We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A four star hotel, surely not......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A four star hotel, surely not......”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

From the moment we arrived it was obvious the hotel was one of luxury and the finer details mattered. The entrance to the hotel is large and spacious and immaculate in cleanliness and style. The check in procedure was very quick and simple, with the front of house staff being very friendly, professional and informative.

We arrived to our standard room and thought that we has been upgraded as the room was spacious and airy. We requested a double bed which we had, not only was the bed more than comfortable but we had a choice of pillow softness. We specifically requested a quiet room and we were given a room on an end, this meant every night we had a peaceful nights sleep and woke naturally to the sun rising over the mountains.

The dining experience was overwhelming with so much choice and a variety of meals available in the "show and cook" kitchen every night, we never had the same meal twice in the 9 days we stayed. Both breakfast and evening meal could not be faulted and as a fussy eater that is unusual for me.

The staff at the hotel are warm, caring and are genuinely interested whilst upholding their professionalism, there was always a manager in the restaurant and the hotel which shows how much they care about the guests. All the staff to the time to say Good Morning etc....... We were very pleased with Dolores our House Keeper, she was dedicated to her role and went above and beyond to please, nothing was too much trouble for her and she is an asset to the hotel. Our sincere high praise to her.

The pool areas were clean and tidy, although we did not use these facilities. There were plenty of sunbeds and covered sun bed area, the only downside as with any typical holiday maker they have a habit of placing there towel on the bed at breakfast and not move until evening meal, a possible policy for this not to happen would enhance the hotel experience.

Location was fantastic, 5 minutes to the local beach or another 10 minutes in the opposite direction and another beautiful 2 beaches await you. A pleasant walk to the harbour, about an hour but worth it for the views. The buses are frequent (every 10 minutes, number 6) directly into the Old Town which is well worth many visits. The tickets for the bus are 24 Kuna return, tickets available at the shop, however a great tip is the Dubrovnik Card, its a 1,3 or 7 day card.

We went for the 7 day card costing 250 Kuna which allowed 20 bus journeys and free visits to the top 8 attractions/museums in the Old Town and saved a lot of money and well worth it.

We did some research about excursions before we left the UK and found them to vary in costs greatly so. So we decided to book when we were there and see for ourselves and found i Tours a small family run business in the small arcade of shops by the hotel and they were so friendly and welcoming so much so that we booked all our trips with and these were cost effective and much more reasonably priced than other Tour Operators on the internet.

We would certainly recommend the 3 Island Tour, Snorkeling and Beach Hopping Tour and most of all the Buggy Tour on top of Mount Srdj that took us into the deep forests of Croatia and our guide was amazing and explained where the war started, which led us to the War Museum again very poignant and certainly puts the war in prospective and how much the local endured.

Check out was fast and efficient and we cannot fault the hotel in anyway at all........A four star hotel, surely not......A 5 star hotel a definite!!!!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be more than acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PaulHeinri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    563
    165
    40
    13
See reviews for
173
706
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2014

we stayed at Argosy for one week in july and was very happy with our stay. Welcoming and helpful staff(waiters a bit slow though), nice rooms, great breakfast and lunch bufèt and a nice pool area. was great value for money. Good chance that I will stay at Argosy if I go back to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haraldhelgesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Valamar in June 2014 with our two kids 10 and 3.
The hotel is on a strip of valamar hotels and the location is quite decent. There are a lot of nice places to eat around and the bus just stops outside the hotel to take you to old town.
What I like about the hotel is it's kids friendliness . There is a desperate kids pool at the hotel and also a small play area with slides . My 3 year old and my friends toddler loved playing there in the mornings.
Also walking distance from the hotel is the copacabana beach which has lots of fun stuff for kids. It has water slides and bouncy in the sea for the kids to enjoy . Also the beach restaurant was good with a variety of beers and cocktail options.
The hotels dining room has a door connecting it to a promenade shared by other valamar properties , which has lots of shopping choices, two super marts selling wines , food etc and also has 4-5 restaurants in case you don't want to eat at the hotel everyday.
The breakfast buffet at the hotel was excellent with a lot of choices .
We also had dinner included in our room package and was pretty good with lots of seafood , meat, and vegetarian options.
They also have their own Valamar wines which are delicious .
We had a sea view balcony room and to be honest the room size and decor was basic and just okay . The bathrooms were also just okay and nothing great. But the view from the balcony made up for it all.
Overall the stay at Valamar was pleasant and fun.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbhalla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel - great setting close to centre of Dubrovnik though the buses could get very crowded so we tended to return by taxi - the staff were all very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the buffet as a huge variety every evening and we tried a number of wines from the wine list - the only downside if I'm being picky was the hairdryer which proved challenging with long thick hair! Pool setting was fabulous for watching the cruise ships and sailing boats passing by. We will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just spent a week's holiday in Croatia with Riviera Travel and our first hotel was Hotel Park in Makarska, which was brilliant but unfortunately the Valamar Argosy did not meet the same standards. When we arrived and walked into the reception we were very impressed but over the next four nights we became very disillusioned. It did have some good points and I'll start with them. Our check-in at reception was very quick although this was probably more to do with Riviera Travel providing our personal and passport details in advance. However, the reception staff albeit professional were not very friendly and did not acknowledge you unless you went up to reception and waited to be served. The reception bar was excellent with friendly and efficient staff who made you feel welcome and valued and the seating area was very comfortable. The view from the dining room and pool area was to die for, especially at night when the sunset made you drool. Across the road from the hotel is a lovely park with a good restaurant and a small shopping area with a couple of bars that we frequented. There is also a lovely walk along the cliff top with beautiful views and bars for ice cream and drinks and food along the way. There is a frequent bus service from the hotel into Dubrovnik using tickets that you can buy in the hotel shop. Well, those are a lot of good points but we had most of these good points at the other hotel as well as good service. The disappointing points about this hotel is mainly to do with the service provided by the staff who did not make us feel like valued guests who they would like to return. The dining room was huge with various individual islands serving food and because of the number of guests and the layout of the islands people were bumping in to each other and it was chaos. Food was not replenished quickly enough, which meant that we had to wait for vegetables of meats etc and by the time we got back to our table our food was cold. In fact, most of the vegetables and soup was cold anyway and it seemed as though they relied on the hot plates to heat and finish cooking the food. During the for nights that we were there the food seemed to be the same every night with no variations. The service at the table was very unprofessional with servers stretching across us instead of being behind us. The wine was not served in a professional manner and apart from one member of staff, nobody seemed to acknowledge us or try to be friendly. Nobody asked us if we were satisfied or if we were having a good holiday at any time. The room service was even worse. On one occasion when we returned from a day out our bed had not been made, on other occasions the duvet had just been roughly pulled across, the bottom sheet and the duvet had not been smoothed out, the pillow had not been touched to plump up or arrange our nightwear. The glasses that we used for nighttime water were not changed, the room was dusty, our towels were not changed while we were there or even folded up and placed on the rack. I will end on a good point though because we were in room 131 on the ground floor and we had a lovely patio that led onto a garden on the top of the cliff overlooking the bay where we could watch the cruise ships and boats coming and going. But because of the service, we would sadly not choose this hotel for a future visit to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Valamar Argosy and gutted to be back home! The hotel is simply amazing and more than we expected. We had a room on the top floor and despite not having a balcony (appeared to be the only one) we had the most breathtaking view of the peninsular, sea and mountains. I couldn't quite believe our luck when I opened the curtains in the morning (we arrived at night...)

The pool area is luxurious with brand new sunbeds and an infinity pool. The ambiance was perfect with views of the sea and passing boats and cruise ships. There was no need to rush in the morning to bag a sunbed as there were plenty available even in the afternoon. Pool side towels were also provided. There was also a poolside bar with friendly staff.

The food at the hotel was top notch! Best I have ever experienced as a buffet style dinner. There were lots of different stations with freshly cooked meat (including rump steak), fish, pasta and delicious grilled vegetables. There was also loads of salad options, cheese and desserts! My boyfriend was really pleased to see bacon and eggs for breakfast, along with freshly baked pastries and lots of fruit to choose from including cherries, strawberries and watermelon!

Praise needs to also go to the restaurant staff who quickly clear tables so you can have a seat in your preferred area. We often chose to sit outside to dine on the top balcony area to watch the sun set whilst dining. The staff in that section were particularly friendly and helpful.

The situation of the hotel is also great, being only a short bus ride from Dubrovnik old town. The bus stop is outside the hotel and runs every 10 minutes. The bus tickets are cheaper from the shop but they are cheap in any event.

Dubrovnik itself if fantastic and now top of my list of places to visit. Price wise, it depends of which bar/restaurant you choose. Generally, the drinks and food are cheaper than in England. The restaurants nearer the hotel are cheaper than the old town. We found the prices in the hotel to be reasonable.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and would definitely return to the Valamar Argosy and we are already recommending it to our family and friends. We did get a deal for this hotel via Travelzoo and we only hope we can get a similar deal with this hotel in the future!

Many thanks to the Valamar Argosy for a fantastic and memorable holiday!!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room and away from the central bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent 10 days here and the hotel was great. We stayed on a half board basis and I was a little concerned as sometimes the food a buffet in hotel can be a little poor and repetitive but this was great every night we ate there. There was fresh fish every night and a good selection of other options for fussy eaters including pizza and pasta and even a roast dinner if you wanted it. Breakfast was really good with a good choice of freshly cooked food. Get a seat on the balcony from dinner and breakfast the view is incredible, especially sunset.
Our room was great. Nice and big with a really comfy bed (I didn't miss my own at home). We had a lovely balcony with a sea view which was really worth the extra cost. Sitting out on the balcony of an evening was the perfect way to relax and enjoy a drink. From our room we had a view of an island just off shore and it was perfect for sitting and watching the boats, everything from cruise liners to canoes, go past. Our room along with the rest of the hotel was always cleaned really well.
The pool area was lovely. Clean and tidy with plentiful sun loungers, although the best spots did go quite early. The sun beds were very comfy with a good 'shade' to go over your face so you could easily read. The pool was lovely and the view from the pool was great, the only trouble was that it was so cold your couldn't stay in long enough to enjoy it. Our first day there we got in the pool and it really took your breath away, although it did warm up after a few continuous days of sunshine. Aqua aerobics was good every morning at 11am, really woke us up after a big breakfast.
Out of the hotel there was a small cluster of shops, restaurants and bars under a 5 minute walk away which meant the basics were not far away. The bus stop is 2 mins away and the bus to the old town arrives every 10mins and takes about 15mins into town. Buy the tickets from the gift shop in the hotel as they are cheaper than buying on the bus. These are not return so if there are 2 of you, so buy 4 tickets!
All in all a lovely hotel, great staff, wonderful location. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a sea view. You won’t be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlovernat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing