We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik. We booked a room with a sea view, and wow what a view! Our room was large, and very clean, although some furniture was a little worn. The bathroom was lovely and huge- heated flooring (we stayed in November) very good shower and separate bath tub. The hotel itself is great and decorated very nicely. The spa was fabulous. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Sincere greetings from Excelsior and thank you on a delightful review. We are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to maybe having an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion in not so distant future. Please let us know if you are planning to come back we would be grateful to be able to assist you in any way
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    371
    98
    35
    26
See reviews for
226
720
43
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. Service was very good, staff helping us with everything we asked about. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. Breakfast was delicious and we ate every morning a bit too much. What I most liked about this hotel was its' close proximity to old Dubrovnik. Old city gate can easily be reached by walking, and even in hot +30 C weather it wasn't too much.

Do not miss hotel spa and "beach" downstairs. The view is great to old city walls and swimming in peaceful surrounding is just what you need after walking all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you very much on a great review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience on line and thank you for choosing Excelsior. We look forward to greeting you again.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Great position, lovely view and perfect restaurant terrace. If anyone moans about this hotel, they are seriously spoilt because it is excellent.
Health spa was very relaxing.
The icing on the cake was the wonderful breakfast, relaxing with a glass of fizz while lapping up the rays. Bliss!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Costofquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik! Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine , FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It had been raining all day from Split to Dubrovnik. We had a private guide to meet for a tour of the historic district before we could check in to the hotel. Once we walked up the hill to reception and got checked in , I had to take the elevator down to the 2nd floor, the hotel is cliff side. Very nice room with an amazing view . Wonderful amenities and those yummy chocolates at turn down .

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you very much on a great review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience on line and thank you for choosing Excelsior. We look forward to greeting you again.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile



Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in November 13, this stay came in coincidence as originally I booked in villa Dubrovnik hotel however I've been sent to excelsior hotel as villa Dubrovnik was closing down during that period. Hotel is well located very close to city center.I've had a deluxe room in fifth floor with breathtaking sea view. Deluxe room is of a good size and nice setting, the same applies to the bathroom as well ,with le occitane toiletries .
Additionally airport pickup was arranged by the hotel at the rate of 35 euros and was added to hotel bill.breakfast room has a wonderful terrace ,breakfast is of a very good variety and staff were excellent as well.
What else? Absolutely wonderful stay no complains what so ever, don't really understand what the other bad reviews were about!!!! . Will try to get back ASAP.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anisah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Excelsior In Dubrovnik. The incredibly friendly staff and its by the waters edge promenade, makes this haven nestled on the side of a cliff, a must. We spent 6 days there in August lapping up the sun and the service and being tantalised by that Adriatic summer breeze. It's not cheap but as my son said 'dad this is awesome'. Much of its awesomeness comes from its location. A stones throw from the old town it is an easy walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. The rooms are a good size, clean and modern. The Adriatic ocean that laps the rocks just below white sun lounges is icy blue and as refreshing as it looks. Check out this gem next time you go to Dubrovnik and want to stay just outside the rush, but close enough to feel that Balkan vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Spent 3 days in Dubrovnik in this hotel and this is the last time ill stay there. Dubrovnik has so much more to offer, and there are other hotels that will treat you like a king and queen for this kind of money.

Good things:
View from this hotel is amazing. You can look at direction of old Dubrovnik city core 10 times per day and youll sigh every time and reach for your camera. It takes 10 min of slow walk to get to the city. This is where good things end...

Issues ( I hope someone from the hotel management will read this because they have serious problems with staff ):
- Staff is unfriendly, i was at the reception 3 times and there were 3 or 4 staff members standing there and nobody said hello. Staff is passing by you on the halls or in the bar and they will not say hello. Maybe i am x-men and i can be invisible. Also when i arrived and parked in front of the hotel i said hello to the valet guy and he didnt respond.
- If you have room on the 4th floor, you need to take elevator in the lobby, go to the 3rd floor, exit there, take the long hall to the 2nd elevator and then go to the 4th floor. ( no, i am not joking )
- room is undersized for 5 star hotel, nevertheless type of the room. Even cheapest room in 5 star hotel cannot be so small. There are no photos of rooms like this on the hotels website.
- furniture is old and shabby, decorations and furniture are not consistant and not nice, as if they were put together from scraps, Tony Stark did better job using scraps in the cave...
- bathroom has no shower side so water splashes all over the bathroom even when you stand in that small corner, bathroom gets flooded very soon.
- there are no amenities in the room beside very expensive minibar
- carpets and walls in the room and in the halls are damaged on too many places
- restaurant buffet offer is poor and bad quality
- if you want fried eggs you need to order them from the waitor and then you wait and wait, how long does it take to fry an egg?

I love Dubrovnik and have stayed there many times in other hotels. This one will never see me again. I understand this review will look as very negative but this is what happens when you have 5 star hotel booked and you experience something pathetic like i did.
Im giving this hotel poor rating and if it was 4 stars i would rate it average, and if it was 3 stars i would rate it as excellent.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldSchool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing