We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Grankulla, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds...”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a rejuvenating one week stay outside of Dubrovnik, a new destination for us. We chose Valamar Club for two reasons: (1) the ebooker agent got us a sizable discount as we were booking on line and (2) it had tennis courts. Unfortunately, all of the courts were taken all of the time by the Dubrovnik International Open organizers. This was very unfortunate. Also, the hotel was crawling with a wild combination of very aged French and young tennis players. The latter was very loud in the evening (the comment about the large dining room being acoustically very bad is absolutely true. While the second, smaller dining room is better for conversation, it has major ventilation problems...) The hotel itself is a very low 3*. It is going to have to make some major adjustments to its rooms very soon, in my opinion. The shower curtain was mildewed, repairs (to two doors in the room) had been shoddily done. The TV was not working (later fixed). Beds rather comfortable but linens not so. Food also very much in the low 3* category. Lots and lots of cabbage--too bad as with the gorgeous climate, we were expecting more Mediterranean.

Room Tip: It will pay to upgrade to a sea view, as we did. We were told that all rooms were the same size but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarbyRosengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements. We are glad to inform you that new hotel investments are being planned for year 2013 and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, when you will fully enjoy your stay.
Kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    327
    178
    54
    21
See reviews for
252
314
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Am currently staying here and writing this before breakfast! The views from the hotel are stunning - mountains lie across the peninsula as huge cruise ships saunter past. Definitely try and get a sea view - we were given one as a matter of course, off season advantages. The food is pretty good - 'live chefs'ccoming meat, pasta and pizza in front of you. Great selection of salad and traditional Croat and European fare. The swimming pool is huge and well worth a wintery(ish) swim - although still expect sunburn! There are shops on site but head past the nearby campsite and you'll find a cheaper supermarket with a better range. Would be good if there was a fridge and tea and coffee facilities in the room (and an English language movie channel) but thus is life. The number 6 bus takes you close to the hotel from town - just remember to ask the driver for the Valamar and you'll be fine. Overall a cracking hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougmorgan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we had a wonderful holiday in croatia and the hotel had everything for one needs food was great as was pool area plenty of sun beds beach was so near plenty to do we will come back to stay here again.i will also recommend to all family and friends the room we changed next day because we booked a balcony none available when we arrived

Room Tip: make sure u get a room with a view sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186605Angel137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel, it's staff and location are excellent and I have already recommended it to friends and family. The room was clean,the food was good and the hotel facilities superb. I booked on the 'all inclusive light' which as other reviewers have stated entitles you to 3 meals a day plus drinks either alcoholic or soft with your dinner and evening meals. I have stayed at other hotels on the same basis before and I haven't been overly impressed and I had decided that if necessary I would eat off site if the food was bad or mediocre. It was a pleasant surprise therefore to find it was nothing of the sort- it was fresh,plentiful and always well presented and the chefs and waiters and waitresses worked tirelessly and efficiently. Othe reviewers have commented that it get's busy and it does at peak times , my suggestion is to get in very early as the dining rooms fill up quickly.

All in all very satisfied with this hotel and it's amenities and all of it's hard working staff

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hameldaeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We took an allocated on arrival deal for the first time and all we knew was that we were 3 star half board...on arrival we were taken to the Valamar Club and, to our surprise, were informed that we would be semi inclusive which meant 3 meals per day plus drinks with meals..

The room was basic and smelled quite musty but was spotlessly clean and remained so during the week (thank you Maja), The hotel itself was typically Croatian (we half expected to see the little boy from The Shining cycling down the long wide corridors!). This is not a criticism as the facilties were excellent. The pool area was beautiful and we enjoyed a pre dinner drink every night in the Lobby bar in the company of either Toni or Suzana. The food was plentiful and varied although not exceptional.

The weather was perfect and Dubrovnik is just a 12 kuna bus ride away(The no 6 bus was an experience!). The bus runs to 1:30 in the morning for anyone wanting to have a night in Dubrovnik which is well worth it as the crowds diminish at night.

We took the water taxi to Cavtat which is a pretty, sophisticated little town and well worth a visit,

All in all, an excellent value holiday with no complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyGNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
We appreciate your nice words s about the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms and be sure that I will pass forward your compliments to Maja, Suzana and Tonči.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had few expectations as we had a very cheap deal for full board, but were blown away when we got there! The setting is lovely, beautiful view and a lovely pool with a little beach in a bay just beyond. The peninsular is green and wooded with a walk along by the water, and 15 minutes into the old city by a bus from the top of the road. The rooms are comfortable, not luxurious, with plenty of hot water for showers. The food was quite simple, with a wide choice for vegetarians and always fish options, and never ran out even if we were late to eat. The hotel is big and busy, but very clean- and the weather in the first week of October was perfect- warm and sunny and not too hot. Altogether a really good holiday!

Room Tip: We had a side room with no sea view and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for sending your valuable review on Valamar club Dubrovnik hotel, and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are very happy to read your positive impressions from your holiday in Dubrovnik.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is our last day here, at Club Valamar which is in a wonderful setting,we had the first week in October, weather hot and sunny by day (but we believe from the locals that this is not the norm)but a lot cooler at night.I don't want to repeat what others have said previously, but this holiday has been really good value.It's not grand luxury or haute cuisine, if you want that you can go to the larger sister hotels Valomar President or Valomar Lacroma but you will pay more, only be on half board, & you won't get the cosy, friendly atmosphere that you get from Club Valomar , we met and spent time with some lovely people. All the staff work constantly to make the guests' stay comfortable, entertainment is held down by the pool by the versatile, hard working entertainment staff.You'll have to wear a wristband to be able to have full board (their term being All Inclusive Light,which is not as we know it!)the dining room &kitchen staff work really hard, food is plentiful and constantly being refreshed, although some weird and wonderful concoctions but you have to bear in mind that they are catering for many different nationalities (& not a chip in sight)As a vegetarian I did struggle at first but managed to find plenty to choose from and enjoyed everything I had.It can seem to be a bit of a bunfight but once you get into the routine of securing your table by putting drinks on it and not both(if there's just the 2 of you)leaving the table at once to get your next course(the staff clear the tables very quickly!) you'll be fine.Get a card from reception to take to the pool for use of their beach towels. Take comfortable walking shoes to discover all the coastal walks. The beach is just below the pool but be aware that it's concrete, rocks, pebbles and shingle as most are in the area, not somewhere we chose to park ourselves, we stayed by the pool. Prices are very reasonable,the currency is Kuna(approx 8.5 to the £) but you will need euros if you do the Montenegro tour. Altogether a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, allow me to thank you for your stay in hotel Valamar club Dubrovnik and your nice review which is the best confirmation that we are doing good job. We are glad that you have recognized efforts of every department to make your stay unforgettable and I assure you I will pass forward your kind words to our employees.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel on you next trip to Dubrovnik.
In meantime, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 67 in Dubrovnik
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,089 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an action-packed, fun holiday in Dubrovnik's only family hotel! The only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town, puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. You can relax by the spacious outdoor pool with a view of the sea or on the nearby attractive pebbly beach. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing