We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The week we had a this hotel was simply perfect. Everything about it is just excellent - room, views, food,cleanliness are faultless. Breakfasts are great with a load of choice. However the thing that marks this hotel out from a lot of the others is the service which was just fantastic. I have never been anywhere quite like this for service - very friendly, helpful and hospitable and none of it came across as contrived.

I would however echo the other reviews about the bathrooms and the potential difficulty for accessing the shower and the bath - bit odd given its such a high class hotel. It needs to be addressed quickly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on 5th floor Bear in mind the comment about bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guests,

I am glad you found President hotel up to your needs and expectations. Thanks a lot for all the nice words about the room, the view and specially the service. This gives a special boost to the staff to be even better.

We all in the hotel appreciate the effort guests go to leaving their comments on web sites and learn out of them as much as possible.

So once again thank you for writing a review and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fifth stay with my family at the President and once again, a superb choice. First class food both at breakfast and evening meal. Entertainment was very enjoyable with the singer / keyboard player worthy of note. It is not every day a Swiss octogenerian dances with your wife!
For those who are toying with the idea of staying at this hotel, I would strongly suggest that you take the plunge and book, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great hotel, fabulous views, brilliant staff, food is excellent, everywhere is clean and tidy, there is one problem that is the bath, you need long legs to get into the bath and short ones once you are in to enable you to sit down, the shower is also located above the bath and the same applies again you need long legs to get in, there is an offer of a small step which does help , this hotel is due for an upgrade to 5 star next year and they need to consider the bath situation first

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for sending a review to Trip advisor and for staying at our hotel which I see was up to your expectations.
We know about the guests whishes for lower bathtubs, so we've already planned this in the upcoming investment in autumn.
It's nice to read you were more than happy with all the other things in the hotel, so I hope this brings you back to President again.

Until then all the very best from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June 2013 and it was a pleasure to stay there.
Bad Points:
The rooms and hotel are looking a little tired but we are assured that a full makeover is being carried out this winter.
The lift is slow (but unique and interesting) again this is supposedly being replaced.
The outside dining area is swamped with sparrows who fly through the dining area. I watched them eat a guests meal whilst he popped into the restaurant for a drink. Not sure what (if anything) the hotel can do about them but they can be annoying.
No more bad points.

Good Points:
The staff are fantastic. Every one of them was very friendly and helpful from the cleaners and restaurant staff to the management team.
The food is excellent and never-ending.
Free items such as hypo allergenic or orthaepedic pillows are available and freely given.
The location of the rooms (all west facing) make for great sunsets and cruise ship spotting.

All in all we loved staying there.The bus service to town is every 10 minutes but we found the drivers to be complete opposites to the hotel staff and the single decker buses get extremely full.
All in all the hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suggest paying a premium for a larger room on the higher floors as you get genuine massive queen siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomeanfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guests,

It's nice you shared with us all the bad and good points of your visit.
As you all have probably heard we are planning a huge investment this winter and all the things you mentioned will be solved for next season.
I must comment on the superb photos you made. The colours and angles you took them from are great and I think you have a natural touch for photography.
Keep up the good work, as I am sure all the viewers have enjoyed these photos.

Thank you for staying with us and hope you manage to come again.

Kind regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

fantastic hotel right on the beach. Lovely views from our balcony right across the bay. Buffet meals were very good. Only one thing I would wish to correct - the bathroom has a over the bath shower and the bath is very high. Not too good for someone who is disabled. We asked about it for my son and we were given a step so problem was solved but maybe something to think about when the President gets upgraded next year. Overall excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elandspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for coming to President hotel and I hope your son enjoyed it just as much as you did. It's good to hear the step helped him entering the bath.
Next year we are planning on doing new bathrooms and the bathtubs are going to be lower, so the access is easier. We'll have rooms with showers as well.
Thank you for the lovely review and for all the nice words of support. We are pleased we managed to make your holiday enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your visit ... hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel is the service. All the staff are very helpful and will go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is pleasant, in particular the hospitality desk, where we planned our excursions and trips each day with ease. The hotel is very clean and all the rooms have a great sea view. The breakfast was lovely and we ate once from the a la carte menu in the evening which was excellent. The cocktails at the bar are also very good! It is worth exploring the coastal walk in the evening as there are some nice restaurants down there, as well as catching the convenient bus into the old town. The swimming pool is great and a nice spot for relaxing and sunbathing as the beach can get quite busy.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph_K1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
I am very glad you loved your holiday and enjoyed everything from the food, service, cleanliness, pool, cocktails ...
And of course, it's great to hear you would like to come back, which would be great.
So, hope you manage to do so.

Have a great rest of the summer and all the best from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights and would have stayed more if it hadn't been fully booked. It's not in walking distance from the old town, but the bus stop is directly outside the hotel and runs often. The staff was friendly, the room clean and spacious. We had a large private balcony with lounge chairs facing the ocean that was perfect for sunbathing, if you didn't want to go down to the beach.

The breakfast buffet had a wide choice and you can get fresh pressed juice for a small surcharge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMK8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday, coming from beautiful Switzerland.
I am very sorry in a way for being fully booked so you couldn't stay longer with us. On the other side it's good being so busy which means we must be doing a good job.
Switzerland is not to far away, so we hope you come again some time. I suggest you contact us before so we can make a booking and this way you won't have to be affraid we'll be fully booked.
Best regards from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $168 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing