We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel fir a special wedding anniversary and couldn't fault it. Lovely room with lounge area and spacious balcony with views across the sea. Has it's own private beachcomber relax and water is crystal clear. Breakfast on balcony with a super choice. Bus stop across the road for going into city - a walk around the walls are a must do. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Room with a lounge area is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kerry62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel isn't the closest to the beach in that area but has paths to it. Very nice pool. Buffet for any meal is pretty institutional but some nice items are always available and many things can be cooked to order.
It's a perfectly fine hotel and a short cab ride to the old town . The sunsets are terrific. Bar late is a good place to watch old former communists crying in their beers over the good old days.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Mrhullaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a superb short break at this wonderful hotel to celebrate my friend's big 0 birthday ! I'd requested a 4th floor room with terrace and it exceeded our expectations.
The view was spectacular and it was so spacious. The manager had even arranged for fresh flowers and fruit bowl as a birthday gift in the room. This thoughtfulness and kindness was shown by all the staff who were so friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel for all our meals because the choice and quality food was amazing ! One of best hotels we,'ve ever stayed in_ beautiful. Can't wait to go back. Thanks to manager and staff for making a special birthday truly memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view of sea but 4th and 5th floors have Huge terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the President in July 2013.

Good things about the hotel: The rooms very larger than average with comfortable beds. The view from the room was fantastic (all rooms face the sea). The outside dining area also has a fantastic view. The buses to Dubrovnik old town stops just outside the hotel and are frequent and reasonably-priced.

Not so good: The food is reasonable but gets a bit "samey" once you've been there for more than a week. There is no outdoor pool (though I think they are adding one in 2014).

Recommended things to do when in the area: Walk the City Walls of Dubrovnik. Take the cable car above the city. Take a trip to Locrum island. Go on the three-island cruise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel_Lover066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Valamar Dubrovnik Presidential Hotel on our honeymoon and were really happy with our choice. This is a fantastic hotel and the staff were very attentive, friendly and professional, particularly the staff and the front desk and the cleaning staff.

Our room was a ‘romantic room package’ and was positioned towards the top of the cascading levels and right on the very end - providing some spectacular uninterrupted views. Our room was clean, comfortable and very spacious as we had a lounge area and a large front terrace. The hotel has a fantastic wellness centre with four different types of saunas, massages, Jacuzzi and lovely relaxation rooms. This was definitely a bonus, I haven’t seen anything quite like – we loved it!

The hotels private beach area was clean and relaxing; we spent a lot of our time there by the ocean. Day beds and umbrellas were available as well as various water activities. There is a bar/café down at the beach that sells fresh juices, food, alcohol etc. The only thing I found disappointing during my entire stay was the food at this café. My pasta was almost certainly heated up tinned spaghetti. I expected a little more than bottled pasta sauce; I wouldn’t recommend avoiding eating there given the food elsewhere at the hotel was so nice. That aside, it was a nice place to sit and have a drink.

The main restaurant was buffet style and had great variety of delicious food for both dinner and breakfast. There is also a lovely terrace bar in front of the Elafiti restaurant. I would recommend sitting out on the lounges while the sunsets as the views were just spectacular. The food at the Elafiti restaurant was fantastic. One night I had to dine alone as my Husband was unwell and the staff were very kind, loading me up with some fresh fruit for him and were available for anything we needed.

The bus ride to Dubrovnik Old town was a quick ride from a stop conveniently located directly out the front of the hotel. There was also a convenience store up in the main foyer which was very useful given the hotels location just outside of town.

I would highly recommend Valamar Dubrovnik Presidential Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the end closer to the top for the best views. Romantic Package was good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed at Dubrovnik President in June 2012. Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Great for location to old town centre as the bus stopped just outside of hotel. It was always packed but being one of the first on always got a seat. Although we had requested a high room we were given a room on the second floor. The couple we arrived with had not requested this but were given a room on the fifth floor, Don't know how they worked that one out. out. Our room had a problem with the air conditioning so we were given an upgrade a few days later. We had lovely sea views in both rooms . We were half board and could not recommend the food in the restaurant, I like to think that I am adventurous where trying new things out are concerned but there was never much of a selection. The restaurant had lovely views over the sea if you opted to dine on the terrace.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLWYN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and I am sorry if everything was not up to your taste.
It's nice to hear you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed the views from your room.

Hoping to see you again next season.

Kind regards from Dubrovnik,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is almost unfair to review this hotel due to the fact that it is closing for an much needed upgrade. Therefore my review will focus not on the rooms but the location and staff. This hotel is located with a marvelous view of the water and harbor. It is situated in a complex of hotels with meandering paths on the bluffs above the water. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel with buses leaving every 15-20 minutes. Therefore it is easy to go to the old town of Dubrovnik. In addition you can walk along the well tended paved paths hugging the cliffs to a modern shopping area with banks, clothing shops, grocery stores, restaurants, etc.
I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were friendly, spoke beautiful English, and addressed any concerns. Also try the restaurant as the selection of food is vast and well prepared.

Room Tip: The lower floors are further from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support.
I am more than happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and that you where so pleased with our staff and the food of course.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Bozanja
Valamar Dubrovnik President General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
845 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $158 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing