We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic views!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel. We stayed B& B, the breakfast is buffet style with a good choice, take your Daddies sauce with you though! We ate 3 times in their restaurant, the food was nice but quite pricey especially the wine. There is a restaurant serving lunch and drinks again nice but not cheap. The pool is sea water and is freezing, you have direct access to the sea. ( not a beach) . There are quite a few steps up to the beach restaurant so not suitable if you have mobility problems. There were a few children there but I wouldn't take young children there as I don't really feel they are geared up for them. We used the spa facilities , including indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi. I treated myself to a treatment which was worth every penny! The old city is about a 10 minute walk downhill and a bit
longer on the way back depending how hot it is!! We did walk around the Old City Walls, better done early morning or early evening when cooler, again there are quite a few steps but worth doing for the views.. The views from the hotel are stunning. We had a classic room, clean but a little smaller than we thought and looked out onto the road but as we don't spend much time in there not really a problem. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay in this hotel again if we revisit beautiful Dubrovnik :)

Room Tip: I don't think worth paying extra for sea view unless you spend a lot of time in the room. Not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. Amanda L,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write nice review about our hotel.
I am very glad to see that you liked our hotel, especially staff, spa, breakfast and room.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    415
    137
    37
    21
See reviews for
170
764
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Bit late writing this review! We travelled to this amazing place last year (2012) and I totally fell in love with this area.
Hotel was amazing, the staff were brilliant, plenty of space to relax, only let down with the fitness room as it was tiny.
The sun terrace was a great place to unwind and read e paper whilst watching super yachts berth.
Used Thomson A La Carte service and felt very cherished as whisked away from airport in a merc, similar experience upon return home.
I would definitely re visit for a long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neveradullmoment50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Neveradullmoment50,


Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel! It is never too late to write a review..
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room and facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again sometimes in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just spent 7 nights here. The setting of this hotel is superb and it is fitted out to reasonably high standard; probably more akin to a UK 4 star level.  The room was reasonably spacious although I was somewhat surprised at the lack of tea and coffee making facilties in the room.  There was also a rather odd request to not use the fridge / Mini Bar to chill your own purchases.  (One can get however get around that with a little creativity.)  The room came with the promise of a sea view.  Ten years ago that view would have been stunning but large trees now block it to a degree.  I would dearly love to have had a balcony to sit out on at night because that really would have been the complete experience, but I didn’t. These are minor things mind you. Breakfast each morning was taken on the outdoor terrace and was very good.   The pool area and its close probably to the sea is, in my view, the hotel’s selling point.  The pool is aligned to the sea in an 'Infinity' type way although the levels differ by about 2m. Floating in the warm sea with the wall of the Old Town as a backdrop is one of life’s moments!  Mind you bar bill – it can mount up.  The pool side restaurant, a few steep steps up, Is expensive but very good.
 
This is without doubt one of the more ‘high end’ hotels in Dubrovnik so it was a little disappointing to be sucked into the rather low end practice of having to put your towel on a sun lounger every morning you wanted one.  If you tipped the pool attendants he would do it for you. I didn’t expect that for the price I paid.  A final word on location, the hotel is at the top of a hill.  If your fitness is in any way suspect you may struggle in heat. A taxi is an alternative but you will pay about £6 for ¾ mile trip!

Room Tip: Hotel is built on the side of a cliff. Reception on 6th floor. Bedrooms on floors 6 - 1 downwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostontea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bostontea,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write a review.
I am glad that we were liked our location and pool area.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel. Beautiful location and facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The sun terrace is great with salt water swimming pool and diving off the terrace into the clear blue sea. We booked with BA before Christmas and got a fabulous deal £1600 including flights for 2 for 7 nights with breakfast in August. We were in the modern part (room 210) a nice bright room with large sliding windows with a lovely sea view. The old city is only 10 minutes walk away and is a World Heritage sight so unspoilt and great selection of restaurants (The Dubrovnik in the Old City is a treat!). We walked the city walls - great views and takes about an hour. The cable car is great for a view of the old and new city. Boat trips around the islands are a must.

Room Tip: The new part of the hotel is better for brighter rooms and it is worth paying for a sea view. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Bearne,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
I am glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us again sometimes in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just arrived today booked through jet 2
Flight fab quick efficient
Holiday cost £2.500 for 10 days
Standard room
Couldn't check in until 2
Room no 617
Two windows with locked shutters on Main Street !!
Asked to be moved alternative room i opened window faced onto wall !!
To upgrade to room with view 100 euros
Waiting till 9.30 tomorrow to see if there is any alternative
Wish we had gone to Hilton which
We could have for same price
Had t share my huge disappointment with fellow trip advisors
On the plus side Dubrovnik town beautiful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyJDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. SuzyJDurham,

Thank you for your comment.
First of all we would like to express our regret that you were disappointed with our hotel upon your arrival. Unfortunately check in time is 14:00 and as we had huge departure on that day, we were not able to accommodate you in your room earlier. Also, hotel was fully booked on Sunday and Monday we were unable to offer you alternative sea view room immediately but the standard room that you have booked. That is the reason that you had to wait until tomorrow. We are glad that on Monday we were able to offer you sea view room per supplement of 50 euro per day. We still hope that you have pleasant stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

After debating which hotel in Dubrovnik to stay at for some time, we decided on the Grand Hotel Dubrovnik and were thoroughly pleased with our choice. We stayed here for 4 nights in room 616, a large room in the old part of the hotel with a sea view and a small balcony with views overlooking Lokrum Island. There was a large bed, good quality furniture, lots of space and a good quality en-suite. This room was almost on a level with reception, where there was a large lounge and bar area.

Breakfast was served on the floor below. It was a buffet service and had a good selection of hot items and the usual breads, croissants, cheeses and meat selections.

This was also the restaurant in the evening. There was a good menu serving food with an international style but with a Croatian influence.

The hotel had extensive grounds and gardens with lots of seating areas and a pool and sun-loungers at the bottom level. Views to Dubrovnik harbour and the Island of Lokrum were splendid.

The hotel was well situated for the short walk into the old town of Dubrovnik, with wonderful views of the harbour area as you walk down - much superior to any approach from the other side via the Pile Gate.

A top quality hotel and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen2853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Stephen2853,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
I am hlad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with your room and facilities of the hotel.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for just a week. Breakfast was excellent, on the terrace overlooking the sea. The small "beach" area was private and well supported by the pool side staff. If a bed is unattended just ask the guys and it will get freed up. Diving into the sea was a great way to cool off. Cocktails were a great way to start the evening. Don't go unless you are on a (very) large budget. As Dubrovnik is expensive anyway, why scrimp and go somewhere else when you can stay here. Only a short walk into Old Town. Hotel taxi a bit expensive but there are others 1/2 the price. Don't get the airport bus unless you are on a backpacking holiday. Don't expect to check in before 14:00 (be prepared and it's easy) and if the room smells of smoke then ask for another.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear PM0926,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel.
I am very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,968 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing