We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was definitely one of the loveliest of all we stayed last summer in Croatia. The room was pretty small but comfortable with a large bathroom and an amazing view on the sea. The breakfast is spectacular and the service in the hotel superb. In peak summertime it has not been an economical place to stay, but if you're looking for something exclusive , we would definitely recommend. Have a good stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Huncutka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    405
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
258
791
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for four nights in October 2013 ,if you like lovely views book this hotel you will not be disappointed. The service was superb, room comfortable, wonderful breakfasts, wished we had booked to stay longer. We can highly recommend.

Room Tip: High floor deluxe rooms have a large balcony not overlooked with perfect sea and old town views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay .
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.
Best regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to Dubrovnik in June 2013 and stayed for 3 nights at Excelsior. It was a very good experience. The hotel is located outside the old city, but in a walking distance. It has a excellent swimming pool and you can also dive at the ocean. It has a spectacular view of the city and of the ocean. The staff is very pleasant and the food is very good. The rooms have a great space also. I would say that it is one of the best places to stay in Dubrovnik, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21000 Split Croatia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for New year in old part of hotel long ago called "Villa Odak" wich opened 100 years
ago. Last year hotel Excelsior celebreted its 100 birtheday .The Excelsior has become an iconic
landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik.This hotel - a blend of lod and new - is uniquely
located on clifftop, with magnificent views from every floor, of the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in the other.Inside is glamorous Wall of Fame displayed near the Abakus piano
bar showcases photo portraits of most famous guestes : Queen Elizabeth II, Elizabeth Taylor and
Richard Burton,Sir Roger Moore and most recently legendery film director Francis Ford Coppola,
Kevin Spacey and Morgan Freeman.The Excelsior has 158 luxuriously rooms and suites with modern bathrums spa facilities and large pool .Due to peerless service and impeccable guest relations we will visit time and time again.

Room Tip: Old part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spizaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wow, Wow, Wow,
If you don't have Sat/Nav this place is hard to find, but when you arrive absolutely stunning. Magnificent sea views, the best outlook to the old city and only a 300 metre walk to the entrance.
The staff are fantastic, rooms are spacious, clean and the facilities are world class. In the main bar are photos of celebrities who have been guests, eg Kevin Spacey, Maggie Thatcher, F1 drivers and many more, this is a world class hotel , expensive , but everything in Dubrovnik is expensive.
I give this hotel a 12 out of 10 for everything!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collingwood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel Excelsior in December and had a memorable experience at this wonderful hotel.

I had actually booked Hotel Bellevue for our stay but the hotel informed me after accepting my reservation (through a booking website) that it was closed for renovation. As both properties are owned by the same group, they offered me Hotel Excelsior instead. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Hotel Excelsior was much nearer to the Old Town compared to H. Bellevue.

We had a sea view room with balcony. The view to the Adriatic Sea, Lokrum Island and the Old Town is truly stunning. As we found the in room temperature quite high, we slept with the balcony door slightly opened to let in some cool air. The gentle lapping sound of the wave was soothing and therapeutic!

Breakfast was a good spread and service was friendly and efficient.

We had dinner at the Satu Sushi restaurant and the Abakus Piano Bar. I found the Wakame Salad I'd very saltish. We had sushi, sashimi and grill meat at Satu. Overall the food standard is good but we find it quite pricey.

The room didn't have a kettle so we have to stock up on mineral water. The soap holder in the shower cubicle was small and not firmly secured.

However, these little inconvenience did not detract us from an enjoyable stay at the Excelsior. We hope to return one day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a great hotel, albeit it comes at a price. I remember staying there for about 100 euros a night for a suite in 2001, now it has gone up to 250 euros for the tiny side room near the machine plant which we had.
The room was equipped with a large bathroom, modern air-conditioning and a good bed with a high-quality mattress.

There is an indoor pool with jacuzzi etc and access to the sea (although only a rocky beach, or you can go in via a ladder; there is a lifeguard on site), with a beautiful view of the city walls from the hotel beach.

It is in the best part of Dubrovnik (Ploce) just outside the historic city. Unfortunately, the owners of the hotel (ALH hotels) have a monopoly on high class hotels in Dubrovnik, owning the next door Argentina hotel as well, therefore giving them a chance to set high prices.

Breakfast was delicious and offered a wide choice, unfortunately we had to dash out to catch a ferry.

Overall a very nice stay, thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Sincere greetings from Excelsior and thank you on a delightful review. We are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to maybe having an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion in not so distant future. Please let us know if you are planning to come back we would be grateful to be able to assist you in any way
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing