We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel, but more suited to older, unadventurous clientele”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel, but more suited to older, unadventurous clientele”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We had a lovely, relaxing stay at Hotel Park Dubrovnik - the outdoor pool is lovely, the room was a good size, the bathrooms were modern and the beds were comfortable. However, there were a few things that would have put me had i known about them in advance. These are as follows:-

- location: although conveniently placed near Lapad beach, Lapad is a very touristy area with lots of souvenir shops and overpriced restaurants and bars serving poor food at prices similiar to London restaurants. There are some decent restaurants around but they are much pricier on the whole and you really have to rely on guide books to find them in this area. If i went back, i'd probably stay somewhere in the Old Town as there's more choice for dining and more atmosphere at night - Lapad feels rather dead in September after 8pm!

- hotel staff: although friendly enough, hotel staff seem unable to offer any guidance on activities and even bus information. We wanted to go on a boat trip to the Elafiti Islands but there were so many people offering boat trips on the road leading down to the beach, we wanted some advice on which company to go with. When we asked in the hotel, they just said to go with any of them as they were all good. We did go with one of them and it was very poor - bad food, very little information given on the islands and little time to spend on the islands themselves, so in short, a total waste of money.

- gym facilities: not a major issue for me but might be for some people - the gym facilities are a couple of rusty machines circa 1980 in a non air conditioned room (just to the side of the indoor pool). They look like they hadn't been used or checked for at least 10 years.

- general hotel atmosphere: we are both relatively active people in our twenties and we felt a bit out of place in the hotel. There were a lot of older people staying at the hotel and as such the hotel catered particularly for them in terms of food, hotel bars and entertainment. It's still a nice place to relax and unwind for younger people but it's rather lacking in terms of anything for twentysomethings in the evening. I would recommend the hotel only as a good place to relax as aside from that it has little to offer.

- one final thing, if you are planning on going to Dubrovnik, you really only need 2 or 3 days to see and do everything. I'd recommend a kayak tour with Adriatic Kayak Tours (not Adventure Dalmatia) - we did a half day tour to Lokrum and it was the highlight of the trip for me. Also, walk the city walls, go to Wanda restaurant (pricey but lovely, even the inexpensive 1L house red!) The city itself is one of the most beautiful places i've been to and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    602
    248
    60
    38
See reviews for
214
663
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ryde
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Well what can i say we have just returned from a great holiday at the grand hotel park.what is it with the Brits and complaining???? Having read some reviews on here we were dreading going!!!!
The flight - 2 and a bit hours from Gatwick
The transfer - 40 mins (last drop off . )air con coach, great views on the way
The hotel- arrived checked in within 3 mins smiling efficent reception staff.
upper room with amazing sea views,beds the most comfortable iv'e slept on in any hotel, compact bathroom with great power shower. wardrobe with hangers ect. air con.
powerful and free as was the safe.
On half board so - Dinner always lots of chioce 4/5 meat dishes, 2 soups,loads of fresh veg salads ect. fresh fruit available all the time. example meal for me- veg soup, pork medalion,chicken fillet, mash with garlic(yum) sprouts,green beans.choice of sauce.
i never made it to the puddings saw but cake, ice cream ,fruit, fruit pie ect.
Breakfast lots of hot stuff ,eggs(scrambled fried boiled), bacon,sausage and whatever was left from last night!! lots of cheeses, cold meats, rolls ,fruit tea, coffee, fruit juices ect.ect.
the pool is salt water but clean and large ,people do lay their towels out but hay-ho. kids were few and far between mainly Croation in the late afternoon -but not a problem.
good bar / barman by the pool.
there is a beach within 5 mins pebbles and a bit crowded when we were there but we walked past the beach and swam in the crystal waters from rocky platforms(GET SHOES FOR SWIMMING LOTS OF URCHINS!!!) fantastic
Also went on the 3 island trip good fun get it from the street not the rep much cheaper.try not to get a big boat 28 peopleis about right .Lunch and drinks included (dont be afraid to ask for more wine its paid for!!!
You have to visit Dubrovnik it's amazing.........walk the walls in the morning before it gets to hot(£6.50 but so worth it)
All in all a fab time. staff are friendly. cleaners work hard. Not that many brits lots of unsmiling russians and germans. try to say hallo for a smile from the locals

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnboyRyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Went to Dubrovnik in July and stayed in this hotel.Good points, rooms were always clean and tidy, huge selection at breakfast, excellent transport to old town with bus and taxi links nearby. Indoor and outdoor pool were nice. Bad points, probably not a 4*, reception were not too helpful, storage in room was a slight problem,every morning the sun loungers by the pool were "reserved" by a few idiots til lunchtime,expensive to eat evening meal if you are only at hotel on b+b basis,sea view on lower floors well there isnt one. Also website suggests the hotel has a gym, believe me that isnt a gym.
Near to the hotel is a myriad of restaurants to suit any budget. Much of the food is sea food based as you wuld expect. A few restaurants have a service charge which is not always made clear from the outset. Not much in the way of nightlife,more of a social drink atmosphere than clubbing. The nearest beach is very pebbly as are the majority of beaches in croatia.
I would recommend the kotor bay trip to montenegro, also any of the island hopping,and definitely the old town is a must. Dubrovnik is very friendly, romantic but pretty expensive place. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed here in August 2009 and we were very impressed with this hotel. Yes the comments about sunbeds are right, but this didn't bother us. The pool is a large sea pool and beautiful for a dip late afternoon. The hotel is next to a street lined with some great restaurants, particularly good is the Kompas restaurant overlooking the beach. All along the street are swing chairs great for sitting in with an ice cream. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds and a great bathroom. The breakfasts were very good. We did not have the half board option as we preferred to eat out at the many restaurants. Dubrovnik is amazing and the walking the walls are a must. We went early evening as they won't allow anyone up after 7pm. The views are wonderful and its not too hot. Everyone tells you to take a number 6 bus these are always full, take a number 4 bus and at least you'll get a seat, and get your bus tickets from the tisak just along the road from the minimarket near the beach. Gruz harbour is where you get ferries to various islands like lopud, sipan and kolocep. The no. 7 bus goes to gruz harbour but is very unrelliable and packed you can be waiting for over an hour in peak season. Make sure you go to Lokrum its a great day out and you catch the boat from Dubrovnik old town harbour. This is a great hotel and fantastic location. If you like a bit of history and culture with amazing views and beautiful water then you'll love this place as much as we did. ENJOY.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SHIVERMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were 2 weeks on the 7th floor seaside.
Good:
- Spectacular view from the balcony.
- Beach is very near.
- Pedestrian street and bars and restaurants are close
- Nice live music at the pool bar in the evenings.
- Air conditioning was very good
- Friendly staff
Bad:
- Room was quite small
- The linen of the bed were not changed as usually as it was promised. We had to complain twice about it.
- Breakfast was quite ok but it was the same food every day (youghurt was very good)

We didn't use the pool. We noticed that people don't take a shower BEFORE they go to the pool. They went into the pool with sweat and sunoil. The water of the pool smelled dirty. I didn't see a single person to use the shower. A few russian guests even washed their underarms and necks with their hands when they went swimming there. That was disgusting.

Other things:
- Croatian people are very friendly and they speak very good english
- Old town is really beautiful and worth for a several visits. Some ideas: Take a walk on the city walls but go early in the morning before it gets crowded and too hot. Best coffee: Cafe Bar Afrika on the side street. Taste also the bosnian coffee at the bosnian Taj Mahal restaurant. (And also their spinach pie) Best ice cream: Dolce Vita on the side street. Taste smoothies at the Smoothe Bar. Best pizza in the world: Mea Culpa. Incredible vegetarian food: Nishta (remember to check the funny toilet). Great sea food: Moby Dick. Tasty drink. Pear liquor kruscovac. Tasty fruit: Fresh figs.
- Best restaurants near hotel: The restaurant of Hotel Zagreb, Eden and Konovac...........
- Lokrum island is a nice small place. Remember to take your swimsuit and test the small "dead sea"
- Lopud Island has a beautiful sandy beach. They take people there with a golf carry. 20 kunas per person.
- Cavtat is almost like a small town at the Riviera. Very clean and comfy. 30 minutes by the bus nbr 10. If you are interested in art and paintings visit the home museum of Vlaco Bukovac. It is a real treasury.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MazaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for one week in July. The hotel's location is excellent and was one of the reasons why we chose to stay there. There are a number of restaurants/bars very close to the hotel which can provide you with food and beverages during the day, and night if you do not want to go into Dubrovnik old town. The old town itself is a 10 min bus ride away with the stop being a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We payed a little more to have a sea view room and the views were fantastic, its worth paying that little bit more. The rooms were ok with a balcony. We had a few issues with no towels being left, room sometimes not being cleaned as well as it could but these were minor things.
The swimming pool itself is very nice, salt water which is refreshing. However, if you are going to the hotel in peak season, be prepared to get up early to reserve a sunbed. I was up at 7 one morning and half of them had already gone. Seems to be anongoing problem at the hotel from reading through guest comment book.
The food at the hotel was ok for a hotel doing food on mass. However, we were put off when cauliflower cheese and mash potatoes reappeared at breakfast from the dinner menu from night before.
There are plenty of trips and things to see around Dubrovnik. I could list them all but walking the walls is a must in Dubrovnik, stunning. Make sure you go early in the morning or last thing at night when it is quieter and not as hot.

There may be some negative comments in this review, but we would most certainly go back to the hotel. It is a smart hotel that has been refurbished to a good standard and is in an excellent location to go and explore.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Dubrovnik is an amazing place to visit and this is a great hotel to stay at. The buses run every 15mins and only cost 10Kuna each way.
We chose the hotel because we knew it had been refurbished. We requested a high floor and were on top (L7). This had the advantages of amazing views looking over the mountains and city (sea views available at a supplement.) Only disadvantage was that the wind swept across the roof which might keep some people awake at nightime.
Room was of a good standard - smart bathroom, all very clean and new.
We had breakfast included and there was always a nice choice - served 7-10.
The Pool provided a nice area to relax and sunbathe but there was a huge problem with people hogging sunbeds from 7am with their towels then disappearing.
We found the reception desk friendly and helpful and really enjoyed our stay here.

Holiday highlights:
Make sure you visit Lukrum island by catching the boat from Dubrovnik harbour for 40 kuna return - simply beautiful.
Take part in the elephati 3 islands boat excursion. You can pick up some good deals at stands in Lapad - we went on Lorana 180 Kuna for 10 hour excursion with lunch included - it was the best day of the holiday.
The city walls are amazing - if you're an early bird get up there before nine - so quiet!

Extra tips:
Wear shoes in the sea and watch out for sea urchins

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing