We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice quiet hotel with walking distance to Old Town Dubrovnik. Clean and nice rooms. Very good service and nice staff.
Nice pool and sea access with perfect view to old town. Not so good for children.

Room Tip: Choose sea view and not rooms x17,x18,x19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p_ternstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such extensive and detailed review about our hotel and for pointing out all your remarks.
Hotel buildings are most of the time nice and every hotelier tries to have appealing facilities, but thank you for poinig out that the greatest asset is our staff and people are the ones who make the diffrence.
We hope that you will stay with us again, if you decide to do so please contact us.

Best regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is all about location: fantastic view on the sea and Dubrovnik and a easy 10 minutes walk into the old town. Of course, all this does not come at a discount price. The decoration and furniture of the hotel is very old school, in good condition though. The standard rooms are not that big but the view is... Large outdoor breakfast and dining area, with the views of course. The breakfast has all you may want, including sparkling wine. Pool with sunchairs, but no beach. The staff was as expected for a five star hotel : very correct, a little bit on the stiff side.

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview, the rooms without are overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing review about our hotel!
You are correct the location is actually the best one in Dubrovnika and from our hotel it is easy to start exploring Dubrovnik historical centre.
We hope that you will decide to stay in our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We booked this hotel through Booking.com back in January for our stay last week. After reading reviews over the last few months I began to worry about our non-refundable decision as our confirmation noted we would be staying in the Villa Glavic section of the hotel. But it was PERFECT...yes, we crossed a two lane street to get to the main section (pool, restaurants) a trek of maybe 10 yards...but most rooms in Villa Glavic have a gorgeous sea view. The room was perfect for my husband and I. Bathrobes, slippers, la occitane products in the bathroom. Windows shut tight and are completely sound proof but it is not a noisy area with the exception of a local bus stop. Very, very easy walk to the old town - I even wore heels one evening. The staff here are wonderful, so friendly, accommodating, and concerned that our 3 night stay was going well. Great breakfast in a covered but open terrace with an amazing view. While laying on one of the gorgeous terraces on a sun lounge, be sure to pose for the day trippers on small boats that all seem to want to photograph this hotel from the water. It really is beautiful.

Room Tip: If you are staying in Villa Glavic ask for a room that does not face the wall. The front desk will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
Moreover I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in Villa Glavic. Even though it is phisically disconeccted from the hotel part (what gives it special charm) it is very nicely decorated villa and sea view rooms are facing gorgeous views of the Old town.
If you decide to stay in our hotel again please contact us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Searched long and hard for a good hotel in Dubrovnik and decided to come to GVA based on the location and price. There were other hotels in a similar location but were very expensive. We were a bit confused about this hotel mainly due to the amount of buildings and the photographs showed two distinctly different types of hotel bedrooms. To explain then, the main building where we were located is the modern part and there is a villa either side of this and again several villas across the road. The main building houses the bars, restaurants, pool etc. We had a sea view room and were worried that we did not have a balcony, no need to have been concerned as the doors opened fully inwards and there was a glass panel to waist height, giving an indoor balcony - wonderful, with a view of the old town and Lockrum Island. We were on the 7th floor (top floor) and the views were amazing, any lower and you could find your view obscured by the rather large canopy over the outdoor restaurant/bar area, also some of the trees would spoil a view if you were lower. The balconys were on the 5th floor. The room was a good size and decorated in a fairly modern style with a mini bar, dressing table, comfy arm-chair and foot stool, good size confortable bed and good storage space and free safe. There are 3 paintings on the walls (room 719) and they were by far the most disturbing portraits of people I have ever seen with eyes that stared at you as you lay in bed, very peculiar. The bathroom was quite luxurious but there was a drainhole in the floor which unfortunately gave off a bad smell so we put the stool over it (up-side down) you could also hear water draining quite loudly. This was a shame but just a blip. The toiletries were replenished regularly, the shower was a not too good but everything was clean and in good order, there were bathrobes and slippers. My pet hate was the lack of hangers, I always take loads myself but why do hotels think you only need to hang up a couple of items for a week or more! There is no hospitality tray so I took my trusty kettle and hey presto lovely tea and coffee whenever required.
We had breakfast in the hotel which had a lot of choice and was very well presented and again the view from the dining terrace was superb. We did not eat in the restaurant. The staff were very efficient and I would like to thank the young man on reception who managed to get us a cab to the airport so we could make our flight when our pre-arranged transport failed to arrive. The staff are a great asset to this hotel.
The pool area is lovely and despite the showery weather during the week we did manage to get a couple of hours sunbathing and watching the kayaks and the pleasure boats pass by our sun-beds as well as the large cruise ships ferrying the passengers back and forth to the harbour, take your binoculars, there is always something interesting to watch.
This is a lovely hotel, it is a 10 minute walk down the hill to the Ploche gate and the old town, a bit of an uphill walk but good exercise and you will need to be fit as the old town is full of steps and if you do the city walls you will need to be in good shape.
We loved Dubrovnik, it is a magical city and will always have a special place in our hearts and thank you to the staff at the GVA for our flowers and wine to celebrate our anniversary.
I have reviewed the City Walls, Lokrum Island, the Cable Car and several restaurants separately. Be aware that the old town will be busy during the day with large parties from the cruise ships, we took with us a schedule of ships docking in the old harbour and the Port of Gruz which you can download from the internet which gives you an idea of what to expect crowd wise on a daily basis. The evenings were a much more pleasant affair once the cruise ships had departed and with the lights twinkling it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the 7th floor in the main building are the best, email the hotel with your request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a detailed review about our hotel!
We are glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

10 minutes walk (downhill) to walled city & all attractions. Unspoilt by the usual riff raff, but city can become very busy what with influx of visitors during the day from cruise ships and coach tours, but to spend the evenings sitting in one of the local restaurants in one of the many squares is just a delight!
Hotel is everything that I would expect from a 5* hotel even if it did need a little decoration/ attention in some areas.The majority of staff very good & a few not so attentive, but in all very few complaints . Small pool & very cold but lovely to sit by as right at the edge of the sea. A few steps up and down to the terraces but beautiful gardens. Restaurants very good & handled my dietary requirements without any fuss. Spa & treatments good and the girls very friendly & polite. My only criticism would be (& it is a small one) , it is obviously a lovely location for weddings & it is lovely to see everyone enjoying themselves but the reception noise can become rather a nuisance later in the evening particularly if trying to eat in the Victoria restaurant.
All in all - 5/5 and we look forward to returning at sometime in the future - & believe me I am a very fussy traveller!

Room Tip: We had a room in the original villa with balcony overlooking gardens with a sea view which is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LINDAOFIVESTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hoel!
We are glad that you were satisfied and that you would like to stay in our hotel again.
We are trying to live up all parts of our complex and day by day we are trying to put more flowers and decorations.
Please contact us when you decide to come in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a great stay. The first room we were offered smelled of cigarettes. We pointed this out to the bell boy: he agreed and arranged another room rightaway.

We were drenched in a hiking trip. The radiator did not work in the bathroom and we asked for it to be switched on to dry the clothes. The front desk said that was not possible but she could arrange for the clothes to be dried in a drier free of charge. This was done and the neatly folded clothes were delivered back to our room.

The setting is wonderful and the staff very friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REDhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
As I can see from your review, there were some minor issues, but it makes us very happy that our employees were attentive and on your disposal to meet your needs.
We hope that you will come back again and we will be more happy to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Grand Villa Argentina gives you easy access to the old town, just a ten minute walk down a gradual hill, not to onerous for the walk back although if you do have mobility issues it would need to be a consideration.

If you get one of the lower cost rooms you may find yourself across the road in the Villa Glavic - you still have access to all the hotel facilities, which are many and varied, but the view from our room was none existent (a wall). Having said that the hotel itself lived up to expectations and the pool area offered great views of the bay.

Staff were helpful and service was very good as was the breakfast and the lunch at the beach bar. On the whole worth considering if you are looking for a quality hotel close to the old town.

Room Tip: Try and ensure your room is in the main hotel otherwise you risk no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
As I can see you stayed in Villa Glavic which is part of our complex situated on the opposite side of our hotel and some rooms are lacking nice views. I am glad that our pool are made up for room's views. Also, it is nice to hear that you were satisified with our staff and service.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $149 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing