We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Pucic Palace(Dubrovnik)
$448
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$978
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$201
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Lapad(Dubrovnik)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$130
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tirena Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveler rating
522
635
185
42
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
635
185
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelthe hotel shopthe buspool areacoral beach clubold townbabin kukdrinks packagebuffet stylesea viewaqua aerobicsbreakfast and dinnercava beachlast stoplovely hotelhalf boardsmall shopping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A labyrinth of a place! Points to consider if you want accommodation here - a) Some rooms are a long way from reception, bar and restaurant, less able guests would struggle. B) The restaurant is more like a canteen where mayhem reigns. It was very noisy and frantic especially in the evenings. C)There were insufficient easy chairs unless you consider sitting in a downstairs area where it is gloomy, cold and unwelcoming. D)Hotel grounds and gardens were badly neglected and overgrown thus hiding the sea view and sunsets from ground floor rooms.E) There was a lack of privacy in ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 933Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us; it is appreciated.

I am really sad to see you rated us as a “poor choice” and I am very sorry if you did not find anything up to your expectations.

However, I hope that you spent nice vacation in Dubrovnik and also hope you will give us opportunity to host you again in future.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a sprawling hotel which exercises the legs and challenges your sense of direction and memory! The key to understanding this hotel is (a) that you reception and entrance are on level 2, and that the dining room is located BETWEEN levels 2 and 3. Following direction signs from reception to the dining room leads you along corridors then up a flight of stairs. Being on level 1 it was easier to take the lift to level 3, along corridor then down a flight!

Once you found the huge dining room you discover that it's split into several areas to test your memory as you try to trace your steps back to the table you've left your marker on.

There is a large range of excellent food; with "chefs" manning some of the serveries cooking in front of you. It can get very busy and the non-queuing manners of a few guests can be annoying - you can tell the foreigners from countries that don't place cricket!

The hotel is located a on a peninsula with several other hotels within a pleasant and well maintained park. There is also a small shopping centre with bars and touristy shops.

Close by is the terminus for the number 6 bus which goes down to the old town - buy your ticket from the hotel shop and save 2 kuna! Catching the bus back can be traumatic - it's those foreigners again who pretend to queue then mob the door of the bus when it arrives. The driver's rule of thumb is that the bus is not full until the doors attempt to amputate random limbs from the last few to get on.

The hotel had switched off the air conditioning, so although you could get the fan on your room's unit to run, it did did nothing to regulate the temperature, so even in September it was too warm at times.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a see view, and the ones on level 1 are too low to see the sea over the shrubbery.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_and_Gwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to share your impressions with us.

Although a bit challenging, I'm glad you found our hotel satisfying too.


We hope to welcome you again in Dubrovniki and in Hotel Argosy!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel feels like it is stuck in the 80's. The staff are helpful, but the housecleaning is not up too scratch. Sometimes your drinks aswell as the empty bottles are left from the night before.
I could hear the people in the rooms above through the ventilation unit and the staff are not so quite in the mornings.
The rooms however are quite sizeable, and have a decent size balcony. I do think there are rooms without balcony's though.
The hotel is situated close to the beach and only a 5-10 min drive to the old town.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank suerivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your most recent stay.. We do apologize if you were not impressed with the aesthetics of the room and all with mentioned in your review.
Please know we are currently in the stages of renovation and the rooms will be updated toghether with lobby, and pool area with brand new outdoor pool.
I am very glad you found most of our staff heplfull, and thank you for bringing everthing else to my attention.
We all truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was very much to our liking, in spite of its size and sprawling corridors. We were there end of September and the weather was just perfect which of course added to our good experience. Staff was correct and helfpul to all our needs, giving the right advice without trying to be "overly" nice. The room was facing the sea and this also added to good feeling since the view any time of day or night from the comfortable balcony was delightful (picture attached). Breakfast was plentiful and good. Given the fact that there are so many tourists, this good breakfast service must be remarked. Of course you have to know how to get your own coffee hot bottle and other small details, but travelers with a little bit of experince know all these details. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom too. The path around the hotel near the shore is lovely and it has a few restaurants you can try if you come late back from Dubrovnik and don't want to go back to the old town to eat. We came travelling by car thru the Dalmatian coast and we must reamrk the easy parking and the great bus number 6 that takes you right to the gate of the old city and back. Fantastic not to have to drive into the old city. The price is not cheap compared to other places in Croatia (and in absolute terms also), but all in all very recommendable, especially if you get a sea facing room and travel by car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for a great review of Argosy hotel, as we are very happy to read that you had a great time in our hotel and that enjoyed our facilities as well as our services.

We hope to great you again in Argosy and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Best regards from Dubrovnik to Buenos Aires!

Josip Konjevod-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This sprawling hotel of the 1970's lies on a promontory 5 miles north of Dubrovnik. It has been largely modernised, leaving a spacious reception area and restaurant, but with the possibility of a long walk from reception to bedroom and from bedroom to bar or restaurant. The sunsets are magnificent if you have a room facing the sea for which there is an extra charge. Otherwise the hotel buildings obscure most of the view.The bedrooms are uniformly comfortable with a decent bathroom which includes a bath. Both our breakfasts and dinners were sumptuous with a wide choice at the buffet. Excellent strong coffee was served by staff at breakfast and at dinner the house wine was excellent and cheap. The bedrooms have WiFi and willing technical help from staff if needed.The hotel intends to provide a new swimming pool next year. It was easy to take the number 6 bus which ran every ten minutes into Dubrovnik though some heartier people were walking there and back along a costal track.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and, if you do not want to pay extra for a sea and sunset view, take a south facing room at some distance from the atrium which can be noisy in the evening.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryNWLondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this comment and share your experience and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.
I am glad to hear you liked your stay with us, and especially the magnificent views and wide choice and quality of food in our restaurant.
Hope we will have a chance to have you again in our hotel and your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable!

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews