We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, wish we had stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, wish we had stayed longer!”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stunning hotel, great rooms with beautiful views! Choice of swimming in the sea or indoor pool.....awesome breakfast! we loved our stay there :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear SATraveller22,
I would like to thank You for staying at our hotel and sharing Your reviews.
Looking forward to see You again in our hotel.
Sincerely Yours
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    391
    90
    27
    8
See reviews for
212
827
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel for just one night at the end of our Croatian trip and what a beautiful hotel. All rooms have a sea view, with a balcony and are beautifully done, comfortable and spacious. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the buffet breakfast had everything you could eat in abundance, with an outside restaurant area that just increases the pleasure of the experience. It is definitely a hotel that I would go back to!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeverSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear JeverSouthAfrica,
thank You for these wonderful reviews.
Hope to see You in our hotel again but this time for longer period so You can experience our hospitality to the fullest.

Greetings from Dubrovnik

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The hotel was pretty nice, but very big and not very cosy in any way. the breakfast was ok, but I did find a stone in my museli! the private beach is not in fact private and so busy it was not very pleasant. what is useful is that the bus stops outside the hotel and as it is the first stop you can get a seat. the staff were friendly enough but a not that clued up about most things.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinjaBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear NinjaBailey,

Thank You for sharing Your impressions with us.
Hope that You will visit us again and that Your experience will be much better than.

Kind regards

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We loved the Dubrovnik President! We found all staff very friendly and always very willing to be pleasant and helpful, despite always being very busy. Nothing ever seemed too much trouble and there were always managers or senior staff with excellent English around to help with any problems or questions. The reception staff were without fail helpful and friendly.
We ate regularly in both the Buffet and the A la Carte restaurants, where the the range, quality and freshness of the food was outstanding. We thought that the prices in the hotel restaurants and bar compared well to other Dubrovnik restaurants we tried, especially considering the quality and quantity of dishes and the view of the sea and sunsets whilst dining in the evening.
We had booked a superior room, as it was a special birthday, and our room had a balcony with a superb sea view. It was lovely to watch the boats and cruise ships go by on their way to the Port. Our room, although it had an old style bathroom, was very comfortable and clean and very efficiently - and quietly - cooled by the air conditioning, which was was a life saver in the heat. The bed was also very comfortable. The room was cleaned well on a daily basis and the chambermaid tried very hard to do this at our convenience.
The location of The President offers the best of both worlds with the benefit of its coastal position and sea view and yet with very easy access to the Old Town by the local bus, even though getting on the bus to come home is a bit of a bun-fight. It makes a good talking point over dinner though!
We used many of the facilities of hotel - the Beach Bar for drinks a few times, the pool, jacuzzi and the relaxation room. All a very pleasant experience. I was also brave and went to the hotel's hairdresser - again, excellent!
We had a wonderful two weeks and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Dear Mrs Foss,

i would like to thank You personaly for staying at our hotel and for this wonderfull review.
We would love to have You again at our hotel and dont worry, Your table will be reserved (first one left on the teracce) where You can relax in the afternoon with the good book.

Kind regards

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Postives -
Lovely romatic room with nice big balcony. Nice wellness centre although didnt get any treatments done but all very new and nice toilets, changing areas etc. Lovely pool and swimming area with sun bathing area very clean and new. Very good attentive staff at reception and hospitality desk. Beach is lovely anf free towels and beds are offered for guests .. YOU NEED JELLY SHOES FOR THE STONY BEACH .. they are ony €7 locally.

Negatives -
No drinks service in pool area and lots of mosquitos near jacuzzi. Housekeeping was a joke ... they just made the bed and cleaned the bathrooms, didn't take any empty glasses etc. No bus from airport so needed to take the shuttle and then the local bus as a taxi is about €40. Dodgy shower and bathroom which needs to be updated. Beach toilets are filthy. The resturant and food is awful in this entire hotel ... I dont even know where to start but just believe me I am not a fussy eater nor do I expect a huge level of treatment but it was very bad. We were given a dirty table with dirty table cloth by the MANAGER !!!!! and we had to ask for it to be changed. Everything seemed to take 20 mins ... a glass of water or a cocktail ... took 20 mins to serve. Staff are just not interested and very unmotivated. Breakfast is just about bearable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trishmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear Mrs Trishmolly

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.



Thank you for your positive comments and I also feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us on the negative side. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.

I wish you had familiarized us with the mentioned problems right away so we could have taken swift actions to eliminate the same.



I do hope we will get the chance to talk about your experience with us next time you are here, when we will do our best to make your stay memorable.



Best regards,

Ivan Sabljic

Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel simply keeps on getting better and better. The staff are lovely, the hotel is immaculate with great attention to detail, the superb pool is nearly always empty, there is a wonderful selection of food (I am a vegetarian and want for nothing). The ambience is one of complete peace and tranquillity yet it is very straightforward to get out and about and explore the islands around the area. A marvellous place for a relaxing yet interesting holiday. We cannot fault it. You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitevanw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Dear Mrs Whitevanwoman,

Thank You so much for showing us loyality. It is allways a pleasure to read such wonderfull comments especialy from someone who has been our guest for over 10 years.
I am looking forward to Your next visit.
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Had a great stay at the President. The staff were warm and welcoming.
The breakfast menu was tasty,plentiful and served with a smile. The rooms were clean and spacious. The seating area (a bonkette arrangement) made the room comfortable and relaxing, and gets away from sitting/lying on a bed or the one chair problem most hotel rooms have.This is arrangement is available on the larger rooms only.
We had a problem with the Air Conditioning and the Hotel manager,who was very apologetic, gave us complimentary meals in the A La Carte restaurant (that were great and has a fantastic sunset view) and visits to the wellness centre as compensation.
The room (and all the other rooms for that matter) have a fantastic view over the Sea and was a lovely first view of the day.
There is a short walk to a man made shop/bar complex. Useful for the odd visit but a pretty soul less place.
Just a point re the bus (No 5?) from the hotel to the bus station for the return Atlas bus to the airport. The recommended bus from the hotel missed the Atlas bus connection due to traffic. We had to get a taxi from the bus station.Therefore leave plenty of time as the No 5 is a tortuous route that can get caught up in traffic.

A great stay with nice staff,you will not regret a trip to the President.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing