guests,
Thank you for the great compliments and lovely words of support. It was a pleasure having you here again and we are so glad you enjoyed. We really look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Despite the awful experience at Luton Airport getting to Croatia, this was a wonderful week at the Valamar Club.
We booked the hotel shuttle to travel from the airport which worked well and were personally met by the friendly driver and taken the 30min journey to the hotel. Arriving in the evening, we missed dinner but they had plated a selection of cold meals in the dining room for us and because we were on 'inclusive lite' (basically full board with free meal time drinks), a selection of soft drinks, beer and wine were readily available. I could get used to this!

Our room had a sea-view the balcony which gave a wonderful view of the pool, beach and the sea, a further bonus was the passing of the cruise liners going to dock in Dubrovnik. The entertainment stage in the pool area can be noisy in the evenings if you choose to sit on your balcony but is easily silenced by the double glazed room doors for children or early sleepers. A better option is to go and watch the shows and while not the west end, the animation team do work hard to entertain (even after a full day with the children).
The restaurant is buffet service and the choice, range and quality is very good, although some core items are repeated daily there are always new things to try including freshly cooked fish at the grill or pizzas straight from the oven. Healthy note, they don’t serve chips.
The pool is spacious and clean, it is never too crowded and although they occasionally run out of umbrellas there are always plenty of beds and there are areas just back from the pool to lie shaded by trees. The animation team are always around and about finding children, introducing them to others and taking them off to various activities. The hotel is awash with children but they are never a problem thanks to the sterling efforts of this team.
The rooms are standard hotel fare and are kept spotlessly clean although unfortunately there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The room air-conditioning remains active even when the key card is removed and so is deliciously cool after a trip to the pool.
The WiFi node for the rooms are in the corridor and so the quality of the signal in the room can vary according to its position in the corridor. However, the public area WiFi is good and you could sit at the bar or poolside and receive a signal 5 times faster than a rural community in UK.
In summary, the staff are always pleasant and the hotel is spotless and certainly exceeds its 3 star rating. I would recommend the hotel as being best for families.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank John d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sasa V, General Manager at Club Dubrovnik Sunny Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for your amazing review! It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback about your stay with us and I will make sure to share your kind words with our entire team.
We appreciate all of your comments and I believe that our future guests will find your comments very helpful.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Valamar Club Dubrovnik hotel very soon.

Warm regards,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

This is a perfect destination/location. All the facilities you could wish for. Do as much or as little as you please. The pool area is great for all swimming abilities and was never too crowded. There's a full schedule of volleyball, Zumba, kids club etc to partake in. All staff speak good English and are friendly-helpful. We booked an island hop excursion via the hotel and it was a great day out at 400kuna for a child and adult. There's a small shopping area on the right of the hotel to cut trinkets, snacks, beach toys etc...at good prices. Actually cheaper than in the Old Town for souvenirs. Buy bus tickets from the shop and the bus stop is a 3min walk away up on the main road-number 6 bus. Takes about 10-15 mins. Rooms are clean and functional. Restaurant well stocked and clean. A lovely place-will try to revisit for sure!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Markhaggis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sasa V, General Manager at Club Dubrovnik Sunny Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving this nice comment after your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that we could exceed your expectations and would be very happy to welcome you back soon again!
Greetings from,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Valamar Club was wonderful!
First of all I would like to congratulate the Animation Team who made our stay very pleasant as in the evenings they would prepare great entertainment and fun and also in the daytime run clubs such as , a cycling tour, Aqua aerobics, a kids activity, tennis , dance and many many more!! On one evening the staff planned a very nice surprise which included tasty cakes and desserts which really excited our kids. They were very kind and helpful, especially Ana, who went out of the way to help our kids. As for the entertainment another animation member that stood out was the dance major. He was one of the main highlights of the dance shows. During daylight when music was playing, some days he would invite children to come and follow his dance moves on stage, my daughter had a go !! As for the food it was very tasty! A full on buffet was very nice.Breakfast was wonderful with a great variety of foods such as Nutella and pancakes, which my children adored , bacon, sausages and a wide selection of fruit cereal was also supplied with milk and as for an unlimited amount of drinks the stay made it even better, especially as the weather was firing up to 35 degrees!! As for lunch and dinner they were also a selection of yummy meals which included a grill which supplied burgers and fish.
The room was okay as at first the air conditioner didn't work and neither did the WIFI but after a lot of effort complaining we soon got to switch rooms which was the same size but had better internet connection and much better AC the room also supplied an outside balcony which was a double glass door. The little table outside was a nice touch which allowed us to have a great game of cards while relaxing in the sun!! As to the food I would I would like to mention the names 'Tvija' for being a very kind lady who was there everyday and also 'Mikey' who was a very smiley chef that had prepared brilliant food for us. Also from the animation team a young man called 'Demi' who gave us a brilliant full packed bike tour which taught us a lot about Dubrovnik. Another positive was the location. Two beaches were placed right underneath the resort although sun beds had an expense, the sea was a great opportunity for snorkelling and relaxing in the fresh, clear water. I would recommend this hotel to families who were looking for a relaxing holiday in Dubrovnik. The stay was brilliant and If I was ever to come back I would visit the Coral beach club.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank happyholiday125
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sasa V, General Manager at Club Dubrovnik Sunny Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

An excellent hotel for holiday for families with children. The staff is very friendly, always willing to help and making sure your stay is enjoyable.
The pool is clean with a reasonably warm water, the sea is at 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Perhaps the only negative point is that you need to walk a steep uphill when getting back from the sea to the hotel.
The restaurant offers a huge selection of food, from cold starters and salad bar to the grill point with fish and hamburgers. Add to that a separate restaurant for children with several baby seats and your children will love it.
The animation team offers several activities at nearby sport fields, pool and the Maro Club for children and the animators are really warm.
The hotel deserves that we will come back again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 788marekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sasa V, General Manager at Club Dubrovnik Sunny Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy that you found all aspects of your stay pleasant and enjoyable. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews