We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just had a wonderful holiday in beautiful Dubrovnik and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. All of our needs were met at the Grand Hotel Park. As we are a family of three adults, we had asked in advance for a room that would be large enough for us all - and if possible to be in a quiet position and to have a good view. This is exactly what we got and I will never forget the view from our 7th floor room, watching the cruise ships come and go across the lovely Lapad Bay. Our room was serviced every morning as soon as we went down to breakfast by the very helpful and friendly chambermaid. We wanted a second room key card and got one immediately and we asked for extra pillows and they were in our room by the time we went back up from breakfast. Our waiter, Marcko, was excellent with a very dry sense of humour which kept us entertained. Another waiter (sorry, name beginning with M but I've forgotten it) gave us mini Croatian language lessons daily and praised our efforts to communicate in his language. The buffet could get a bit busy when there were large parties staying overnight but the food was plentiful with something to suit all tastes - and the fact that we now all need to diet shows we had more than enough! The only extra I would have liked was decaf coffee available at breakfast. The hotel situation is perfect - close to the bus, the pebbly beach, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. A few minutes from the coastal path where there are platforms and steps to use for swimming from instead of just going in from the beach. The snorkelling is wonderful with dozens of varieties of fish - like being part of a giant aquarium. Plenty of walking opportunities - all the way round to the marina and port or up hills on either side of the bay to make the most of the magnificent views. We loved Dubrovnik and the surrounding area and if we were going back we would choose this hotel again without even considering any of the others we saw on our walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a sea view. If there are more than two of you, ask for a corner room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandMonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

As expected this does not really warrant a 4 star rating but it was clean, the drinks were good value and the beds were comfortable. We had a very attentive waitress for the week, the reception staff were very efficient but the whole building is a bit dated but as we were a group of 22 walkers on a week's trip this was more than adequate for our needs. The bus stop in to the old town is handy and there is a supermarket nearby for taking out a packed lunch. The beach is sandy and in October the sea was still warm for swimming. The happy hour cocktails were extremely good value as was the house wine which they kept for the next evening if not finished. Unfortunately I did not discover the existence of the spa treatment menu until the afternoon before I was leaving but these were good value. On the downside on arrival on a Sunday (changeover day) there were very long queues for the two lifts, no bellboys and I resorted to heaving my luggage up 4 flights of stairs) the towels are very rough and small and the toilet tissue is scratchy. For couples expecting a double bed or at least two singles joined together this was a bit of a bedroom farce as all the beds are on extremely mobile wheels so you must exercise caution in your nocturnal activities! The shower has good water pressure but has numerous jets so caution must also be exercised when adjusting this in order to avoid a flooded room. It was my birthday while I was there and a small bottle of sparkling wine with glasses was left with a card by the hotel - unfortunately they put this on my bill which I luckily spotted and had removed! Friday night is fun in the restaurant as they have good natured roaming musicians who will pay a selection of tunes suited to the nationality of your table - we got "Maybe Its because I'm a London" and "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" which was fun. The huge buffets are freshly cooked and constantly replenished although food is not always very hot but you will not go hungry and the only criticism is that the vast restaurant is too brightly lit and "school canteen-like". Ideal hotel for a large group but I would not recommend for a romantic interlude.

Room Tip: Poolside is better but a lot more expensive - if you are on a budget a rear view room still has a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladywholunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I (seniors) had a week at the hotel as independent travellers. The view from the room (floor 7) was wonderful, overlooking the beautiful picturesque Bay of Lapad. The peebly beach was a less than five minute walk from the hotel. The buffet style food was excellent with varied choice both for evening meal and breakfast. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the wonderful old city of Dubrovnic with a 15 minute ride by local bus.The bus stop being 5 minutes slow walk away ( buy your tickets from the kiosk next to the bus stop at 12 kn per trip). The Lapad bay area is quiet and peaceful just opposite to the crowds in the old town area and a joy to get away. The staff at the hotel were very professional, helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view on Floor 7. take your own travel kettle to make your morning 'cupp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

recently stayed at this hotel and would say it is a good basic hotel. there are plenty of seating areas to just sit and have a quiet chat or read. we stayed on half board basis which meant breakfast and dinner were included in the price. there was a good variety of
food to suit most people. this hotel us of a good location and the staff were quite polite.
the rooms a looking quite tired, the balcony although having a great view was very small.
the walls are quite thin so you can get noise from other rooms
overall a decent basic hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezza49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was a lovely place to stay as a base to travel around the Dubrovnik area. I can't wait to go back to Croatia but would not necessarily stay at the same hotel, partially as I would like to see other parts of the country. The hotel was very accommodating to all our needs; having travelled with my other half, it was his birthday on the day we arrived. I emailed the hotel about 2 weeks before we went on holiday requesting we have a room higher up in the hotel to make the most of the views (it really is worth paying for a balcony and sea view!) and if they could provide a surprise bottle of beer or wine for him. I was emailed back the same day saying they would ensure both my requests were met. when we got into the room on the day we arrived low and behold we had a mini champagne and a top floor room. the views were wonderful and I could watch the sun set into the sea every night. the room was great and served its purpose - staying in Croatia there is so much to see and do you'd be wasting your time spending a day at the hotel! we both needed an extra pillow which arrived in the afternoon. in the room we had a safe which on one occasion wouldn't open, after we called the reception desk someone came and sorted it within 5 minutes. the bathroom and shower areas were clean and modern, there was no lock on the door but when theres two of you it should be fairly obvious where the other is! there was a tv with limited English channels but again you don't go on holiday to watch tv! the staff were friendly and spoke English certainly enough to get by and most were fluent.
the location was perfect for us; a nice quiet beachfront area, which was quiet at night. there are a handful of bars which are open late, and along the past heading round the headland there is the Hotel more with The Cave bar - I would thoroughly recommend this! there was a small shingle beach, with a nearby bar and the loungers are free. the water is crystal clear but you will need some beach shoes to get to the water.

USEFUL INFO: you seem to be able to change any currency into Kuna at the reception desk at a very good rate. You can buy bus tickets at the little shop within the hotel reception for the same price as a Tisak stand (which are located close to hotel too) - you need a ticket per trip but can buy bulk amounts of tickets if you want and one ticket is also valid for an hour so if you get to town and find you've forgotten your purse or something you can go back and get it on the same ticket. buses on Friday and Saturday nights are VERY busy. if you don't like squeezing up against perfect strangers don't bother getting the bus - get a taxi! the hire car service from hotel reception is very good.

THE NEGATIVE POINTS: having been up at 2am to get to the airport for a 6am flight we could not check in at the hotel until 2pm - we arrived at the hotel about 11am (local time). If the hotel is full those checking out can stay in the room until 12, and then these obviously need to be made new again hence the 2pm check in. however after an already long day, and the hotel knowing so many guest will be dropped off that morning it would be nice if they could change their check out time to accommodate the incoming guests - a 10am check out wouldn't be all that painful for those checking out! we both felt this day was wasted hanging around waiting to check in - we went for a wonder around, and had lunch and some drinks but would have been nice to change out of our travel clothes etc.
the food - generally the food was plentiful but very average, although breakfast was good. I had a small fried breakfast every morning which was yummy but the bacon was occasionally riddled with cysts and so did put you off a bit - you just had to be careful picking your slices! The coffee by all accounts was terrible but there was a variety of teas, fruit juices, fresh fruit etc. being buffet, the food was never quite hot when it reached your plate, but some dishes were tasty (Gnocci with chicken sauce, fish varieties...) I feel that if you are a vegetarian you would struggle to have a good meal here. we ate at the hotel 6 evenings out of 7 mainly because we paid half board and felt we did not want to pay twice to eat. the desserts, whilst very pretty were just not as good as they looked and was often disappointed.
I look forward to seeing Croatia again :-)

Room Tip: worth paying for a room with a balcony and sea view - beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from a two week vacation in beautiful Croatia. We stayed at this hotel on a half board basis. The hotel was the only option on the package I booked. The hotel is a good basic hotel but I would not class it as a 4*. Pro's are good location, staff were all very friendly and helpful and had a beautiful view from our room. Good bus service into the Old Town and restaurants and bars within spitting distance. Cons restaurant was more like a canteen, very brightly lit and no atmosphere, you could not spend a relaxing evening in their eating, it was just a place to fuel yourself. Although the Dinner times were between 7pm and 9pm, if you got to the restaurant at 8.30pm you felt like you were getting the dreggs. Cannot complain about how the food was cooked, nothing was bad but just very samey and bland. No atmosphere in the restaurant at all Breakfast was much the same and the queue for the coffee machine in the morning was a bore. We actually chose to eat out for 2 evenings.
Also found the hotel had many much older guests so even being in my late 40's i felt quite young! Swimming Pool was clean but the sunbathing areas were quite unattractive.
Bearing in mind all of this I absolutely loved Croatia and would recommend it to anyone - will definitely go back but probably chose a smaller boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th floor or above with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatBow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Reception - Swift check-in, polite, good English (heard speaking German and French too) with majority of staff. Plenty of seating, easy to find your way round. 4*

Room - Not overly large, balcony a bit small and two singles, not one double, but lovely bathroom and clean/tidy and ok decor. 3*

Food (we were half board) - Breakfast a large choice buffet, with omelettes cooked to order, not exactly gastronomic excellence, but tasty. Dinners were basic, not much local cuisine, but again - tasty. Taverna (pay separately) had really good food. 3*

Hotel General standards - Hotel looks great while also isn't ornate at all, and doesn't have an air of 'poshness' which could be good or bad depending on your views! Some areas look a little dated, while efforts have been made to make it modern with some lovely decor/furniture. A spa is available, but we did not use it. Pool is very nice, seawater, with an indoor pool and gym which both look great. 3.5*

Surrounding area - A stone's throw from the beach and about 10-15 bars/cafes and restaurants within 2-3 minutes walk. Beach is pebble (smooth thankfully!) with beautiful clear blue water. Plenty to walk and see close by, bus routes and supermarkets also very close while it still feels nicely secluded. Kids Park on site too and even sculptures of the Predator and Alien! 5*

Overall - A lovely holiday was had here, with a really relaxing feel at all times, staff were friendly, and with Dubrovnik being beautiful itself, I would highly recommend the Grand Park Hotel, but don't expect a true 4*, more like a '3 star plus'. I'll give it a 4 out of 5

For comparison, we were a late 30s couple going during school term (no kids!). Mainly elderly people the week we were there, although the day we left it seemed like more young couples were arriving, it's suitable for all child free hols!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gnasher1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $79 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing