We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$144
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$415
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ariston Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$158
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$986
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$318
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$365
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$400
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$130
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tirena Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$122
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Park(Dubrovnik)
$131
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveler rating
522
635
185
42
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
635
185
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelthe hotel shopthe buspool areacoral beach clubold townbabin kukdrinks packagebuffet stylesea viewaqua aerobicsbreakfast and dinnercava beachlast stoplovely hotelhalf boardsmall shopping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Perhaps built in communist days this hotel is very tired in certain aspects: ground floor decor & carpeting awful and rooms which need a refurb. But decent sized rooms & (after managing to get a change) ours with ground-floor outside terrace with v. good sea views. Air con in the rooms v. good. Good breakfast (egg chef) and slightly better than average half-board buffet dinner (spoilt by the vast canteen-style dining room, but better tables available outside with sea views). Pleasant outside bar terrace & good live music every night. Good pool. Decent service. Major downside: distance to city centre: Bus service (about £5 per couple return) every half hour or so but a real pain betweem 2 & 3 pm - hopelessly crowded & unpleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for finding the time to write your impressions on Trip advisor. Just to let you know the hotel was built in 1976. and has been fully refurbished a few times until now. The last refurbishment of the rooms and the restaurant was 5 years ago and is planned to be done in the near future again.
Thank you for complementing the food and service and I'm glad you enjoyed the views and the live music every night.
The buses can be crowded at times but they do run every 15 minutes with a very popular price.
Hope overall you found your trip to Dubrovnik interesting but I'm sure there are things you didn't get around seeing, so this will be a reason to visit us again.
All the best from Argosy!

Belinda L. Božanja – Argosy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for three days and I was very impressed. The staff were very friendly and they couldn't do enough to help with anything we needed. The views from the hotel are breath taking and there is a lovely clean beach only a short walk from the hotel. Breakfast Buffett was very nice and so much choice it's hard to decide what to eat. Rooms were clean and even on days when we had a do no disturb on the door because we were lying in, staff came back later once we were awake to service our room. The old town is a short bus ride away from outside the hotel and they run so frequently there was always one outside when we needed it. You don't need the correct change as detailed below in a previous review and the drivers were always happy to point us in the right direction and the cost for mini bar is in the information folder. The pool was nice and clean and very quiet. It was a nice touch that they provided clean towels by pool which is something you would not expect from a three star hotel. Very pleased we decided to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ht20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear guests,

I'm so happy you chose Argosy hotel for your holiday and we're all delighted you loved every aspect of it.
Specially I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff, as reviews like this motivate them even more.
Hoping to see you again next year, we wish you all the best from Dubrovnik.
Once again thank you for this terrific review.

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have just enjoyed a fabulous holiday at the Argosy in Debrovnik. It is difficult to think it is classified as a 3 star hotel and anyone with a reasonable outlook would have to say the hotel excels in its formal ranking.  As others say it is more like a 4 star. The are few hotels in the old city and none would compare with this for space, comfort and value. It would be incredibly noisy and busy to stay there so far more prefable to stay a few minutes away in peace and space with fantastic scenery.  The buses are great and we used them instead of our rental car as it makes the trip to the Old town so easy.  A single is a few pence over a pound and when you arrive at the old town a booth right by the bus stop sells them about 20 pence cheaper. In fact the cost of parking near the old part far exceeds the bus fares £2 per hour and the hassle of finding a safe space is just not worth it. The journey takes about 10 to 15 mins depending on traffic but the bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you to the front of the wall in the old part.  I didn't expect wifi in my room in a 3 star hotel but was amazed to find it is available in the lobby and is
absolutely free.  I have never stayed in an hotel with friendlier staff and they did everything in their control to make our stay so good.  The pool is clean, large and doesn't smell of chemicals. In fact it reminded us of Disney pools. Large towels are freely
provided. There is also a fantastic beach very close by. It has clear water, jet skis and boats for hire with more bars and other places to eat. The sea is so clear and calm we felt safe rowing out to two nearby Islands. 4 hours of work but absolutely brilliant and perfectly safe for children. No large waves. Just like Greece without the distance. We took a short walk on arrival and found a low level shopping complex. Supermarkets, cafes, places to eat and shops a few minutes from the hotel. We didn't want for anything. The room was great with vey quiet airconditioning tv and a free large room safe. Unlike so many other hotels the Argosy is not cashing on on providing extras. The bath
towels were perfectly good and replaced whenever we placed them near the bath.  For trips try the large shop closest to the hotel entrance. The lady there with a giant personality was so frank and told us exactly what we shouldn't spend money on as well as what we should. The food was unbelievable. Too much for greedy people like us I think we made ourselves ill. They put different things on each night and instead of normal buffet food cooked steaks freshly as well as kebabs on a charcol grill with lots of different dishes. I will Recommend this hotel to all friends and offer them a personal refund if they don't like it. Please
read all the other reviews and accept from me that you will be very unlikely to find a superior
hotel in a better location at this cost.  I rarely return to the same place but would be very much like to explore more of this Fabulous country from this First rate hotel. Friendly and helpful
staff with first rate facilities and fantastic views of the sea.  Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay such a great one.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich-Bouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear guest,

what a lovely morning start ... reading such an inspiring review. Thanks a million for taking the time to go into so many details and pointing out all the major as well as maybe sometimes less important things that nevertheles make a holiday worth it or can easily ruin it.
Anyone reading your review can get a clear picture of what to expect here, as you really covered all aspects in the hotel and outside of it.
Argosy team is sending you a big 'thank you' and hoping to see you here next year as well.
I hope your great comments will make some of your friends visit us and we'll do our best to make them as happy and satisfied as you , so you don't get into the situation of paying them any refunds as you very generously offered.

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a top hotel.  We just got back from a fabulous time this summer 2011.  The facilities are excellent, the staff the most helpful anywhere and the food first rate.  Buffet breakfast and dinner offers not only huge variety but very good quality indeed.  The location is great.  Beaches, shopping and more restaurants and bars very close.  A bus takes you direct to the old town in minutes.  We hired kyacks and explored islands nearby from the beach by the hotel.  All you need from a sun holiday.  I can't praise the staff enough for their unstinting help and friendliness.  I am normally disappointed in hotels and locations but this did not do that.  Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLevene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear guests,

it was our pleasure to have you with us and I would like to thank you for choosing Argosy hotel for your holiday being a bit sceptic due to a few non-promising reviews.
Thank you for giving us the chance to prove them wrong.
I can see you made the best of your holidays, enjoying everything in the hotel as well as the beach, the islands, the old town etc.
We hope this will not be your only visit and you'll get the chance to come again soon.
Thank you once again for all the kind words of support.

Best wishes from all of Argosy staff and myself.

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed with my young son for 8 days. It included his 15th birthday and the hotel kindly provided a bottle of champagne! We drank it as bucks fizz (due to his age). The hotel is part of a massive chain who own adjacent hotels on the same peninsula. There are over 300 rooms in the Argosy and it was fully booked during the time we were there.

Plus points - we got a good deal for a twin bedded room through Monarch Holidays in UK although its worth checking the Valmar Hotels website as they profess to match prices from certain other sources. The hotel is a perfectly acceptable 3 star hotel - the staff were extremely friendly and professional and the room was basic but clean. The breakfast (approx £10 each) was included in our rate. The No 6 bus runs every 10 minutes during the day and will get you to the Old Town in less than 15 mins (£1.50 each way). A/C quiet and could only hear muffled sound from adjacent rooms etc.

Downsides: the table tennis and tennis are extra and not actually a part of the Argosy Hotel. In fact the table tennis (£5 for an hour) is paid to a person in an adjacent park using a permanent concrete table !! The pools are small. You have to pay extra for wifi access (only available downstairs in lobby and not rooms) or a computer desk. This was disappointing as my 15 year old needs his computer fix and we ended paying something like £3 per hour wifi access and had to go to the lobby to get it. I always judge the quality of a hotel by size of bath towels - these were postage stamp size (presumably to stop them being taken out of the hotel room and used on the beach or pool side (large towels were available at the pools. Unlike many bespoke hotels no room service for food.

The biggest downside is that the evening buffet costs about £20 each (7pm onwards). Good quality/ quantity but not what we wanted. On a Wednesday there is also the opportunity to partake (with tickets) in a BBQ in an adjacent Valamar hotel. In the immediate locale there is a small shopping centre with some very basic eateries (not very appealling) and a fish restaurant in the adjacent park. The best eateries (pot luck really) are in the Old Town. There are 3 beaches withing walking distance of the hotel (massively over crowded in August). These are close to the main port and according to the Footprint guide etc the quality of the water is not blue flag (at two). We found the best swimming spots on islands accessed by ferries.

Overall a hotel which did exactly what it says on the tin (i.e before we arrived). Front desk staff were excellent. However its not more than a 3 star (as some previous reviewers believe).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear guests,

thank you very much for putting so much effort into your detailled review and for pointing out everything you liked and also the things you found that didn't meet your expectation. Some of the things you saw as our week points we've already been working on for a while, specially the internet access. It's planned to have it free of charge in the lobby area and hopefully not long after that in the rooms as well.
I hope you and your son had a great holiday after all and I hope he had a memorable birthday too.
All the best to you both and hope you get the chance to visit us again.

Regards from Dubrovnik and Argosy !

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews