We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury X-Rooms and Apartments Old Town
Nearby Hotels
$415
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$986
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$318
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$365
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariston Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$400
$380
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$130
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tirena Hotel(Dubrovnik)
$122
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Park(Dubrovnik)
$131
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
6
11
4
5
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
11
4
5
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationtaxihoststairswalls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 39 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second visit to Dubrovnik, but the first time we stayed within the old city walls. The "check in" experience was terrible. We emailed "Toni" about 3 hours prior to arrival to arrange a parking place, as guaranteed in our reservation. We had no response, and the phone number on the reservation was not in service. With some reservation, we continued on our to Dubrovnik and the city, and after some searching we eventually located the apartment location. With the help of a local store clerk, she contacted Toni at a different number and he was at the apartment within 5 minutes. Toni was friendly, but didn't offer any apology.

The main floor of the building was in disrepair and smelled musty and dirty. Understanding of course that the building is almost 2000 years old. We had an apartment on the top floor (5th no elevator), which wasn't what we expected, as we had booked room with with a balcony. There are no rooms with balconies at this apartment. Nonetheless, the apartment was clean, modern and newly renovated. We were in Dubrovnik during a heat wave (30+degrees) and the AC had a hard time keeping up. Like a lot of hotels in Europe, the room key activated the electricity, so when you left the room, the AC would turn off; it was hard to cool the apartment down for sleeping.

The kitchenette is a loose term for the amenities that this place had. A hot plate, a mouldy beer fridge and 2 sets of dishes. The free wireless was handy, and the bathroom was roomy and clean.

The location for the city centre is unparalleled. The apartment is steps away from the Stradun and the old city is at your fingertips.

We don't often find to reason to rate accommodation so poorly, but given our experiences in Croatia and on the Dalmatian coast, this was a huge disappointment. I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h20andsunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pablo organised the most comfortable rooms for us at literally two minutes notice, we were just free winging it when we flew into Dubrovnik and our plane was delayed by 4 hours from Barcelona so we arrived at middnight and he had us into a 4and half star room withinn minutes, so thanks mate. The four days we were there he helped out with coffee, great places to eat, kyaking, tours , night spots and transport. He is so casual and laid back and trustworthy which I love. I would highly recommend anyone to use him for there Dubrovnik stay. He would be welcome in my house in Australia any day. Thanks Pablo .
Conor Kersh and Kirby Jackson...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Evidently, there are many different apartments available thru this owner and there is no guarantee as to which apartment you will get. The description online and the apartment we got did not match at all. Our apartment was clean and the owner Pablo was very helpful, meeting us at the taxi outside the city gate and returning us there at checkout, as well as finding information for us on a local orphanage that we wanted to visit. He wanted us to see a new restaurant that had been open for 2 weeks and lead us there at check-in ("just take a look"), where he had an espresso, left, and we paid the bill! (we did not stay for dinner). Our apartment was nothing at all like the description and we would not have booked it had we seen it first. It was on the top floor of a building in the attic with very low slanted ceilings where my husband (6 ft tall) could not stand except in the center of the room and in the bathroom and on one side of the bedroom. There were 2 twin beds on separate sides of the bedroom (we are a couple) and I took the bed under the low slanted ceiling and could not sit up in the bed without hitting my head. There were no lamps in the bedroom, just an ceiling light, and the light had to stay on while I read and my husband tried to sleep. I finally went to read in the living room. There was no view (as described), no windows, no balcony (as described), and only 2 skylights in the ceiling. It was spotlessly clean and was a one minute walk to the main tourist street. The breakfast, which cost extra, was just ok. There are so many places to stay in Dubrovnik. Stay somewhere else. We wish we did.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saguarogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I think these apartments vary greatly depending on which one you get, but my husband and I just stayed in the newly refurbished Apartment 1 and had a lovely time.
The studio was reasonably spacious, with good storage, a comfy bed, efficient aircon, a mini kitchen, and a great shower - what more do you need?!
The location was great - near the main street at the fountain end of town, but quiet as it was set a few streets back.
The owner couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, from advice on what to do, parking, carrying bags, oddering to arrange trips etc.
Overall a great experience for us.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished apartment 1 near the fountain.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Similar to the last two reviews on Tripadvisor, we too were not provided with the appartments we booked. In fact on our two night stay we had to stay in one appratment the first night and then move to another on the second night.

Pablo, the owner did not recognize the real inconvenience at not being provided the accomodation booked or or the fact that we had to wait from 2pm until 6pm for the appartment to be cleaned so that we could move in on the first night and having to move our stuff between appartments. Absolutely appauling behaviour and no recognition in terms of even an appolgy.

The actual appartments we stayed in were fine, after we refused the first appartment offered. It was just hassel and waste of a few hours sorting this out and moving between appartments.

When I advised that I would be writing a review of our experience on Tripadvisor he suddenly offered a meaningful discount. We were happy with discount offered but really would much rather have got accomodation booked and a hassle free stay which this certainly wasn't. Would not advise anyone to book these appartments as you are unlikely to get accomodation booked as this is now the third time this has been reported in the last month.

(Note this is my fist negative review on Tripadvisor and would just hope noone else has to put up with this nonsense on holidays.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan-Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews