We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique location makes Bellevue a solid upmarket choice for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique location makes Bellevue a solid upmarket choice for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed in the Bellevue over the August bank holiday weekend in 2009 for six nights.

We found the front desk very helpful, the food quality and prices good in comparison to what we experienced elsewhere in Dubrovnik and the room spotless. The little bay underneath the hotel has crystal clear water and nice beach café serving cold drinks and lunch menu at reasonable prices. The hotel indeed commands fantastic views over the Adriatic sea. The hotel was recently refurbished, and we while were not taken by the décor, we found it quite easy on the eye.

I would however like to warn the fellow travelers that the critical comments posted elsewhere in these reviews have some ground. There is never smoke without fire.
1.The major downside to us was the overall quality of service at breakfast and during the day at beach café. As posted by someone in 2007, the staff are present, just not interested in serving you. You need to actively get someone's attention in order to get any type of service – refill of coffee or a cold drink at the beach bar. To be fair, we found similar standard of waiting service elsewhere in Dubrovnik (e.g. at fine dining and very expensive restaurant Nautika)
2.The quality of fruit and juices at breakfast was disappointing.
3.Be prepared that the beach while very picturesque is by no means private and gets crowded and really noisy, when the nearby local school closes for the day. The beach café, the showers and the hotel deck with loungers are fully open to non-residents.
4.To avoid any further debate about the length of the walk to the old town I mapped it in Google and it is exactly 0.8 mile / 1.3 km, thus not so long. We, however, found it neither picturesque, nor pleasant. In fact one has to thread along a narrow pavement laid parallel to a pretty busy and noisy road (Branitelja Dubrovnika). We were particularly put off by the view of very hungry looking cats roaming for food in the waste containers alongside the way. We chose to use either bus or taxi whenever we ventured out to the old town after we have done our first trip on foot.
5.We had some minor problems with the room (e.g. no light in the shaving mirror in the bathroom) which we reported three times but the hotel could not get them fixed.
Looking back, I would say that this hotel was the right choice for Dubrovnik for the season, due to its unique status of a beach hotel located in walking proximity to the old city. While this hotel definitely falls short from the 5 star standards of Western European or American establishments, at €225 per night it provided a reasonable value for money for a short break in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_UK-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    314
    69
    10
    5
See reviews for
161
933
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We booked this hotel for the last night of our holiday as a treat to ourselves. After a week of hostels exploring this great country, to end up in a pit of luxury that banishes those final holiday night stresses seemed the perfect idea. It was 5 star, that is as much as we knew, so our expectations were pretty high before we arrived. Nevertheless, the hotel delivered far more. The staff were perfectly respectful and helpful. The room was magnificent, with slipper bath, four poster bed and spacious to boot. Not bad for a standard room.
The hotel benefits from a private beach. This does not mean quiet however, as I guess the entire hotel population are using it constantly.
The spa is also a good feature. The pool is small, but they have a sauna and steam room to accompany it.
We took the taster menu at the restaurant (raved about to be one of Dubrovnik's best in the local magazines) and had the most wonderful of meals. The service was a little disjointed, but very friendly, and the food was outstanding. All set on a terrace overlooking the Adriatic.
In summary, I recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for a spot of luxury near to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupdecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Absolutely loved this hotel, like the last review we too were on honeymoon and got the very same treatment, letter from manager, roses in the room and a bottle of bubble too....great fist impressions all together, staff were so accommodating, do anything for you...
We planned on doing some sight seeing but when you lie on that private beach what more in life could you wish for, it was so special...chilled out and enjoyed.
As for Dubrovnik, it's fantastic, so different to any other resort I've been to, will defiantly go back there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claralara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Spent three wonderful days at the Bellevue on our honeymoon (which we're still on yet felt compelled to write right away) and were thrilled throughout. The hotel has its own beautiful private cove and beach on a cliff just outside the old city (~15 min walk), so you can have a beach vacation away from it all or dip into the center of Dubrovnik as you like. The room was nicely appointed in soft wood, and we even had lavender and rosemary growing outside on our balcony. Free wireless internet was easy and fast. The service was particularly good - first of all, we let them know in advance that it was our honeymoon and when we arrived, everyone at the hotel congratulated us and went out of their way to be super-friendly and make it a great stay. The desk was helpful in recommending great restaurants, both those we'd found in our books (e.g., Konoba Peskarija) and those that weren't (Posat), and helped us take care of parking our car for the last night we were there. Breakfast (included) was a standout - same kinds of meats/cheeses/pastries/juices we found at other high-end hotels in Croatia, but done better and tastier, and served in gorgeous surroundings (get a seat by the window and enjoy one of the best Adriatic views you'll find!). Really, we could not have been happier! Only wish we'd had a chance to try their restaurant - looked good, but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Had a brilliant stay at the Bellevue, fully deserves its position as one of the top hotels in Dubrovnik.

PLUS points:
- Location is a short (15-20min) walk or bus ride to the centre of Dubrovnik
- Amazing view of Miramare bay/ beach from every room, the bar & restaurant
- Good breakfast buffet with a wide choice of food, which you can eat outside on the veranda overlooking the beach
- Lovely indoor infinity pool with spa
- Great private beach, with bar serving good range of drinks and excellent food
- Peaceful
(although avoid rooms 406-410 which are noisy in the morning due to proximity from the restaurant)
- Very helpful staff, excellent, non-intrusive service

Adriatic Luxury Services have a desk in the hotel so will arrange all day trips, activities etc you need.

Only slight compliant is the gym being quite small (1 cycling, 1 cross-training, 1 rowing machine) - although unlikely you`d be going there for exercise!

Rooms are a little small, but really not a problem as you`ll want to spend more time on the beach or balcony

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Just back from a 6 day stay and loved every minute. Do do have a balcony I didnt for the first night and had to upgrade immediately as the balcony over the beach and adriatic absolutely made the stay. The pool and spa are great and the lift to the beach makes this a perfect split between a city and beach break for people like me who cant spend to long on a beach without gettinng both pink and bored.

I agree with comments about breakfast need to have more cooked to order options and make sure guests know about them. Otherwise all else was really high quality without being fussy and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

A fantastic end to our stay in Croatia. The room was spacious (and the balcony and view were definitely worth the upgrade), the staff could not have been more helpful, the food in all the restaurants was excellent, the spa treatment was so relaxing, and the private beach was fantastic - clear and calm blue seas and sunshine - what more could you want!
I honestly can't fault this hotel - we enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely be going back at some point.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shil0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing