We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”
Review of Restaurant Amfora

Restaurant Amfora
Ranked #28 of 373 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Creative Dalmatian/Mediterranean Cuisine in an elegant setting. We offer fresh sea food, homemade pasta and great steaks from our charcoal grill set in our open kitchen. Only 3 restuarants in the area are certified to sell blue fin tuna and we are one of them. And we know how to prepare it ;)
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews we chose this restaurant to go to the night of my birthday, and we are so pleased we did!

On arriving I wasn't sure of our choice because on the outside looking in it looked empty, however once inside and take to the back of the restaurant there was a smaller section which was full, only about 8 tables with view in to the open show kitchen. It's modern inside and the young lady who looked after our table was very attentive, helpful with wine and checked our meals were as we liked them but wasn't fussing around us so in our books she was wonderful and an asset to the restaurant!

The food..... I guessed it would be nice but.... It was amazing! Everything cooked perfectly, the chefs clearly know their stuff!

For 2starters, mains a bottle of wine, and 2 desserts come to just under £100 I have no doubt that that meal at home in the uk would have cost double!

Might even go back again tonight :)

thanks amfora for a great birthday meal !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilllisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    218
    77
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the trek from the old town”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

On the back of Tripadvisor reviews we ventured out of the old town to check out Restaurant Amfora. And the effort was worth it. The venue is quite modern and appears well run by a relatively young staff. Our delightful waiter was very helpful with advice on wines. We opted for the grk - a white Croatian grape we hadn't come across before. It was superb, displaying good acidity and subtle aromas of pine - and a perfect match for the excellent tuna and octopus dishes we had as mains. For starters the burrata didn't travel too well across from Italy, but the tempura pawns with daikon and wasabi worked very well. Overall we had a delightful evening and were well rewarded for the trek out of town. Our only regret was the decision to walk back to the old town which was not as picturesque a route as expected. Taking a taxi is a better use of time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
339 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, interesting menu”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent visit to Dubrovnik, it is situated in Gruz where the cruise ships dock, both the terrace and inside are very clean and smart , service is friendly and enthusiastic, cocktails very good and wine reasonable. The menu is a bit different from that found in most of the restaurants in the area stiil using good local ingredients, the suckling pig and seabass were both excellent and chocolate melting pudding was delicious, definately one of the best meals we had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and great price!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place when we were waiting to go on a three island cruise and needed some breakfast. We couldn't believe the quality of the food when it arrived, I had the french toast and my boyfriend had the poached egg. Resturant quality food for breakfast for around £15 for the two of us, that included two tea and two juices! It was so tasty we went back on our last day for breakfast and then decided to eat there for a late lunch before we headed to the airport.

Even the food on the bar menu was tasty. I had tagliatelle with grilled tuna, and my boyfriend had chicken stir fry. Each around £7-10 pounds each. The a la carte looked good too, but we were only having a light bite.

Highly recommend it!

Picture of our breakfast attached!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had two nights in Dubrovnik and chose to eat both dinners at Amfora. I was pleased with my decision. Sea bass encrusted in vegetables, homemade pasta with prawns, tomatoes and mozzarella. Everything tasted fresh, not like the restaurants that just claim it is fresh. The tomatoes tasted like they came from the private garden out the warehouse loading dock. The fish tasted like they came out of the water an hour ago, not out of the refrigerator. Don’t know what to select from the menu, walk over to the kitchen counter and engage Chef Christina in conversation. You end up with a pleasing selection not on the menu. [photo of sea bass attached]

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jqdough7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Amfora also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing