We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night meal”
Review of Restaurant Komin

Restaurant Komin
Ranked #94 of 402 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: International, Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“First night meal”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

In this area, on arriving, you are quite stuck for something nice, local and generating an instant holiday feel - you don't want a heavy over priced formal dine, but don't want to end up with pizza ! Not knowing the area, this was walkable from the hotel ariston, this was where we ended up. Nice atmosphere, although we are off season here. Yes, the waiter did appear slightly distant, but very precise and attentive enough for us - I personally can't bear obtrusive service and resent wait persons almost joining your table in an effort to become your best buddy! Food wise, nice char grill area with good selection of meats and fish. Our choices of fresh scampi and squid were delicious and in no way frozen . Atmosphere, a nice touch was the gentle, local guitarist/ singer with a wonderful voice that in no way overpowered what was on this night a very quiet restaurant . Babin Kuk is a very quiet resort, with not a lot of walkable outside hotel food choices, and we would certainly reurn here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    144
    64
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Kept us going back”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We ate here at least three times during our stay. It's just in the park near the President hotel. All the food was good but if you phone them 3 hours before they'll cook you lamb or beef "under the bell", which is a slow-cooked roast done over the fire with roast potatoes and veg. Delicious! (oh, and ask for the olive oil in the small can for your fresh bread, not the stuff on the table). Staff obliging and welcoming.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Akumal_turtle_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Handy spot for lunch, basic fare”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Handy spot for lunch if staying in the surrounding hotels and you want a change from the hotel bar, Place was nicely located in a wooded area, We stayed in October at the end of the season so place would I imagine be packed in the summer. This time of year waiter seemed surprised to see us. Food was good and hearty portions but basic ideal for a lunch time fill up. Would imagine service and setting would be better in summer but enjoyed our meal, menu had something for everyone - ideal for plain eaters

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank irishcitybreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suttons bay, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting dinner awaits you.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The open fire pit was warm and inviting on a wet November night. Jill had tagliatelle pasta and I had a wonderful salad. Others had the fish platter and we watched as they grilled the whole fish on the open grill right next to us. The smell of woodsmoke and fresh fish is still lingering in my mind. For dessert I had to have the specialty dessert of the area ,palace inks, which are thin, crepe-like pancakes with chocolate sauce and chopped toasted walnuts. I want to serve them in my restaurant back home in Michigan.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank marthasleelanautable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nv
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Eating in an enchanting park!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were serenaded by Croatian musicians. The food was cooked inside in a big fire pit. It was magic eating outside under the trees. Very typical food, something new was UNDER THE BELL, where the meat cooked hours in the charcoal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Komin also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Komin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing