We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Amfora

Restaurant Amfora
Ranked #22 of 365 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Creative Dalmatian/Mediterranean Cuisine in an elegant setting. We offer fresh sea food, homemade pasta and great steaks from our charcoal grill set in our open kitchen. Only 3 restuarants in the area are certified to sell blue fin tuna and we are one of them. And we know how to prepare it ;)
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was one of our best meals while in Croatia. What we liked was that the food was different and not the typical/identical menu you see in the majority of restaurants in the area. Our food was delicious. And definitely the best service we experienced during our vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mireille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    216
    77
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Dining on my own at lunchtime, I was made very welcome, given a good table and experienced friendly, efficient service. Although close to the harbour, there isn't a view, but the atmosphere was pleasant. The food really hit the spot - fresh, healthy and delicious. It was so good, I'm planning to go back with my husband even although it is quite a distance from our hotel. Highly recommended by someone who is fussy about food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mostly good but a little bit odd!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having read good things about this restaurant we decided to give it a try whilst we were in Croatia in August. We were served by a lovely waiter who was very helpful, chatty and sweet. We ordered cocktails, starters and main courses. There were four of us dining here but unfortunately our starters arrived at different times (the chef seemed to be having trouble with the mushroom dish and for some reason this arrived about five minutes after the other 3 starters had been eaten). It was all a bit strange, we couldn't really understand why this had happened but it didn't really matter too much. Anyway, the main course arrived, two of the meals were good but the fish (seabream or seabass) was like a piece of shoe leather (completely overcooked, dry and inedible), the pork dish was also served in a strange way and was a bit odd (we came to the conclusion that the simple things on the menu were delicious and perhaps they were trying to be too clever with some of the other dishes and it didn't really work). In fairness to the restaurant when we complained about the fish they took it away and replaced it with a perfectly cooked piece of fish and also gave us our wine on the house due to the problems we had encountered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This restaurant offers excellent value for money. The place is also very child-friendly, and the staff is willing to fix something for your little ones. Take some time to come there, as the food doesn't arrive always that quickly. And choose a meat or fish -meal instead of vegetarian. The last mentioned only looks good, but loses in taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiaFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value! I recommend a meal in this one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had been trying to find a good place to eat for two days. And we got to the conclusion that there are no good restaurants in the Old City. We saw the reviews at TripAdvisor and decided to check it out. It didn t disappointed at all.
The food is great, all the dishes we ordered was specially made and the staff was kind.

I recommend a try in this one.
The price is honest if you compare to the Old City restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Otavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Amfora also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing