We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average otel, acceptable”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed January 7, 2011

we visit that otel out of swimming season.
It has a nice beach,but if its not summer and you cant swim, other facilities in hotel are average.
Dubrovnik is a very nice place to visit' and see the historical places.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f_j0hns0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel park for a week and enjoyed every minute of are holiday. The hotel was clean and modern, and staff were helpful on arrival although many did not speak English. However the food at the hotel was disappointing for both breakfast and dinner and the atmosphere in the dinning hall was not enjoyed due to having so share tables with other people, and felt rather crowed.

The hotel is located in Lapad which is about 10 minuets journey by bus into the old town of dubrovnik, this is were we spend most of our time shopping and looking around museums. we found the night life in Lapad very relaxing with a range of different restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank redhotrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Despite some dire reviews by others, this hotel is fine, especially as part of a winter break in Dubrovnik. The breakfast is really quite good - and plenty of choice, unless you arrive half an hour before they finish. Staff are polite and helpful but don't expect them to be your best friend - that's not their job. Bed was comfortable, and everywhere was clean, and well maintained. In November the outdoor pool was closed, but the indoor pool was good for a morning swim. Again, in November, to look for decent restaurants and things to see you need to go into Dubvronik but the buses are cheap and regular (8 kuna if you buy a ticket in advance from a kiosk). Plenty of places to eat and drink. For a relatively expensive but good meal we'd recommend Mimoza (opposite the Hilton Hotel) or the fish restaurant down in the old harbour. And if you do nothing else you must walk round the walls for stunning views of the town and the harbour.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cadwallader47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here with the Ramblers and enjoyed it very much. I had a third floor room overlooking the bay, gorgeous. A wide selection of food in the buffet - both breakfast and dinner. Staff all very friendly and helpful, as all Croatian people seemed to be. Convenient location for buses, cafes, etc. Even a supermarket nearby. The bar staff said that after heavy rain, the tap water is unreliable, so we bought large 5 ltr bottles of water from the supermarket. Dubrovnik and surrounding area and islands gorgeous. The Adriatic is so clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cathy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed here in early Septmber; the hotel itself is very nice, modern and well decorated, but unfortunately the same can't be said of the rooms, or ours anyway. It had a stunning view, but the room needed a good update and the bathroom was a throwback to the communist era.
If you stayed by the pool and used the sunloungers, you were taking your life into your own hands. We lost count of the number of times people's loungers collapsed on them. It happened to me several times, the worst being the first as I was totally unprepared.
The food in the hotel was terrible and no where near what you'd expect in a 4* hotel. We were Half Board, but gave up that idea after only the 2nd night and chose to eat out instead. We did actually have 2 meals in the Tavern which is part of the hotel, paying just @ an extra £5 each for the option and it was great. Unfortunately there's no choice of menu and we had to have the same meal on both nights, but was much nicer than what was served in the dining room. We also chose to have lunch instead of the dinner one day, but this was the worst meal of the lot.
Lapad, where the hotel is located, is nice, fairly small and quiet, very good for relaxing. Dubrovnik Old Town is only a 15 - 20 min bus ride away and it was absolutely stunning; a fabulous old city with stunning views.
I don't think the question: "Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?" can be easily answered with a yes or no, as despite my negative comments, I would just say, yes stay here, but on B & B only and be prepared for some of the other issues I've mentioned above.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in September and we found straight away the website was VERY misleading.... we were under the illusion that we were staying in a 4 star hotel (with 4 star prices) but it really turned out to be a 2.5 star hotel... Where do I begin....

After paying €200 per night the room was a very basic room. We had a view of the car park... The room was very small & there was no drawers/storage space. The balcony was tiny...2 people would not fit there... There was no tea/coffee making facilities... There was no room service - you could not get a sandwich after 9pm...

The breakfast was shocking..... it was in a canteen style room that resembled something from boarding school - you had to get everything yourself - the waiters that were there were only there to clean up.. All the food tasted the same and once a particular food was gone it was not replinished....

Staff at reception were not very helpful.

We would defo not recommend this hotel to anyone. The prices we paid for a Monday & Tuesday night we would have got a 4 star here in Ireland for it.

There is a comments book in reception - and there is more complaints than compliments in it!

When you are looking to stay in a 4star hotel in Dubrovnik - this is not a 4 star hotel Irish Standard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmurray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed at the above hotel last week (Sept 2010) and would rate the hotel overall as good. Initially when I checked in I wanted to upgrade to have a sea view balcony room but the hotel was fully booked. I was booked into the annexe building but they did however change me to the top floor which had a sea view and a larger room than I was originally booked in to for no extra charge.
The room that I was initially booked into was quite small and although clean was not as nice as the rooms advertised in the main building.

The food was good overall. Breakfast had a large choice of fruit, cereals, toast, fruit/herbal teas, hot breakfast inc decent bacon, eggs, sausage etc.
We were half board but only ate there three times as prefer to eat out if possible but when we dined at night the food again was good and there was a lot of choice.
The pool area doesn’t look that big but there were enough sun loungers etc and they have a quite new gym, spa and indoor pool area.

The hotel is located on the Lapad peninsula about 4km from Dubrovnik old town as clearly stated on the brochure. The bus stop is a few hundred metres away and runs every 10 mins until late (midnight ish) to Dubrovnik old town and great value at 10 kuna (just over £1). If you want a taxi it is 60kuna.
The beach is a few hundred metres away and there is also a pedestrian area that runs along side the hotel offering bars and dining if you want a change of scene.
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. They arranged a hire car for us which was on time and good value at about £40 for the day for a Clio.

We drove it to Montenegro for the day and I’d like to dispel any myths about the border crossing. Make sure you have a green card in the car which is international car insurance. We had to wait only 10 mins in the queue to the border and there are NO shifty bribes required. The roads on both sides are good enough for the drive we took to Kotor, Sveti Stefan etc.

Overall a good hotel, very helpful staff and the weather was fantastic all week – Bonus !
Ps - free wifi

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $79 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing