We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting labyrinthine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Argosy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An interesting labyrinthine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This sprawling hotel of the 1970's lies on a promontory 5 miles north of Dubrovnik. It has been largely modernised, leaving a spacious reception area and restaurant, but with the possibility of a long walk from reception to bedroom and from bedroom to bar or restaurant. The sunsets are magnificent if you have a room facing the sea for which there is an extra charge. Otherwise the hotel buildings obscure most of the view.The bedrooms are uniformly comfortable with a decent bathroom which includes a bath. Both our breakfasts and dinners were sumptuous with a wide choice at the buffet. Excellent strong coffee was served by staff at breakfast and at dinner the house wine was excellent and cheap. The bedrooms have WiFi and willing technical help from staff if needed.The hotel intends to provide a new swimming pool next year. It was easy to take the number 6 bus which ran every ten minutes into Dubrovnik though some heartier people were walking there and back along a costal track.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and, if you do not want to pay extra for a sea and sunset view, take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryNWLondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this comment and share your experience and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.
I am glad to hear you liked your stay with us, and especially the magnificent views and wide choice and quality of food in our restaurant.
Hope we will have a chance to have you again in our hotel and your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable!

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    424
    137
    31
    9
See reviews for
108
542
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely site and really good, friendly staff but poor food with a "canteen" feel. Dinner from 7 till 9.30 but unless you arrived early, lots of "nothing!" A 70s hotel which must raise its standards, especially as Croatia's main economy now depends on tourism!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or at least an outside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor.
I am very sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. However I am glad you found our staff really good and friendly.
Thank you for your advice and I hope to see you again in our hotel if your travel plans brings you around.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great hotel for the price really good for getting out and about, we went on boat trip from the local beach,
No 6 bus made it so easy to get you to the city Walls. We got boat taxi to Cavat which was wonderful. Would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment posted here on Trip Advisor. It is pleasure to read you had a nice time in our hotel. Our final aim is to have every guest satified as you are.
There is no greater satisfaction to our team than to read that our guests would definitly return.

Many thanks once again for choosing our hotel for your vacation and we are looking forward to host you again.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Very good value hotel and whilst a little out of town, an excellent bus service (no. 6) makes access easy. Food is plentiful with a huge choice, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff pleasant and helpful. Lovely views are available from the hotel grounds.

It would be a pleasure to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Argosy hotel with fellow travelers. It’s always pleasure to read recommendations from our guests.
I am glad the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay in Argosy and I also hope this will encourage you to visit us again soon.

Best wishes from Dubrovnik,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It does what it says on the tin. It's a 3 star hotel, I really enjoyed my stay. Staff very good, especially Mariaja . Well done to you We liked Her a lot. Great wee hotel, we were made very welcome with hotel deputy manager, when he had a drinks reception for us, , what a lovely thought. Great location, suitable for families, couples, even solo travellers. Walk the grounds, walk the beaches. No 6 bus is 2 minutes from hotel Takes you straight to town. Very clean, food very good. I like the fact they cooked the food on the spot during breakfast and dinner. Beds were very comfortable, big spacious hotel plenty of room. Liked it and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celtictiger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Argosy for your vacation!

Let me extend our staff and my personal gratitude for the kind words with which you described the stay in our hotel. I am delighted that you pointed out Ms Mirjana because she is valuable member of our staff and she really deserved to have words of praise for her effort.
We are always proud to have satisfied guest is very rewarding and keeps us on the right track!
All of us in the hotel and especially Ms Mirjana hope to see you again in the future, and we are sending warm regards from Dubrovnik.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading the reviews regarding the food at the Hotel, we were looking forward to our 4 day stay at the Argosy, but in reality we were very disappointed with the quality and availability, on our first night we went to dinner at 8pm(after being told food was served until 9.30) only to find a lack of choice, we questioned if more cheese was available only to be told that "there had been
plenty of choice at 7pm, the following day chips were being plated up so enquired if we could
have some only to be told NO (no other explanation offered) a further night the Tomato soup was all but finished so enquired if any more available only to be told no only Vegetable, which was
susbsequently emptied onto the remains of the tomato soup!!!!!!! Breakfast was enjoyable, shame the evening food couldn't match this
No complaints about the room which was spotless and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us; it is appreciated.


We are very concerned you have found our dinner disappointing and also very happy you enjoyed the breakfast and room in hotel Argosy.

Please accept my sincere apology for disappointment caused by unprofessional behaviour of some members of our staff, which I believe was caused by lack of quality communication. Quality and quantity of our food must be the same from the beginning until the end of dinner.


We have taken action within our F&B department to make sure the food, service and communication are as per company standards.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod- General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here from 14july -24july 2013 The hotel was clean ,food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you.We thought at first we were to far from town but after visiting town a couple of times we were glad to get away from the crowds and back to the peace and quiet of our hotel,We thought the location perfect as you could walk along the coastal path as far as you wanted for drinks or food and if you wanted to go to town the bus was nearby and 15 minutes to town.I don`t know how anyone could complain about any of the staff at Argosy as everyone of them are lovely,and some of the people they have to put up with would try the patience of a saint.If we go back to Croatia this is where we would stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthc690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel following your recent stay. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and with your comments for Argosy staff.
We could not be more grateful for your kind words.
Many thanks once again for your recommendation and we all hope you will get the opportunity to visit Argosy hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#12 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
#11 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#15 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you in 2014 as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, brand new infinity pool and one more great novelty - wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing