We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A boutique hotel worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

As boutique hotels go, this one was not on the lower end of the price scale, nor was it at the top end. It was one that fell somewhere in the middle, but was worth every penny.

My wife and I just returned from our two week Croatian adventure and wrapped everything up with four days at the Bellevue Hotel in Dubrovnik. And although not everything was perfect (please read on), it was certainly an experience I would recommend for discerning travelers.

Let's start with the only thing that we didn't really like all that much. Minor thing that didn't affect the overall experience too much, but perhaps an area of consideration.

The (over) use of perfumes in the halls.
Not sure what their reasoning is - but it is a bit overwhelming when you first walk the halls. Fortunately - it does not filter into the room itself!

From the warm, friendly greeting at the door, front desk and the concierge, you realize that you're in a good place. In fact, the first impression of the building itself makes you wonder if you're in a small, boutique hotel... but once the big glass doors slide open to the expansive lobby and full glass windows looking over the Adriatic - you then know you're in a special place.

Everything about the Bellevue is updated, chic and modern. Contemporary design is evident in every aspect of the hotel. Rooms, restaurants, lobby, elevators (there is a panoramic elevator that is all glass overlooking the beach and sea... very cool!), fitness centre, etc... it's all gorgeous.

The beach at the very base of the property is lovely. Not large, not sandy and can be a little crowded on weekends (as it serves as a public beach for locals too), but you simply can't resist it. Taking the elevator down (or the steep stairs, if you wish) is like traveling through a portal to a new world. The elevator is carved right into the rock that underpins the hotel itself... transferring guests about 30 meters from hotel to sea. It's quite a marvel or construction, when you think about the work that went into it. A friendly staff hands you a clean towel and off you go. Remember to bring something to wear on your feet... the pebble beach is not easy on them. But nothing to keep you from going, that's for sure. The water is clear and clean as anything you will see... and there is a cool cave just 20 meters off shore. Water is about 21 degrees now, so a little refreshing at first... but should warm up in the coming weeks to a nice 25 degrees. Enjoy! Oh, and there is a restaurant at the beach. Not cheap for drinks or food, but the convenience can't be beat. It's one of the few hotels with a beach... and a lovely one at that.

The included breakfast is delicious. The view from your seat is priceless. Coffee is hot, service is efficient and selection is good. What more could you ask for from a 'free breakfast' ;-)

The spa, while smaller in size, has what you need to take the edge off. I good steam room, a hot dry sauna and a funky water feature for you feet that I never really wrapped my head around. The pool is lovely and the spa (hot tub) is warm-to-hot with a central jet that will surprise you if you're not expecting it. Try it and you'll see... ;-)

There are many hotel options for travelers heading to Dubrovnik... but the Bellevue's combination location (1.3 km walk downhill to the Old City), beach, facilities, service and price make it a worthy contender. It's not cheap, especially as we head into peak season pricing, but it's something to consider if you're looking for something modern and hip.

If you go, enjoy!

David & Mandy
Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: We had room 101. No balcony but large windows overlooking the Adriatic. I think it would have need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmandy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear David and Mandy,
Thank you for sharing your praising comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am extremely happy to note that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel,the beach,the view,the food in our restaurant.
I was delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations. Nothing is more motivating than reading words like yours.
Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    308
    69
    10
    5
See reviews for
158
910
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you get a deal the above are worth it! Personally, I don't feel the need for a maid to come to the room more than twice in the day but I do admit to enjoying the chocolates left for us in the evening. There is a small shop for drinks across the road and it's an easy walk to town for bars and eateries. Try Nautica for posh seafood but the one across from that is cheaper, nice food and has live jazz on the terrace. At the hotel, there wasn't a kettle/ coffee and tea which wasn't so good for the caffeine addicts amongst us. The curtains didn't really shut out the light so no lying in bed late! The breakfast out on the terrace overlooking the sea was nice - fruit, cereal,hot buffet, sparkling wine if you wanted! Just try and pick a table away from loud toffs! The indoor pool and jacuzzi (a bit chilly for me) were open until midnight which was good for relaxing after a hard day walking around the sights. If you have time, get the local bus to Montenegro or Mostar. We went to korcula island for a few days which was a nice trip worth doing. From the airport you can get the local bus into Dubrovnik, change onto the number 4 bus up the hill 3 or 4 stops and look out for the tinted dark windows of vapour restaurant which is part if the hotel. It's actually hard to see the hotel name from the bus. It is a walk of about 100 -200 metres from the bus stop. Alternatively, there's a taxi rank where the airport bus stops at pile gate at the old town.....You can afford it if you book the Bellevue!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear ukcat1,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travellers on Tripadvisor's pages.
Thank you for pointing out our location,our beach and crystal clear sea,
I am sorry that you did not eat in our a la carte fine dining restaurant "Vapor",because food is delicious and very nicely presented.
There is no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms but we supply it "on request" FOC.
We are looking forward welcoming you again soon.
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

my wife and i have just returned from a 7 day stay at the Bellevue hotel and from the minute we arrived the service was first class throughout the hotel, nothing was too much trouble and the setting is magnificent we both had a fantastic relaxing holiday so a big thank you to Luce Baca and her wonderful staff, we both love the city and would love to return some day, only down side to whole holiday is when you return to Dubrovnik airport unfortunately it is a shambles with only 2 x-ray machines for thousands of tourists , hate to think what it will be like in July/August

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with balcony well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Graham,
Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor's pages.
It was my pleasure meeting you during your stay with us and I really hope to welcome you again in our beautiful Dubrovnik and hotel Bellevue.
Sincerely,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel director, Luce Baca, and her staff strive to deliver first class service throughout this wonderfully located property and mostly they succeed, with an exceptional wrinkle quickly ironed out. Our dining experience was routinely enhanced by the warm professionalism of senior staff, Anton in particular, who made us feel special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manothehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Manothehills,
Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for sharing your kind feedback.
Your kind comments regarding the services of our senior waiter Antun will certanly be forwarded to him.
Thank you very much once again and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Sincerely
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The views from your room will not disappoint, no matter how negligent the wait staff is at the restaurants. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment here with the backdrop if the pristine Adriatic Sea. The property is peaceful and conveys that vibe as soon as you enter it. Prices here, as in much of dubrovnik, reflect a popular tourist destination and will not be as economical as perhaps you will hope. I did not eat at the restaurants, but the two times I ordered a drink, it took quite a while to receive it, even though I was the only patron during one of those times. During breakfast they seem better staffed, but I did have to seek out my own coffee on more than one occasion. The beach is lovely and clean, with comfortable beach chairs. However, no one will come down to the beach to see if you want a drink or check on towels. You have to walk back up to the restaurant and ask for these. I don't know if that is a policy, but if it is, it doesn't reflect the service which is congruent with a "luxury hotel". However, when I noticed that my shower drain was not functional, this was fixed almost immediately upon reporting it. The fitness room is small but has treadmills, an exercise bike and weights, which makes for a functional workout. The pool area is nice, but the jacuzzi was a bit cold for my taste. Also, Barbara, one of the hotel concierges, was truly excellent, with friendly, knowledgable and professional service for anything I asked. If everyone else who worked at the hotel was like her, this place would get 11 stars! If you are looking for a gorgeous view within easy walking distance to old town, and won't mind a paucity of service, then you will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: The 4th floor balconies are the most private, as you can see all the other balconies from the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitmreeg r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Kitmreeg R,
Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor's pages. I am so happy to learn that you liked very much our property,our beach,wellness. I am sorry that you did not eat in our restaurant "Vapor" because the food is really delicious.
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with drink service at the beach chairs,but as the summer is coming with high temperatures we'll have waiter walking around the beach chairs.
I am also sorry that you did not use our restaurant "Nevera" on the beach also where we serve nice and light meals.
We do hope that we will have opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future should you join us once again.
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great hotel with superb services and great location just minutes away from the city walls. Accomodation is modern and super clean and staff was always very helpful. There was a party in next door house the first night we arrived and they just would not stop playing loud music until 2am, but hotel was calling police to shut it down and when police was late, they just offer to move us to a different room where we could not hear it. Excellent! We wanted to have a tour through Game of Thrones locations and everything was arranged for us from the hotel. Beach is smallish but great and also their wellness studio offer excellent massages. We were leaving very early to catch our flight back home but we still go little breakfast bags with us. I loved every minute of the stay. Dont forget to eat in their hotel restaurant, it is one of the best in the city!

Room Tip: We had a room just with a window, not a balcony and we were happy. We were walking around a lot so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear HelaG,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your experience in our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our rooms,location,and the most important that you loved our staff.
Also, I would like to thank you for recommendation of the food in our restaurant "Vapor".
Recognition is very important to us as there is nothing more rewarding than a positive comment from a happy guest.
We hope to see you again!!
Sincerely,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Writing this just before leaving the hotel. Have to say that this is one of my favourite places to have stayed.

In an earlier review somebody said the staff were rude. All I can think is that they themselves mustn't have been the nicest of people as our experience was that they were helpful and kind, faultless. Reception staff, staff in the restaurants, Spa staff and cleaners were all wonderfully helpful.

We upgraded to a room with a balcony. Well worth it. The rooms themselves are modern and very well equipped. Nice selection of L'occataine products too.

The restaurant is excellent, had dinner here twice as we loved the Tramanic wine. The food was very good, highly recommend the excellent seafood. Breakfast, buffet style was also excellent with a good choice and dishes replenished frequently. There is a seperate area for smokers so that you can eat breakfast overlooking the Adriatic without worrying about being smoked on, unless you like that kind of thing.

The Gym/Spa is also good. The pool is a bit on the small side and unheated but quite refreshing. There aren't quite enough loungers but this is largely because people leave their stuff on them whilst going off to use the sauna, etc. The pool is indoors btw. The gym is small, most of the equipment works well but the exercise bike has a wobbly seat (please can this be fixed). The Sauna is also small but very nice. All included in the room rate.

I am reluctant to praise the hotel too highly, not because it is undeserved but because we would rather keep it a secret. However everything about the place works beautifully, and for this alone they deserve many more guests and future success.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony, and go for the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luce B, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear LondonDavidS,
Thank you very much for this wonderful vivid description and valuable comments.I am really flattered and happy to have such a great feedback,Our aim is to always be up to our guests'expectations.
We are also very excited to know that you loved our staff,our food and wine in our restaurant "Vapor". I have forwarded your nice comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Dubrovnik,
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing