We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, but a bit out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent value, but a bit out of town”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had the all inclusive light package which was extremely good value for money. All meals and drinks (including wine and beer) at designated meal times. Buffet style arrangement which was quite extensive and varied each day. There was entrainment each night at 9.30pm after dinner with a Caberet style show for about 30 mins. The hotel has a nice cafe/bar area overlooking the sea, nice pool area, putt putt etc. Our room mainly overlooked the gardens but had slight sea views with a balcony. The room was spacious, comfortable bed. The bathroom was quite good except it was a funny shape which made it awkward to manouevre. The hotel is located out of town. It was about an hours walk from the bus station/port and was badly signposted and not at the same address location that was on our hotel voucher, so not a good start. We found out later the number 7 bus goes to/from but only one an hour. To get to the old town it's the number 6 bus and takes about 20 minutes. The walk to the bus stop from the hotel is up a bit of a hill, but only takes about 5 minutes to walk there. The hotel staff were all very helpful and we had an extremely pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a recommendation and nice review about our hotel here on Tripadvisor. Satisfied guest is our best asset in promoting our services and hospitality, and therefore it is of tremendous importance to receive such a nice feedback. Rest assured we will never stop improving our activities in order to create another unforgettable holiday for you and all future guests. I wish you all the best and hope to see you soon in our hotel.
My kind regards
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    347
    185
    58
    21
See reviews for
283
333
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here at the end of the season so it was very quite apart from a few coach parties that came for lunch. The views are amazing and depending on your room, you can lay in bed and watch the cruise liners come and go.

Food was very good with a fair selection and great terrace with a floor show of cats and a very fat dog.

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in for ages, would highly recommend this, as quiet and yet easy to get into town by car and only 15 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room it is well worth the extra. Also go for the full board basis as it is a fair wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fisher_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for writing these kind words about our hotel and for the recommendation here on Tripadvisor. It makes me truly happy to read you spent your holiday in its very best. I agree with you, the view on calm sea and cruise liners make unforgettable memory. I hope you will allow us to welcome you again on your next visit to Dubrovnik. Until then receive my best regards.
Sincerely,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel from the 17 to 24 October and really enjoyed it. While we would have liked a bigger room, I can honestly say the rest of the facilites in the hotel more than made up for it. I had booked a room with a sea view and the location of this hotel gave us a stunniing vusta out over the sea. True the hotel is a bit dated and oould do with a makeover, but that did not take away from our wonderful holiday. We were extremely lucky with the weather and woke up to beautiful sunshine every day with temperatures reaching over 25 degrees. The staff were lovely, very polite and helpful, particularly the manager in the restaurant, who was a real gentleman. I can honestly say I have never seen such an array of food for each meal in any other hotel. Not only that but the selection and quality were the best. Because the weather was so good people were able to dine outside which was very nicely set up. It seemed that the hotel was full judging by the numbers in the restaurant in the evenings..
There definitely was a bit of clamouring for food between 7-9pm but that was down to some rude people and nothing to do with the hotel. The grounds and pool areas are very well maintained and there are lovely walks adjacent to the hotel. Also there is a wonderful bus service to the old town of Dubrovnik, with buses leaving every ten minutes. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of entire Valamar club Dubrovnik staff, I would like to thank you for this thorough and positive review. I am happy to inform you and all the other Tripadvisor readers that this winter we are doing new improvements in hotel infrastructure in replacing room doors and implementing key card system which will, I am sure, have positive reflection on guest satisfaction. Your review is the best confirmation that we are doing good job as hotel, and I ensure you we will never stop improving and upgrading our service in order to create a memorable holiday for our guests. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. In the meantime please receive my best regards,
Sincerely,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel complex and were pleasantly surprised. they ambience of the grounds and the food more than made up for the size of the room. although very clean and comfortable 'no room to swing a cat' springs to mind. can't fault the staff or the abundance of food, local produce abounds, fish, shell fish and meat of all descriptions as well as an ample supply of salad and cheeses,. beer and local wine freely available. small complaint...the bar staff were a little laid back, ho, hum! i really enjoyed this place and would go back, the swimming pool, kiddies pool are complemented by a private stony beach

Room Tip: don't stay at the front of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trucker209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in Valamar Club Dubrovnik hotel. I am cheerful that you have positive impressions about hotel and service. But also I regret our bar staff didn't met your expectation, although they are one of our best employees who always create very nice contacts with guests. However, we are looking forward to host you again on your next visit to our city. In the meantime, please receive my kind regards and I wish you all the best in year 2014.
Sincerely
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very clean busy hotel food was quite good but lounge area was very small with a limited amount of seats and tables inside. Worth paying for a sea view room as some rooms are overlooking dark planted areas.
Staff were lovely, helpful and always ready to assist you with any queries.
In Dubrovnik eat off the main square at the smaller traditional restaurants. Neighbouring hotel has superb spa facilities that you can use at a small cost.

Room Tip: go on a number 6 bus to the old town bus every 15 minutes 12 kuna approx. £1.50 each bus station 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdie187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Allow me to thank you for your nice review here on Tripadvisor. It is always pleasure to read positive reviews about our staff. I truly hope we will be able to host you again on your next visit to city of Dubrovnik.
My best regards,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here from 6 to 13 October 2013 and found it to be a dated but lovely clean hotel and the staff friendly. Rooms cleaned every day and towels changed daily, free safe and hairdryer provided. Our room (3070) had a small balcony with a fantastic view of the sea and we spent hours watching the cruise ships and other boats passing by in the rain. Food was very good with a good choice of fresh cooked food, salads, pizza, etc, but you must be prepared for a lot of noise at mealtimes as a lot of the tables are set out in canteen style, evening meal times a bit early for us (7 to 9pm)
The reception bar at night for the entertainment was far to small, the bar only held about 75 people at a squeeze and the entertainment was spoiled by having to stand in the corridor.
Because of the poor weather we only spent one day by the pool, there is a large pool area with plenty of space and beds, a good size adult pool and a nice children’s pool. The grounds around the hotel are kept clean but were a bit overgrown.
Good location for visiting the old town which is worth spending a couple of days visiting, especially walking the town wall, bus every 10 minutes or so, either from up the hill in front of the hotel and across the road to the right, or down the path to the right of the hotel entrance, through the little shopping complex and past the other hotels to the bus station, tickets are available in the hotel foyer shop for 13Kn or pay on the bus for 15Kn.
All in all we enjoyed our stay which was slightly dampened by the weather, I am sure we will come back at some stage – but in the summer.

Room Tip: Choose room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigAl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Dubrovnik and for this nice review about our staff and entire offer.
I am delighted to read you had a nice time and that you fully enjoyed the see view which is, I agree, truly wonderful.
It will be my honour to host you again in the future.
In the meantime, please, receive my best regards
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just back from staying in this hotel with my husband and a group. Hotel was dated, could do with new decor. Was put in Rm 2058 which the sliding door opened out to a side wall of another room. Had to put my head out sideways to see the sea but not much so asked for a room change, got Rm no 4080 which was at the side of the front of the hotel, also dark as lots of trees which could be cut down to let in more light. The room was ok as when it rained it came in under the carpet at the sliding door. Good lovely hot water from the shower. Going down to the pool no hand rails at all as I found the steps a bit steep. Others who were older than me found the same. Restaurant - Queues too long for food. Should have had 2 counters of each food display.Tables on top of each other, too many people eating at the same time 7pm - 9pm. Could do with starting earlier at 6pm & maybe having 2 sittings. Food was almost the same at lunch & dinner, plenty of wine, beer & soft drinks on tap. Feral cats everywhere, some took a short cut from back of hotel through the reception to the front. Even had a dog wander in. The bar area small, few tables, dance floor tiny. Closed at 11 pm & had to leave as staff wanted us out. Will not be back at this hotel again. Visited their 4 star sister hotel nearby & it was a big difference. Suppose what you pay is what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,022 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an action-packed, fun holiday in Dubrovnik's only family hotel! The only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town, puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. You can relax by the spacious outdoor pool with a view of the sea or on the nearby attractive pebbly beach. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing