We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, clean and friendly hotel staff cannot do enough for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and friendly hotel staff cannot do enough for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was a lovely hotel, the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you - all were very pleasant and the service was fantastic. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms were very clean as was the hotel overall. Lovely location, within walking distance to the old town. Whilst we were staying at the Excelsior it was my birthday although we didn't say anything to the hotel they must have noticed the birthday cards in the room and laid out a cake for me in the room and typed up a lovely letter. What a lovely guesture !

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a sea view - we didn't and got a brick wall - make sure you ask for a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisakaren91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    405
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
258
791
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We actually booked the sister hotel Belvedere but due to overbooking we were offered the Excelsior and an upgrade so was happy to take the alternative. The Excelsior is actually much closer to the Old Town which was a bonus but the biggest plus was the upgrade to an Executive Suite, it had everything you could wish for and a big balcony with stunning views of the Adriatic and The Old Town. The breakfast was very good and we found the staff to be very friendly and professional. The spa facilities were good, there is a lovely pool and I made good use of the sauna and jacuzzi, they also had some heated wooden beds which was a bit of a surprise when I used one. Make sure you get a sea view room, it would be a shame to miss the views. The hotel has free parking for guests, a must in Dubrovnik if you have a hire car. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write such nice review about our hotel.
We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the time we got to the hotel until the day we left we had an amazing service! The room was very clean and comfortable; the services by the pool as well as the restaurant were flawless.
There is a great indoor pool, steam room and jacuzzi.

By the second morning, the waitress at the restaurant knew what we liked for breakfast and where we had seated the day before. Just a lovely stay overall!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericapm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel. We booked our holiday through Jet2 and the price was very reasonable for the standard of this hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis but the hotel is so close to the old town eating out for lunch and dinner was very convenient.

There is a lovely sunbathing deck with direct access into the sea although this did close for a couple of days during our holiday due to high tides.

The hotel is steeped in history and they have a gallery of all the famous guests who have stayed there over the last 100 years which was really lovely to see.

The breakfasts were very good as were the lunches although we didn't choose to eat dinner in the hotel.

You cannot beat the location of this hotel as it's just a 5 minute walk down to the old town.

We would highly recommend this hotel for a bit of luxury on a city break.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Me_n_pags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here in April. The hotel is beautiful, views amazing and the hotel staff are friendly and top class. The view from the bar and restaurant are exceptional and if you have a room with sea views you can see Dubrovnik Old Town in all of its beauty. We will definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend with family and would easily recommend it. The location is great, about 5mins walk to the Old Town, and all facing onto the beautiful Adriatic seas. The hotel itself is modern and up-to-date, with a great pool and ok gym facilities. We asked to change rooms as our first room didn't have a separate shower (just a shower over the bath) but the hotel staff were happy to accommodate this.

Room Tip: We asked to change rooms as our first room didn't have a separate shower (just a shower over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

How a hotel handles a mistake can tell much about it. This hotel posted an invalid price on its site. I booked it. The hotel then contacted me and apologized for its error. While it did not honor the posted rate, it offered a rate discounted to what had been posted, and the offer was very fair.

On arrival, this level of good service continued. Friendly bellmen and front desk staff.

The room had an obstructed view of water. But even that view was nice. However, it is the view from the restaurant that makes this place spectacular. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Adriatic Sea and Lokrum Island. Yachts and Cruise Ships anchored in the sea. Amazing!

After breakfast, a beautiful deck to lounge on, and a roped-off swimming area in the Adriatic. An indoor pool right behind the sun deck, and great lunch restaurant right on the sun deck. Amazing massage at the spa.

Have to leave hotel? Old Town Dubrovnik just several hundred yards away.

Hotel is on the less populated side of Old Town. Great for quiet. Loved it.

Room Tip: Any room with view. View is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing